We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Ella's Place Casual Family Eatery
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stopped here thinking we're going to get a quick burger and fries, not hoping for any other options in the area.

But we were pleasantly surprised to find Thai soup on the menu and a variety of great dishes.

We were told that Ella, the owner, makes everything in house and I have to admit, food just tasted better then similar dishes in other places.

Give it a try if you're in the area!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank alexpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    32
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Carling, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Schnitzel”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Try the schnitzel or Ella's homemade soup. Its great for Breakfest or Lunch always have great specials and amazing service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamSWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food, warm atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I have eaten at Ella's countless times, each time I am pleasantly surprised. There is beautiful patio overlooking the Indian River with plenty of sun to enjoy. The home cooked dishes that Ella prepares are delicious, healthy and unique. The restaurant can be busy in peak season, but in Muskoka this is par for the course, and in my experience the quality of food has never suffered. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alysmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little spot”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After driving by Ella's several times, decided to pop in for an early morning breakfast.
What a great little place. Super impressed by menu selection. Open kitchen so you can watch the chef and cooks prepare. The food was very fresh, quality ingredients and cooked properly.
Had a traditional breakfast, everything served hot and perfect.
Service staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome. Talked to the chef on the way out who thanked us for our business.
Also a great feature is the dock out back for boat access while out on the river.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a good lunch”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Service was excellent, atmosphere is of a small town and it lived up to it. Food was very good.
Entrance needs new stairs. They are difficult to navigate for someone who has a back problem or uses a cane.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ella's Place Casual Family Eatery also viewed

Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing