We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Tay Inn

Tay Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tay Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was our first time staying at a motor motel and we were rather apprehensive about it. However as soon as we met the friendly owner and saw our clean well equipped room I was happy to stay there. The owner offered us advice on where was good to eat in Perth and had a selection of menus for us to take a look at before heading out.

Free wifi was included which was ideal! So useful when travelling and very much appreciated.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was brand new. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it. Great value!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jungleboysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    29
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
37
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I'd seen a lot of reviews lauding the cleanliness of this place, and I thought "how clean can a roadside motel be?" But everything sparkled and the fixtures all look brand new. This was just a stop-over for us. Quiet and clean was all we wanted, and that's what we got.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Booked a one night stay at the Tay Inn and found it to be perfect for our needs, an overnight stay as we were traveling thru the area. It is a very basic motor inn with average beds and pillows but was clean and comfortable enough. Warning that there are train tracks very close by and you do hear them but they didn't wake us up at night. Small washroom with sink located outside the room. Small fridge, microwave and coffee maker in room as well as table with 2 chairs by the window. Downtown Perth is just a few minutes away so convenient if you plan to do a bit of browsing. Overall it is a decent place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinyttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a nice, if utilitarian motor inn. The owner was lovely and check in was a breeze. The room was perfectly fine, nothing exciting, but it had a fridge and cable TV and a tea kettle. It's a little dreary inside due to poor lighting, so it's not the sort of place you'd want to hang out, but it's clean and conveniently located to downtown Perth, and just a decent place to stop on the road while on you're way somewhere. My one complaint would be the pillows, which were HORRIBLE. I admittedly have neck problems, but can usually make do, however these pillows were giant and puffy and unforgiving, and I ended up spending the night sleeping with my shirt wrapped around a towel instead. If you keep your own pillows in the car though, there really isn't a downside to this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mantaraggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here for one night July 6th as we were in town for a wedding. This motel was spotlessly clean. They let us check in just before 1:00 pm which gave us more than enough time to dress ourselves up. We didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool, but it looked very inviting. Would not hesitate to book here again.
After checking out, we got a phone call that we left a blanket behind. When we returned for it a few minutes later, the lady who worked there was waiting with it ready to pick up quickly. That was very appreciated!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cramanda026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We chose the Tay Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. The room was a fairly ordinary one, but extremely well maintained and clean. The room was quiet even though the hotel was on a main road. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were a little too thick for my liking. It has a small, well cloistered pool. Also has a Tom Hortons across the street for a quick, good breakfast. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth MN
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

In reading the reviews for the Tay Inn before making my reservation, I was struck by the repetition of the word "clean". Having now stayed there, the word "immaculate" is more appropriate, even the parking lot was perfect. From the blossoming flower pots to the bathrooms that could double as an operating theater in a hospital, the Tay Inn was exactly what I was looking for. If you are not going to do the old town B&B route, the Tay Inn is your perfect choice for a place to stay while in Perth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNadaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#4 of 5 in Perth
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial House Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
12.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
117 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tay Inn

Property: Tay Inn
Address: 125 Dufferin St, Perth, Ontario K7H 3A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tay Inn Perth, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing