We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a joke”

Colonial House Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial House Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Picton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a joke”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

2 couples, stayed one night July 2013.
Don't be fooled when you read there is a pool at this motel.....It is closed up-the owner stated it's too expensive to open! and there is no WIFI.
Room 117- 2 double beds. One of the beds/mattress deflates when you lay in it and the room smelled like smoke/formaldehyde (it was a non-smoking room). We had to spray the room with febreeze and even that didn't work. Needless to say we did not spend much time in the room.
Room 107- was in a back corner of the building...Shady...and I don't mean from the sun...more like a Bate's Motel episode. It had a tube TV , no shower head, but there was an ice bucket....but no where to get ice!
However, the rooms were clean and the air conditioners worked well.
but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Overall, I found this motel clean & tidy, along with some useful amenities, such as, coffee maker, small fridge, wireless internet, etc. I also found the room charge reasonably-priced. My only two complaints is, the check-out time a bit too early at 10 a.m., especially for seniors. Also, even though I was in a "non-smoking room", it stilled smelled of smoke and even had a cigarette hole in the bed cover. Otherwise, I found this place very clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We (my husband, 2 friends and myself) stayed there last night on route to Montreal, Quebec. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. The room also had a small fridge, Danby microwave and a 32 inch flat screen Panasonic T.V. The room was very, very clean and the bed + pillows were sooooo comfortable! I came in with a killer migraine and fell asleep literally seconds after hitting the pillow.

The bathroom was good-sized and very clean as well. The only negative thing was the Sunbeam hairdryer dudn't turn on..but since I didnt really need it, it wasn't a big deal.

The grounds surrounding the motel was well kept and immaculate. We paid around $80 for our stay (was told usually it's around $100).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This is a typical motel. The room was clean and had the basics. We had a fridge, microwave, AC, coffee maker (which we didn't try as we don't drink coffee), beds and a hair dryer in the bathroom (which looked recently renovated). The TV had lots of channels and was a flat screen.

The pool outside was what enticed us to stay. Although it's exposed to Highway 7, it's set back far enough that we had problems having fun in the pool with our daughter.

We went to Perth on a whim and didn't even book a reservation - no problem even though it was August long weekend. There are 4 motels in Perth, which are all within about 2 minutes of each other. If this one is booked, try another.

Negatives: there should be some pool toys in the pool for kids. It's not a place you go for romance. A freight train goes by every hour or so (maybe less) but it didn't disturb our sleep. However, if this bugs you, you'll probably have problems with all motels in Perth.

if you're just passing through, it's a decent place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

An exercise in frustration, booked a few weeks in advance for a weekend trip to see a few friends. Arrived and found out that the reservation was lost. Apparently the confirmation number I was given was just a number pulled out of the sky. They did still have a room however so I decided to take it. The room was very cramped and had a musty smell coming from somewhere. I knew it was pointless to complain about the size of the room but did ask management to take a look into the musty smell, I think a little carpet fresh and febreeze would have probably done the trick. To my surprise the person I was speaking with seemed insulted and angry that I had even suggested such a thing. Will not be returning and will not be recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Attended a wedding and stayed there two nights. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Service was exceptional from the time we arrived until we left. If you are going through Perth and need a place to stay I would highly recommend you stay at the Colonial.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here 3 nights. Clean and good value. Any problems were taken care of quickly. Could use a few touch ups, but quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#3 of 5 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
BEST WESTERN Colonel By Inn
#1 of 4 in Smiths Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Smiths Falls
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perth Plaza Motel
Perth Plaza Motel
#4 of 5 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Motor Inn

Property: Colonial House Motor Inn
Address: 17544 Highway 7 | P.O. Box 113, Perth, Ontario K7H 3C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial House Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial House Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial House Motor Hotel Perth
Colonial House Motor Inn Perth, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing