We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at the Aquarius”
Review of Aquarius Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquarius Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staying at the Aquarius”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice motel great price and handy to stores and restaurants,no problem for parking my boat lots of room insight of my room,very friendly owner keeps the rooms clean.Thanks Aquarius Motel for a very pleasant stay.When in the area i would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
18
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The owner and family live on the premises and they are super nice. The motel is clean, comfortable, big room, fridge, microwave, coffee machine, large TV and comfortable bed. A place to sit outside your room. Very quiet motel. Great location. Tim's across the highway, you can walk to it, Also a Wendy if you are looking for fast food, close to Balderson Cheese Factory and Amish Furniture Store. The 2 nights we stayed there, the motel was full, so that should tell you that it is a great place to stay in Perth. Good value for your money. 2 nights cost us $169.50. Ten minutes to downtown Perth, where you can find great restaurants, shopping, parks.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitsyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the motel the night of June 21st.
Our room was above the reception and owner's quarters. It had been freshly painted and there was new flooring (carpet and vinyl flooring) in the unit. The painting was obviously an "in-house" job, but at least the effort had been made. The bathroom appliances were old and badly used but efforts had been made to improve conditions by painting and cleaning. The important element for us was that the room and bedding were clean and the overall appearance of the motel was clean. The clerk (the owner) was friendly and helpful. Obviously, this motel was previously in very bad shape. The current owner (since Sep 2013) seems to be working very hard (with limited resources it appears) to improve conditions. We'd be interested in seeing the condition of the motel in a year or so.
One concern...the motel is smoke free; however, the balcony for the 2nd floor rooms is equipped with ash trays. As the roof extends over the balcony smoking would be prohibited in this area. The owner should check with the local fire authorities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The drab brown colours in the room combined with drapes needed to be kept shut for privacy adds to the gloomy appearance. Obviously, this was why so many guests prefer to sit outside. There was only a double bed. The tiny bathroom's light switch also controls the light above the sink in the main room. But at least there was a small fridge and microwave. Don't ask for directions outside the town as the receptionist doesn't seem to know the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Then floors were absolutely filthy. When I stepped into the tub to take a shower the water was black with dirt, and my feet had been clean when I undressed. The staff are friendly but sorry, that dirty, not vacuumed floor was a real turn off.

Room Tip: Keep your socks on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Talk about a well kept place to stay when you're away from home. The friendly and extremely accommodating owners have refurbished and modernized this facility. They have maintained the personal touch shown by the previous owners. The pride of the owners in providing a super value for the rate charged is well founded. My wife and I stay here as we travel from Pa. on our way to a cottage in Ontario. We stay there in the spring and again in the fall. We would not consider staying anywhere else.

Mike & Judy

Room Tip: any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked this motel in Perth, as it was the perfect distance between Niagara Falls and Montreal. The motel is owned and managed by an Indian couple who are very friendly. They were able to accommodate our late arrival, just after 10 pm. We had booked 2 rooms.

The rooms were dated (with wood paneling on the walls) but spacious and comfortable, though one of the two rooms we booked smelled old and musty. There were enough outlets to charge all the cameras and phones we brought on the trip. Each room has a microwave and fridge (but they were not plugged in when we arrived, to save energy costs), and the bathrooms were very clean. The water pressure was the strongest I've ever seen (almost too strong). The bathroom does get steamy so don't bring any electronics in there.

Breakfast wasn't included, but there is a Tim Horton's just across the street so that really wasn't an issue for us. I would recommend this motel if you're looking for a budget-friendly room in the Perth area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Colonial House Motor Inn
11.9 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Tay Inn
Tay Inn
#2 of 5 in Perth
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perth Plaza Motel
Perth Plaza Motel
#3 of 5 in Perth
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Motel

Property: Aquarius Motel
Address: 17518 Highway 7, Perth, Ontario K7H 2S1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Aquarius Motel we want you to feel right at home. We offer the best in affordable comfort and luxury. 18 Large and spacious rooms, 39" LED TV w/ remote, Cable TV, Movie channel/sports channel, Air conditioned, Ample parking, Smoking and non-smoking rooms available, Individual comfort controls, Kitchenette en suite (some rooms), Free in-room coffee and tea, Small fridges Call Anywhee in North America Free, , Playground for the kids, Free Wireless Internet. Bbq in outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Aquarius Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Motel Perth, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing