We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wolseley Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Champlain Motel(Sturgeon Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Mist Inn(Sturgeon Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Lincoln Motel(Sturgeon Falls)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whitestone(Dunchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norvic Motel(Coniston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
25
12
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
12
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing tripbassnecessary amenitieswalleyedining roomfrench riverreturn againday tripfish fryingridsummerdeckfishermanaugustpikehostsmeals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What can be possibly more Canadian that a German family packing up and leaving their home country to raise their children, and run a Vacation/Fishing Resort in Canada's near north?

My family and I have been coming up to this stretch of the French River for the last 20 years and from the second we leave, we cannot wait to get back.

If you enjoy fishing the boats are very well maintained fishing machines. With the ability to outfit with trolling motors, fish finders, or Captain Chairs you can be assured ultimate in comfort, convenience and performance. In fact, if you’re a pickerel fisherman the outboards are maintained so well the “slow trolling” capabilities convert to multiple fish in the livewell in the early season as well as ensure you’re managing a reasonable gas bill. Bass both large & smallmouth average 2LB+ with numerous PIKE to ensure even the novice/new angler is kept busy. With that said, make no mistake you are in the land of Giants and trophies of all species are certainly possible. However, it’s the mighty Musky that sits atop the food chain and spotting following fish in excess of 50 inches during your trip are likely.

As a fisherman it’s the majestic water, sunsets, and of course great fishing that keeps bringing me back year after year. The ability to still put yourself in a bay or channel that you have all to yourself, and perhaps catch a glimpse of a bear, moose, deer or Wolf. Yes, Wolf!

However, as a father it’s simple cabins, the UBER kid friendly beach and waterfront along with ability to dunk a worm off the dock or enjoying your own personal campfire that makes for lifelong memories.

A fishing vacation or family getaway hosted by Harald & Ingrid to Wolsely Bay lodge is still in my opinion great value and that is becoming increasingly rarer and rarer to find. What you won’t get is the hectic pace of the Kawartha’s or the pretentiousness of the Muskokas. Instead you will enjoy a near north experience, in a safe environment worthy of respect and consideration.

A Wolseley Lodge vacation may not be for everyone, but it should be:)

Talltighe

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tighe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is not for the family who wants all the frills of a hotel. It's somewhat basic & outdoorsy. It has everything you need, just basic. WE have been going up for 10 years now & we love it. We've been through 3 owners and all have been great. Harold & Ingrid are awesome, hardworking people who have given up a lot to ride on this venture of hospitality. When I read certain things, Like, "always hounding you and has no consideration for kids", what do want him to do, look after the kids? He's working!!!!!!! He has his own family to look after. This is a business that thrives on repeat business, is he not suppose to ask you what your plans are for next year? It's amazing that we generalize people in being rude because we don't understand them. Maybe he's from another country were his nature is a little different than ours. Really, someone who's not Canadian???? What do we do??? He hurts my feelings.............Seriously?

This is a place where you will catch fish, enjoy the sunsets & endure the love for the outdoors. The amount of work that Harold & Ingrid put into their business is unreal. They build decks that 3 times over what they could be. Cabins are basic but, very clean & updated every year. Massive dock's with great fish cleaning stations. The deck hands are always around to give you a hand and some pointers on fishing or whatever you need. The boats for rent are excellent & clean. We've been using them for years for musky with no issue.

To OntMedic..........You should spend more time enjoying the outdoors & river than sitting around the cabin complaining that people don't say hi to your kids. There's more to life than sending out ridiculous comments behind a curtain.

We've been up there for 10, and will most likely be up there for the next 30. It's worth the drive every year, for sure.

Room Tip: If a couple, father or mother and child definitely take the river cabins. Waking up in the morning sitting on the edge with a coffee is something very special.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CabPhoto76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First time at the lodge...had a great experience..very relax atmosphere and the service is great . The owner Herald is very helpful in providing the necessary information of good fishing spots. If you are looking for a good relaxing experience away from the bustling city and experience nature at its best this is the place to go. Great service and amazing fishing. All in one!.
Actually, going back this summer ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We've have an annual trip (13 of us) to the French for the last 9 years, the past 2 at Wolseley lodge. The cabins are very old and basic, but have all the necessary amenities for a great trip. The property is crowded but well maintained. The body of water is great with the fishing varying greatly from season to season. Overall I wish I could love going here, but we're headed elsewhere this year. The problem is the owner, Harold. He has absolutely no interest in anything but your wallet. He is rude, inconsiderate, and attempts to corner you at every opportunity into booking for the next year. He treats the kids like an inconvenience. Its too bad as the property has great potential and we love the area. His wife is a lovely lady. He should stick to maintenance and let her deal with the guests, it'd be a much better experience. We're going back to the area this year, but happily and excitedly elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank OntMedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been coming up to Wolseley Lodge for the past couple of years with my Father for an annual fishing trip.

If you are looking for a 5-star resort, this is probably not the place for you. However, if you are looking for a getaway from the city into the beautiful outdoors, you will find everything you need here. The cabins are rustic and a little bit dated but they have always been clean and we've always had everything we need. We do the American Plan when we stay here just because it is so convenient. The meals are always great and home-cooked. We never leave the dining room hungry. The rental boats are good with good motors. The fishing is always excellent. We always come home with fish and great stories. The owners are very nice people. They always do their best to accommodate all of our needs and you can always count on a good conversation after a nice day of fishing.

There are a lot of other lodges on the French River but we don't see a need to go anywhere else because we've always had a great experience at Wolseley Lodge and we will continue to go back for years to come.


Mike

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews