We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, warm atmosphere, friendly staff”

Ella's Place Casual Family Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, warm atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have eaten at Ella's countless times, each time I am pleasantly surprised. There is beautiful patio overlooking the Indian River with plenty of sun to enjoy. The home cooked dishes that Ella prepares are delicious, healthy and unique. The restaurant can be busy in peak season, but in Muskoka this is par for the course, and in my experience the quality of food has never suffered. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alysmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After driving by Ella's several times, decided to pop in for an early morning breakfast.
What a great little place. Super impressed by menu selection. Open kitchen so you can watch the chef and cooks prepare. The food was very fresh, quality ingredients and cooked properly.
Had a traditional breakfast, everything served hot and perfect.
Service staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome. Talked to the chef on the way out who thanked us for our business.
Also a great feature is the dock out back for boat access while out on the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a good lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Service was excellent, atmosphere is of a small town and it lived up to it. Food was very good.
Entrance needs new stairs. They are difficult to navigate for someone who has a back problem or uses a cane.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carling, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Muskoka at it's Best”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ella's is not the place to go if you are expecting a Toronto fast experience. But if you enjoy a leisurely breakfast or Lunch where staff are pleasant, make you welcome as if you were in their home, try to take care of all your needs even though you are demanding, this is the place to go. Chill out and enjoy your meal, don't forget to make a reservation. Remember Sunday has all day breakfast. Don't be upset if it is busy, this is a popular place. Open year round. A true community restaurant. If you find it difficult to wait for 15 mins......Go somewhere else, but if you can find somewhere it will not be as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentCust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Underrated - Excellent Service\Great Value”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I were especially impressed with the service and the food was excellent value. We both had the wiener schnitzel on a bun for slightly over $10.00. When I asked to try one of the local beers on tap the waitress brought more than one to try. She virtually ran from table to table and was extremely attentive. We highly recommend this restaurant and will visit again the next time we are in Port Carling!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsav_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ella's Place Casual Family Eatery also viewed

Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing