We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough to stay at for 3 days of fishig”
Review of Perth Plaza Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Perth Plaza Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good enough to stay at for 3 days of fishig”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is an old motel-hotel that has seen better days. They claim to have a pull-out couch in the room. That's true, provided you change almost everything else in the room to accommodate it. The breakfast bar was "out-of-date'\ in almost every area. The best that can be said about this place is that the price was right and the fish were waiting.

Room Tip: There are scores of better accommodations within a 2.5 kmns. that are much more upscale and ooze c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Spent 3 nights there, quite nice except for the train periodically but the A/C unit on low drowned out that, the wifi signal was very week on my blackberry, might have been better on a laptop. Room was clean and the small fridge worked quite well. Beds were very comfortable and the people in the office were pleasant. Would stay again if in town.

Room Tip: Just beware of the WiFi signal if you're depending on it. I found it quite week from inside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

First of all, the pros:

- close to shopping (Mark's, Shoppers Drug Mart, LCBO, Independent Foods, Cdn Tire, MacDonald's)
- very clean rooms and comfortable beds
- free WiFi (and it was a good connection at all times, not slow or cutting out at all)
- lots of towels, hangers, an updated television (wall-mount flat screen), small fridge, coffee machine
- can park right outside your room entrance so is easy to unload luggage, etc.
- nice staff

Now the cons:

- very thin walls. We could hear everything - snoring of the guy in the next room (who also talked in his sleep!), television playing, toilet & shower running, etc.
- most of the guests are construction/road crew employees & most of their vehicles are diesel...and they go to work very early....and start their trucks & let them idle....get the picture?!
- train tracks are right there (but this is not the fault of the hotel, obviously - you cannot escape the train horns & rumbling anywhere in Perth).

We were to have spent 10 days there but checked out after the 3rd night because we just weren't getting any sleep. We were there on business and needed some rest as our days were long.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Was not expecting much but was very pleased to see clean room, numerous recent upgrades including new carpet, tile in bathroom, tub surround. Room small but includes microwave, fridge, coffee maker, AC, large flat screen TV with lots of channels. Free WiFi. Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinook42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were very impressed with what we got for the price. The room was fairly plainly decorated but was immaculately clean with a comfortable bed. It was stocked with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and flat screen TV. The bathroom was similarly shiny and spotless. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffharumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed at the Perth Plaza for one night in September on the way to Montreal. We booked the room on the same day as our stay and there were no issues with the reservation.

The motel is really easy to find, just off the main road opposite a McDonalds and petrol station. There are 2 blocks of rooms at this motel, one block is just off the main road and the second is set back from the main road on a side street. We stayed in the back block which was very quiet, no road noise whatsoever.

The room appeared to have been recently renovated and had a very new feel to it. It was a large room, very clean and comfortable. A microwave and fridge was available in the room and the wi-fi connection was fast and reliable.

The only criticism we would have is that the walls of the rooms are quite thin. A few construction workers were staying here and we heard them getting up early for work, using the shower, coughing etc. We also heard the couple next door "enjoying their stay".

It's safe, good for an overnighter to break up a long journey, the reception staff are friendly and it's good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

25 stayed here after my son's wedding reception at Temple's Sugar Bush. Very clean rooms, friendly staff,good location great price.The rooms have been modernized with nice flat screen TV's new washroom fixtures. My room had 2 very comfortable Queen sized beds, a mini fridge and coffee maker. All the linens were very clean. Lots of restaurants nearby and convenient access to highway 7.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.5 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#4 of 5 in Perth
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial House Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
113 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perth Plaza Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth Plaza Motel

Property: Perth Plaza Motel
Address: 40 Dufferin St | Highway 7, Perth, Ontario K7H 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Perth Plaza Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A clean and comfortable place at an affordable price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Perth Plaza Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth Plaza Motel Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing