We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Getaway”
Review of Black Lake Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Lake Cabins
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just finished out stay at Black Lake for the Victoria Day weekend. The resort and cabins were everything we had hoped. The cabins are rustic and quaint with everything you could need. The view of the lake was awesome. We fished, went for a boat ride and had campfires every night outside our cabin overlooking the lake. You are just a short car ride from Bala and Port Carling where we went shopping and site seeing in the mornings. What more could you ask for. Our hosts Di and Bud were wonderful people, very friendly and accommodating. They are also animal lovers and we were able to take our dogs, which is rare these days. We are already planning our next stay there during the summer. So glad we found this little resort, we will keep coming back. Thanks Di and Bud for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: All cabins are lake front so all of them are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed for the Canada Day long week end, that just wasn't enough time to enjoy the beauty of the Black Lake Cabins. We fell in love with Cabin # 8.
We enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and the people were very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billzbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

July 2009 my brother Paul Bondy had bought my husband & I a week at these lovely cabins for my birthday, so I could recouperate from a serious hospital stay. We found the owners to be very pleasant and accomodating. the units were extremely clean and well stocked except for linens & food. which we were advised of before we arrived. It was a lovely peaceful place and we went on lots of excursions. fishing was also good. the paths were my only problem because I was not able to walk steadily yet but I did manage ok.The paths were well tended and lit its was just that the ground was too uneven. I just took my time and used my cane so I did not mind. we had a little campfire party for my birthday . the owners even wished me well and checked on us everyday to see if we needed anything or had any problems it was a vacation I will fondly remember the rest of my life.. We look forward to going back one day on our own.. Best wishes and continued success to Bud & Di ......Joanne & Glen Pegg, Holland Landing, Ontario

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My hubby and I and our 16yr old daughter and her boyfriend and our jack russell went up to Black Lake cabins on Monday and just got back today Thursday August 2012. It was amazing. We stayed in cabin 7. It was very clean and had everything we needed! The view was breath taking. Our bedroom had a view of the lake. The hostess and host Di and Bud were very nice. I loved Di, she was so friendly and caring. They gave us our space and were very nice people. There is nothing we would have changed. It was a great experience and we will rent there again. We took the 4 seater paddle boat out on the lake with our kids and dog and it was amazing. It really reminded me of home, St Peters Cape Bretton. Wonderful place to go in Ontario!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Our extended family had several of the cabins booked, as we had travelled for a wedding nearby. When we arrived, they had our booking wrong and tried to have us move out of one of the cabins early because they had doublebooked. Luckily, we had our downpayment receipt as proof and she had marked the dates that we had booked for on the receipt, but it took a lot of convincing to explain to her she that she was wrong.

The cabins were dirty at first glance and just got worse. We were told to bring towels and sheets, but the mattress pads were so disgusting that we ended up leaving the provided comforters on top and making the beds over top of them. We had to wash dishes before being able to use them.

We started noticing problems with the water quite soon. Taking showers was impossible and we had to go to friends/family that lived in the area to use their showers. When we first noticed there was no water pressure, we went and told one of the owners. He became very defensive and said it wasn't his fault, and didn't offer any solution. It got to the point where there wasn't even enough water to flush the toilets. When this first started, one of our party went again to inform the owners. We got an even harsher response, and again was not offered a solution. We had to ask him to borrow a bucket to get water from the lake to flush the toilet. The owners tried to say that the water pressure was low because there were so many cabins using it at once, but one of our party got up to use the washroom at 3AM and there was not enough water to flush the toilet even then! They even said that when people are on vacation, they don't normally shower anyway!

The grounds were rocky and root-covered, and there was no way of avoiding this as the cabins faced the lake so you had to walk around to the front to enter your cabin. One of our party sat down on the bench of one of the picnic tables only to discover (by ending up on the ground) that the wood was rotten.

There was a list of rules posted in each cabin. One of the rules was about not letting your dogs bark as this disturbs others. The only dog we heard belonged to the owners. It barked constantly including when we were checking in in the office/livingroom. Another rule was to leave the cabins as you found them. That was certainly not a problem! We didn't even have to sweep under the beds as there was dust and dirt under them when we arrived!

There are no pictures of the inside of the cabins on the website, and this gave us pause when were booking, but we put it off as an oversite as the website is very bare bones.

When we got back home, we looked immediately here for reviews. There was only one, but we now wish we would have checked before booking. We will always check for reviews before booking another place to stay! If we had of had the time to find something else we would have moved but because of the busy wedding weekend schedule we had to make due.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank islandgirl037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

do not waste your money people,
to start, they forgot about our booking, im glad i called ahead. i was reminded constanly that check in time was 3 and check out was 10. the funny part was we were the only people staying there so why rush us out?. i coudnt pull into our site because there was the family boat trailer park at our spot and we had to wait an hour for them to haul it out so we didnt get into our cabin untill dinner time. i found out that the other family members were staying in that cabin and were kicked out just before we came. i think they stay there for the whole summer.

the cabin was filthy and smelly, i understand that we are roughing it abit but it was really bad. the bed was disgusting , smelled like body odour we layed newspaper down. we could not eat there because it was a health hazzard. there was dog food and hair everywhere. and their growling dog wouldnt get out of our cabin when he came in looking for food. it was tilting to the side on blocks and was going to tip over if you jumped hard enough

their so called boat launch is a strip of rocky grass that i damaged my fish finder sonar on, i think they should pay for it. i had to drag my boat up with a rope.
the cabins are 15 feet from the speeding highway which is a death trap backing your boat into and pulling out. all you hear is speed cars all night. so mutch for escaping the city. we were actually considering taking our losses and staying in a motel. during the day we went elsware to get away from the place. the owner (husband) is miserable and it seemed we inconvinienced him when we ask for some wood.

this place is a hole, i would rather spend my nights in a porto potty. do not go . we could not wait to get out of there. im glad that we were the type of people that makes the best of the situation or else they would have alot of angry people to deal with wanting their money back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fishncam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kikijeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskoka District hotels
11.9 mi away
Skyways Motel
Skyways Motel
#7 of 8 in Gravenhurst
26 reviews
12.6 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clear Lake Village Resort
12.6 mi away
Clevelands House
Clevelands House
#2 of 2 in Minett
406 reviews
40.8 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lake Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lake Cabins

Address: 2630 Muskoka Rd. 169 | Torrance, Ontario POC 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Muskoka District
Price Range: £66 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Lake Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Lake Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lake Cabins Muskoka District, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing