We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherwood Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Shamrock Lodge(Port Carling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestwood Inn(Port Carling)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rocky Crest Golf Resort(Muskoka District)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Severn Lodge(Port Severn)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Bracebridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
177
115
29
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
115
29
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake josephwood burning fireplacedining roomsmoked salmonmuskoka chairscross countrymain buildingeggs benedictbreakfast buffetview of the lakewine cellarice fishinggreat weekendsnow shoescooked perfectlyget awayrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed one night mid-week with 3 friends in Inn Rooms, which are spacious, comfortable and clean. Being mid -September, we were between summer swimming and fall colours but found plenty to do. Kayaks and canoes on the water (even a peddle boat), hike along both trails, spa treatments, hot tub time, chatting with other guests around the bonfire in the evening. Beware the longer hiking trail is much more challenging than the 2 km trail which is an easy stroll. In fact 2 of our group took twice as long as they thought it would take. Staff commented that some guests have reported being somewhat lost on that trail and they are going to review the trail markers and signs.

We had all our meals there and greatly enjoyed every one. Breakfast is buffet style with the usual offerings, including eggs benedict. Excellent menu selection for both lunch and dinner and great wine list.

We found all the staff, from reception to maintenance to dining room servers to be super friendly and over-the-top accommodating on every request.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottagosoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Gottagosoon2,

Firstly I wanted to thank you and your friends for choosing us for your mid week September getaway.
I was delighted to read that despite being in the middle of Summer swims and fall colors, you and friends found able opportunities to occupy your time at the resort and take in all the amenities we have to offer.
Yes, our hiking trails will receive fresh markings before the snow flies so Cross country skiers, hikers and snow shoers will have clearly marked paths for their activities; thnak you for your feedback on this.

Glad to see you approved of our cuisine as well as the Amba Spa services and our new hot tub.

"Gottacomebacksoon", look forward to your next visit to our Inn.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Not too big, and not too small, Sherwood Inn is just right for a break in the Muskoka Lakes area. Alongside Lake Joseph, with stunning views, the Inn is comfortable and homely. The staff are pleasant and helpful, and the dining room provides first-class cuisine from a clearly dedicated chef. The inhouse Spa is worth a visit. The Inn is just a two-hours drive from Toronto. Bracebridge and Gravenhurst are 20-30 minutes drive away and offer old-world charm with great lake views.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a room with lake view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter10012012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Peter,

Thank you for your visit to the Sherwood Inn and your accolades of "Excellent in every aspect".
Very pleased to read that we were the right spot for your getaway.

Great to hear about your approval of our cuisine; Everett Bell our Chef de Cuisine is definitely a dedicated culinarian and we are privileged to have him at the helm of our kitchen.

Hope to see you return back soon to our resort on Muskoka's Lake Joseph.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

SHERWOOD INN, MUSKOKA, CANADA ....REVIEW. September 2013

Sherwood inn is an older tradition resort with cottage like buildings spread over several acres with a small beach, watercraft and docks with muskoka chairs

Many of the rooms have been updated with a fireplace, premium linens and a whirlpool bath. Our third floor room overlooked the lake. There is no elevator.

Food is above average with a vast selection of items on the breakfast buffet including premium coffee, eggs Benedict and many pastries or they will cook to order. We never had lunch. Dinner was more limited with one soup of the day, salads and regular items with no special of the day. All items seemed to be we'll accepted. If you crave more variety the town of Port Carling is close with several dining options.

Three people are very memorable, KEEGAN is the go to guy for most Issues, JEFFREY is great food and beverage guy and MEREDITH is a great morning waitress. Everyone else was pleasant and accommodating

In summation, would recommend this property for a relaxed vacation, on a lake, in a beautiful part of the country

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RONANSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Ronanski,

Thank you for visiting us at the Sherwood Inn and writing about your experience on TripAdvisor.
I was pleased to read that our recently renovated Maplewood Rooms were to your liking and that your overall stay with us was a positive experience.

I will be sure to personally share your great comments with Keegan, Jeff and Meredith; all three great hospitality ambassadors for our resort as well as all of Muskoka.

I was surprised to read about your comment about the dinner menu variety, we have a soup of the day as well as a clam chowder, and our kitchen will cheerfully prepare anything our guests request as long as we have it available. Perhaps you dined from our lounge menu that has more limited option!?

We value your feedback and business and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Muskoka in the near future.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The overall experience at Sherwood Inn was excellent. It is clear that the inn is undergoing renovations to provide an updated, clean and tasteful Muskoka experience. The setting is superb with a view right down Lake Joseph complimented by a spectacular sunset view from several vantage points. Because the buildings are spread apart, the sense of being at a cottage or smaller community is reinforced. The inn goes out of its way to make the natural environment part of the resort experience. The outdoor spaces are designed so that they integrate with the surroundings; the huge wrap around deck and the alcoves of sitting areas near the water provide privacy as well as shared spaces. Our room was very pleasant (Cedarwood Premium) and provided the space and amenities we needed. The service was excellent. Of note, were Keegan and Meredith who clearly love their roles at the inn and interacting with the guests. Overall, the staff are professional, friendly and welcoming... including the chefs and kitchen staff who we encountered after breakfast or while walking the grounds. We ate most of our meals at the inn and we were happy with the quality. We particularly enjoyed the Rainbow Trout dinner especially as the vegetables were plentiful and grilled to perfection as was the fish. Our favourite dessert was the Maple Creme Brulee'. (The strawberries with tea biscuit dessert was dry and the apple crisp was a bit of a disappointment.) The option to eat in the Lounge provided a bit of variety as well. It was also a pleasant place to play cards/board games (provided) when the weather took a turn for the worst. Canoeing on the lake was certainly a highlight and the equipment provided was of good quality. Although it was too cold to go swimming, the water looked inviting. Once the resort has finished upgrading all of the rooms/amenities it would be worthy of a 5 star. Our renovated room had a few items that need correcting and we were assured they are 'on the list' to be completed in the near future. They did not impact our stay. Furthermore, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linens of high quality; we loved the comfy bathrobes too! We expect to return again some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiniVaycay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear MiniVayCay Waterloo,

Firstly I wanted to thank you for choosing Sherwood Inn for your September getaway destination.
I was pleased to read that you had noticed our continuous efforts to upgrade our property and its amenities. This Grand old lady on Lake Joseph will turn 75 years old next year and it is a constant challenge to keep her "rejuvenated" to be able to compete with the new resorts and hotels opening in Muskoka. As you said it in your review, our locations is like no other and I am pleased to read that the layout of our resort and our buildings met with your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback on the Cedarwood rooms and yes indeed they are scheduled for some moderate facelifts in the next few years.

I will be sure to share your accolades with Keegan and Meredith and its comforting to know that they made a good personal connection with you.

Clearly we need to work on and fine tune our dessert offerings, but glad to see the Creme Brule was a hit.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Muskoka very soon.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The rooms at Sherwood Inn are a tad small. The view of our room was good looking at the water.
The staff was excellent and receptive to anything we asked of them. The restaurant had good service and food was above average.
I would go back to this place in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Sherwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Peter M,
Thank you for submitting a review following your recent stay with us.
I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our cuisine met with your expectation and that you found our service and staff excellent.
Our Inn rooms are definitely not our largest rooms as the Inn was built in 1939.
Some of the inn room furniture is also bulkier and we are in the process of reconfiguring those room layouts to make them appear roomier.
We do offer a variety of accommodation types with varying size for our guests' convenience.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Muskoka.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews