We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Muskoka District
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

They have a very nice facility but I wasn't impressed by our overnight stay at Rocky Crest and dinner at Windows.

Like I said before, nice facility, clean rooms but not worth the money that would have been paid - we had one free night's stay coupons that were won.

The eight of us had a very mediocre meal at Windows Monday night. 2.5 hours start to finish. The serve staff were great and pleasant however, it appeared that the kitchen was grossly under-staffed. Out of the eight meals ordered, 2 steaks were cooked perfectly and the rest wasn't. the Gnocchi was over cooked, the $9 deserts were awful at best. The Tarte Tatin was a joke. Basically apple sauce on some sort of under-cooked pie shell. The brownie was terrible they tome me and the rhubarb strawberry crumble wasn't great either. I was told that the Bailey's creme brule was OK though. All in all, not a great dining experience for nearly $800 tax in for the 4 couples.

We won't be returning nor recommending your facility to anyone any time soon.

Let me know if something changes there and we may give it another try in a few years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    62
    51
    23
    18
See reviews for
92
55
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Muskoka is a very beautiful place and Rocky Crest has a very beautiful location. I loved my first impression of the place however, once I entered my room, it was a different story. The room was nice, but very dated. Smeared mosquitos on the walls, and that dirty brown ring in the tub showing that the room was not well cleaned. The food was bland and not well cooked at all. Even though I went with a work reatreat, it would have been a good idea if serving beef to ask how people would like their meat. The entire party was served rare beef that had blood oozing from it which was just awful for me. The only thing I enjoyed was the cheesecake. I am sorry to say that I do not recommend this place. Taboo Resort is far better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank masibandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Muskoka District hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Superb location; excellent (if poorly trained) staff; reasonable (but tired) rooms; a great deal combining a room and 2 games of golf.
The wings at Rocky Crest had likely been in the freezer for generations. Salad never did arrive despite being assured twice that it was on its way. The soup alleged to be vegetable ... maybe, but if so it was perhaps onion and/or mushroom. The eggs in the "Hungry Man Breakfast" at the Lake Joseph Club on day 2 were ordered as "easy over" ... They were completey rock hard. No waitress should have delivered eggs like that .. no cook should have allowed them out of the kitchen.
Check out was a disaster with credits and debits flying all over .. I still have no idea what each of us paid. Hopefully it will look about right when my visa bill comes in.
Great golf courses in really good shape though!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry F, General Manager at Rocky Crest Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I will review your comments with our Chef and pass along the comments to our sister property The Lake Joseph Club as well. I was happy to see you found great value in our golf specials and enjoyed our courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great resort for total relaxation. Some words of advice....
1. Could use some updating to bring it up to a 4 star resort...bathrooms especially (tiles, counters, etc.). More up-to-date coffee-makers, toaster-oven would be nice.
2. Owners should invest in updating facilities...hot tub was not operational (and very small for this size resort), not enough canoes or bikes (and this was low season), NO FITNESS facilities!!
3. Management could try to be a bit more customer-centric and friendlier...they are more defensive, cagey and quite negative rather than trying to be helpful and concerned. Noticed this with a few people that were trying to sort our issues (including myself).
4. Could provide more complimentary items such as dishwashing supplies, firewood, movies, popcorn, and BREAKFAST rather than nickelling-diming for every little thing.
5. Restaurants should have more healthy choices.
6. More planned activities...hikes, bonfire, boat rides, golf events, etc.
7. Management and staff need to be more knowledgeable about the resort, policies, activities, inclusions and nearby surroundings to be able to answer questions accurately. Found that they were not sure about anything.

This resort has potential to be excellent...owners/management just need to know what it takes to deliver EXCELLENT customer service to attract more customers and to bring customers back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTraveling4fun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry F, General Manager at Rocky Crest Golf Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for the great constructive feedback. We take all feedback and review it with our management team so we can improve our service and facility. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangevile
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I loved everything about our weekend stay. The food was fabulous, the room was beautiful. We loved the floor to celing fireplace, service was superb! I enjoyed the skylight over the bathtub, very relaxing. One of our favourite places ever. The food was some of the best we have ever enjoyed. A five star experience from service, room ,views, amazing dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaOrangeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My Wife and I had a lovely stay in Building 1 Room 11. As far as resorts go, we had a decent time! The resort was closing up for the season at the end of the week so there was not an abundance of people there. The food was some of the best I have ever had. I was able to enjoy a paddle boat with my wife (all included) and hiked around the trail that goes around the lake. I hope to visit in the Summer one year soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goast01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed at the Rocky Crest resort this past weekend.
Stayed in a two bedroom suite. Its very old and dated. Bedrooms are basic at best. Bathroom was in need of repair. Shower was poor and the water doesn't go down the spout for some time.

The restaurant was okay. Service was good as was the food.

Outside the resort is beautiful. The resort is situated in a lovely location and the views are spectacular especially in the fall.
Overall, even though the location is great, I probably wouldn't stay here again until they do a renovation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celticgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskoka District hotels
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
24.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
18.6 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.7 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Crest Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Property: Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Address: 20 Barnwood Rd, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muskoka District
#5 Spa Hotel in Muskoka District
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Crest Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the outcroppings of the Canadian shield on the shores of sparkling Lake Joseph, Rocky Crest Golf resort is a true Muskoka getaway. A favourite vacation destination for many years, our resort offers comfortable and spacious suites with all the amenities, incredible restaurants, beautiful meeting spaces, access to the fabulous Rocky Crest Golf Club and a whole host of outdoor activities.Whether you are planning a family trip, a golf adventure, a business presentation or just a weekend away with friends, we invite you to come and experience all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rocky Crest Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Rocky Crest Hotel Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Muskoka
Delta Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Resort
Muskoka Delta
Rocky Crest Golf Resort Muskoka District, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing