We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than usual pub fool, great wings, and a variety of good food”

O'Reilly's Ale House
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: O'reillys Ale House is focused on bringing you terrific locally sourced food and great live music in a family friendly enviroment. Stop in say hello and enjoy a drink on the patio!
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than usual pub fool, great wings, and a variety of good food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Have tried many varieties of food and not ever had a meal I didn't like. It can be cool in the winter but the warmth of the staff offsets that. Great varieties of beer could be mor varieties of wine but good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    76
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merrickville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“House of Ale & Eats”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking for a new place to eat and finally settled on driving to Perth to visit O'Reillys Ale House. We weren't really sure what to expect, but we were definitely surprised. The restaurant's decor was charming and unique, kind of rustic chic. The guy with the beard who served us really knew what kind of beard we liked (well trimmed and with a little gray -- seriously, it works! Don't change a thing). The food was FANTASTIC. I got the baked macaroni and my boyfriend got the brisket sandwich. Both were so fresh and tasty. You could literally taste the quality. The prices were fair (on the cheaper side given the quality), and the meal came very quickly. We will definitely be back. Wait for us, beardy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Owner at O'Reilly's Ale House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Katrina,

We really appreciate your kind words. We here at O'reilly's put a lot of emphasis on our beards. We've worked with Roman, your server, for some time ensuring that his beard is up to our restaurant's standards. The smattering of grey really provides the illusion of distinction that we like to pretend that have. However, we feel that he's allowing it to grow a little longer than we'd like. We're looking for more 'George Clooney' than 'Duck Dynasty'. Perhaps you could mention that to him the next time you are in.

Oh and thanks for the kind words about the food!

We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in.

Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great on tap beer selection”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

As a second option for dinner this place ended being a great choice. We had dinner on a Saturday evening after we couldn't get into our first option and the place was full with locals (first good sign). The beer selection is very good (you can sample before you buy and they offer beer flights). We had the nachos as an appetizer - very good - lots of cheese and peppers. For our mains, we had a burger (nothing to write home but good) and the macaroni and cheese (excellent - the garlic gave it a nice touch). We would not hesitate to stop in again. Beats a few other options we have tried in Perth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iqaluit, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Pub Lunch”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This place has a great pub menu. Friendly staff and great pub atmosphere. Had the beef brisket today for lunch and it was an excellent sandwich. I would highly recommend it to any sandwich lover/enthusiast out there. Lots of other choices on the menu that wont disappoint, but the beef brisket au jus was worthy of a favourable review today!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexs375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and local beer in a friendly pub!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After getting rave reviews from friends and family who live in the area, we decided to go to O'Reilly's for lunch. We were greeted warmly by Sara and Mary-Katherine and felt at home in this authentic pub instantly. Our menu choices were excellent - from yummy Thai curry to chicken wings to a fresh, perfectly dressed salad - and the local beer was even better. The next time we are in town, we will go for sure. Thanks, Sara and Mary-Katherine, for making 2 Vancouverites feel at home!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Reilly's Ale House also viewed

 

Been to O'Reilly's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing