We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hot Wok

The Hot Wok
Ranked #14 of 63 Restaurants in Perth
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good service and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A small group of us gathered here. Service was efficient and food was tasty. There was a variety of Thai or Chinese food to suit all tastes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank apples372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Fresh and Flavourful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We ordered take-out from the Hot Wok Asian Fusion restaurant in Perth this evening and WOW was it fabulous! Everything was fresh, cooked to perfection and so flavourful. We ordered the "hot wok platter," the shrimp pad thai, the yellow curry with chicken, General Tao's chicken and Singapore vermicelli and everything was wonderful.

There were three of us enjoying the dinner tonight and everyone agreed the meal was worth FIVE STARS!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BlondieTravellerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh flavorfull Made to Order!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food here is excellent it is fresh and flavorful.

I know some people find it slow but they forget that each meal is not premade its made to order.

If you wish a fast meal here preorder.

The staff are excellent and cater to every need.

The best food in Perth, On that I have tasted!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a few bumps in the road - Vegetarians/Vegans beware!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

So happy that Perth now has a Thai/Pan-Asian restaurant! The decor was very nice and the food was delicious! Since this restaurant is only 4 months old, I am forgiving because they are still getting settled... but the service was a bit slow. We waited 20 minutes for our starters.

As a vegan, dining out can be a bit tricky. My biggest criticism is that after questioning the waitress, I found out that the Pa-nang Curry that was located in the "vegetarian" section contained fish sauce! I think that is very unfair and risky! I don't know if anything else in the veggie options has fish sauce, but if you go here and are avoiding animal products, be sure to ask about everything! On the plus, I was accommodated for and the chef came out to talk to us afterwards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had the pleasure of dining at The Hot Wok this evening. Very pleasant experience. I highly recommend the Vietnamese Vegertable Spring Rolls. Enjoyed the Hot Wok Grilled Dish, wonderfully tender chicken, beef and shrimp served on a bed of steamed rice. Succelent. Wonderful service and atmosphere. Made a reservation for Valentines Dinner before we left the establishment. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hot Wok also viewed

 

Been to The Hot Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing