We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raises the bar for area restaurants”

Loondocks Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Fresh and local fine dining in the heart of Muskoka.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Raises the bar for area restaurants”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We are cottagers in the Muskoka Lake District and spend 4-6 weeks in the area every summer. Eating out is only an occasional occurrence because most restaurants are disappointing, very expensive and service can be hit or miss. Not so at Loondocks. This is by far the best restaurant in the area. The menu is not extensive (which I consider a good thing), but very imaginative and varied. The setting is just beautiful, overlooking the locks in Port Carling and the service has always been good. We just had a really great dinner again last night. If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxed atmosphere with terrific food and wine, look nor further.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamdamonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    36
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Carling, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful family restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have been at Loondocks for lunch and dinner on other occasions. The staff is always welcoming and friendly. The food is the best around, fresh, local, and always great presentation. The view is lovely over the river and locks. This is a restaurant where we always take our company, It never fails to be just perfect. Kevin has done a wonderful job!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Date night winner!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I have precious few nights without the children so having a great meal with such great servers was awesome. The menu selections made it easy to find a favourite! We will be returning soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnTBoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very fulfilling lunch”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We came to Loondocks on a Sunday for brunch and were very impressed with the experience. The staff was courteous and the food portions were in line with the prices. We had the mini burgers and macaroni and cheese and we were not disappointed. Excellent views to boot as well!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Carling, Canada
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

As soon I walked inside I immediately loved the atmosphere. The decor was beautiful and the set up was also done nicely. Our server was very kind and attentive to us through out our entire meal. The food was also beyond amazing - definitely one of the best meals I have ever had. My main dish was a mac and cheese, my desert a mango cheese cake which were both outstanding in not only taste but presentation as well. Loondocks is simply absolutely amazing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loondocks Restaurant also viewed

Port Carling, Muskoka District
 
Port Carling, Muskoka District
Rosseau, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Loondocks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing