We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B We've Stayed At”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Port Carling B&B and Inns
Whitby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best B & B We've Stayed At”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hard to sum up in 200 characters or less. Bill and Linda make you feel so at home when you stay with them. Happy greetings from Lilly, Duke and little Ella started off our stay on the right foot.. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Little kitchenette is wonderful for late night snacks or drinks. We stayed 2 nights and could of stayed forever. Breakfast both mornings were to die for and enough food to last you till dinner time. Both Linda and Bill are very knowledgeable about the home, town and restaurants in the area. I loved the way they stayed and talked during breakfast making you feel very at home. Would highly recommend you stay with them if you can get a room.
Thanks for a relaxing and carefree few days.

Gail & Peter Gagnon

Room Tip: Any one of the three rooms would be most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammagWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Located 15 minutes from Bala, my boyfriend came up from Toronto and needed a place to stay after a show at the Kee. Luckily, there was a last minute cancellation at the Manse and it couldn't have worked out better.

In less than 24 hours, we went shopping, bbq'd, watched the sunset, went in the hot tub, went to a concert, walked to the nearby beach (5 min walk), and had an amazing breakfast! So many amenities, lots to do, and close to everything!

I am very particular about where I stay. The Manse was up-to-date, very clean, very comfortable and well-stocked. Kitchenette was stocked with snacks and the most amazing cookies baked by Linda (Head Chef extraordinaire), who is very accommodating and understanding of dietary needs.

Trip was only made better by owners Bill and Linda, and the company of 2 adorable terriers and a cat that greeted us with a show as soon as we pulled up. Standard has been set pretty high for Bed and Breakfasts after this trip - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

I cannot praise Linda and Bill enough. Everything was excellent. Loved the food, snacks, rooms and the dogs and cat. Recommend this B and B to all. Be sure to try the home made cookies and make sure you take time over the excellent breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Whitbybob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My first time staying at a bed and breakfast and if they are all like this I will be choosing B&Bs more often. I had to book last minute and Linda and Bill were very accommodating. My stay was due to work so I was out early and arriving late but very quiet, beautiful, clean--just a wonderful experience. I'd love to go back when I can take time to enjoy the area! I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristilinDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I spent the best two nights and three days ever and I wish I could return to Linda and Bill's B&B right now! They were amazingly welcoming and made their home our home. The rooms were exceptionally lovely with antique touches and decor.
The extras were wonderful: super good home made chocolate chip cookies and refreshments supplied in the small pantry just outside our room door, DVD's and CD's to use inside our "Hill Suite" room. A wonderful jacuzzi tub in the spacious bathroom. The back deck had a hot tub available, and there was a lovely porch to relax on overlooking a large front yard, and a sitting room to watch satellite TV if you wished.
Linda's breakfasts were delicious and she was great at accomodating our dietary requests. She had the best Greek yogurt I've ever tasted! Everything is fresh and home made.
This B & B is complete with some furry friends: Lilly cat who kept the guest book cozy, and their two Yorkshire terriers - the shy Bella and more outgoing Duke. We became good buddies.

The location of The Manse is also excellent. At one end of the street you'll find Hanna Park with a lovely beach for swimming. The water was a very pleasant temperature. The other end of the street leads on the the main road through Port Carling and it's many quaint shops and restaurants. A lovely walk is the path around the Museum island. Of course this being Muskoka, prices at restaurants and shops tend to be on the expensive side, however the Manse offered very reasonable prices per night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoa3c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our stay with Linda and Bill was wonderful. Great conversation, wonderful meals, I strongly recommend you visit them soon! The place is located walking distance from everything you'll need in Port Carling and the rooms are well-appointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Bill and Erin made us feel very welcome indeed. Breakfast was a treat. We stayed in the Moyes room, which had very interesting decor. Overall a nice experience.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
4.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
16.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
17.4 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
10.9 mi away
Patterson Kaye Resort by Regalton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Manse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 Bailey Street, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse was built in 1912 as a home for the Methodist ministers of Port Carling. Today, it provides tranquil bed and breakfast accommodation. Carefully rendered mahogany and maple woodwork, the fireplace, period collectibles and vintage books are some of the details that maintain the residence’s heritage charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manse Bed And Breakfast Port Carling, Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing