We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environment....BAD SERVICE”

McKitrick House Inn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orangeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McKitrick House Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Orangeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This place has the potential to be great... I hear its newly renovtated... and in fact looks nice and very clean but the service was horrifying... there were people drinking till the early evening and breakfast was not served.... had a hard time sleeping and unsure why its a b@b when clearly the management was unwilling to get up. Was actually greeted by someone who was speaking on the managements behalf... but was unable to find them as I am a sure they left aswell.... the charm and location are more than ideal.... but the staff needs to be educated properly on the meaning of a true b@b

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank layla123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for McKitrick House Inn B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed for one weekend and the experience could not have been better. The manager, Nathan Dean, did an execptional job going above and beyond my expectations. The room was pleasant, clean, and very cozy. Breakfast was delicious, better than any hotel/motel I have stayed at.
I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking to stay in Orangeville. Actually, I would recommend going to Orangeville just to stay at this B&B!
I was very impressed, and will be coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely old century in the heart of Orangeville decorated to the period time. This b&b is close walking distance to unique shops and home town pubs. My partner and I spent one night here and enjoyed coffee in the private court yard the next morning. Nathan was a very accommodating host and made us a wonderful breakfast. We will be sure to visit the McKitrick House again.
Paul and Joanna

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed one night after a wedding and we got what we were told what we would get. The manager, Nathan Dean gave fantastic service by being friendly, available for communication, and prioritizing well. There was one mix up with one of the rooms, but he handled it well and ensured we were on time for the wedding. What he told me on the phone about the rooms was what we got. The place is very clean and cozy. Breakfast was excellent - it was continental but lovely and definitely more filling and better quality than any continental breakfast I've ever had. The rooms were small and the bathroom was shared with the others in the hall but he told us this so it wasn't a surprise. You can't expect a Hilton experience from a B&B in an older home so my recommendation to you all is to ask questions before booking a room so you aren't making unrealistic expectations. Nathan, good job and keep it up! We were pleased overall with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashtongrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have never written a review before but the horrible experience here made me do so. I have used Tripadvisor for years and have found the candid reviews accurate.

We were stuck as there was nothing else available. In hindsight we should have driven the half hour south and stayed in Brampton.

The rooms were ok but the environment was less that desirable and the hostess was, well lets not got there as I can think of nothing nice to say.

Bottom line. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Even though the reviews suggest stay away we thought we would try it. Definitely it is not a 4 star and to be honest it is not what you would expect from a B&B. First you drive up and this overgrown run down looking building is where you are staying. The rooms were ok but nothing to write home about and the breakfast was no better than you get for $3.99 at the greasy spoon down the road.

So if you are in Orangeville find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. Our room, on the ground floor of the second house, was very pleasant, nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The house was quiet, despite the fact that we were the only guests who were NOT part of a wedding party. The B & B dining room (in the main house) is delightful and our breakfast was very nice. The house is right downtown in Orangeville and we were able to stroll out to a restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiker7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orangeville
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Orangeville Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
642 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Best Western Halton Hills
Best Western Halton Hills
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
129 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
0.6 mi away
Atlanta Motel
Atlanta Motel
#3 of 5 in Orangeville
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKitrick House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKitrick House Inn B&B

Address: 255 Broadway, Orangeville, Ontario L9W 1K6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orangeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orangeville
Price Range: £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to 1871 in truly elegant Victorian homes located in Orangeville's Heritage District, which is well appointed of a time gone by. These restored Victorian homes offer you and your family, guests, or wedding party an ambiance unrivaled. All guests are pampered with old fashion service and enjoy full served gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKitrick House Inn B&B Orangeville, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing