We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family's favourite place to go in the summer... year after year.”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our family's favourite place to go in the summer... year after year.”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Our family's favourite place to go in the summer... year after year. I grew up cottaging just down the road, on Lake Rosseau, and now with a young family of my own this is truly a fantastic property from which to enjoy the best of Muskoka with young kids. You can relax and see your little one's almost everywhere on the property from one seat, on the dock, beach, lawn, balcony or veranda. Most of the time they're playing with other kids in the "Kids Club" with great counsellors. Right next door to Muskoka Lakes Golf & Country Club where I'm a member and can play golf tennis and eat, but other guests of Shamrock can also get on the course through Gary and Tim Bryant. This is a small family run resort with great home cooked meals 3 times a day, so that no one is stuck in the kitchen or in town shopping the whole week. Everyone gets to relax and enjoy the entire week. You and the other guests really feel like one big extended family while you're there. I can't say enough. Quite honestly, hesitant to put this review on Trip Advisor because I know we and others who go there - want to keep Shamrock Lodge our perfect little secret! Oh well. I know the Bryant's will save a week for us every single year. Everyone should get to enjoy.

Room Tip: My favourite rooms are in Pinewood on the second floor (6-10). Great view of the lake / sunrise. Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Front Office Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank-you so much for your review Glen! Of course we will save you that weeek! We always love to have your family here. And your room tips were awesome.

Thanks again,
Look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
168
20
1
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I just had the pleasure of spending 2-1/2 days at Shamrock, taking part in an annual conference for our 20 Administrators. We were looking for something different – a place with charming and comfortable accommodations, intimate meeting space with natural light, scenic and serene surroundings – a place where staff could really relax for a couple of days out of their busy schedules. Shamrock really delivered! Not only did we enjoy exclusive use of the property and the best cottage accommodation I’ve ever had, the meals were diverse and first rate and the staff was super friendly and attentive to our every need. The group arrived for supper on the first day and by lunch the next day, Tim knew everyone by name! He took us out on his boat for tours of the lake and built us a bonfire every evening. Whenever we broke from our meetings, we could just step outside, right into a picture-perfect Muskoka setting! I believe the atmosphere even encouraged more open and frank discussions. Our team really enjoyed Shamrock – everyone wished we could stay longer! I would recommend this resort to any business or vacationer looking for a picturesque location or the personal attention you just don’t get at a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you very much Mary for your wonderful comments. I have been trying to tell all the meeting planners i have been in contact with, exactly what you have said. We are glad that we met all of your expectations. And thank you once again for choosing us for your meeting. Sincerely, The Bryant family and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Thanks to the Bryant family and crew for an excellent stay in the Muskokas. Dan and I were in the area for business and our stay at the Shamrock was relaxing and welcoming from the Bryant brothers and the waitress sisters particularly.
We'll definitely be back for pleasure.

Cheers, Bonnie and Dan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and would be pleased to have you stay again with us for pleasure! We appreciate the review and we will pass on the complement about our great muffins to the Chef. The sister waitress team is wonderful and thanks for noticing their hospitality.

Sincerely, The Bryant Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our family(now a reunion of 33) have been going to Shamrock Lodge for 10 years. Our children started going to Shamrock when they were 10, 7, & 4 years of age. Now my sisters' families and my parents and my brother-in-law and sister-in-law and friends' families join us for a memory making week every summer. The ease of life, the family friendly atmosphere, the enclosed area and amazing kid friendly beach, amongst other things, make this like having your own cottage but with amenities. As a mother of three, not having to cop, clean or even watch my children every minute was truly a vacation. The Bryants are a wonderful family who make your vacation easy and family-oriented. My children are now going to be 21, 18, & 15 and they still want to go every year. They have written their college entrance essays, poems and 'their favorite places' stories about Shamrock. It is truly our touchstone as a family and now an extended family!

Room Tip: Depends upon your group!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaigeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We have had a family tradition of coming to Shamrock Lodge for 14 years. We started coming before we even had children. It is not just a "place" to go in the summer - for us, it is like going to a friend's cottage, where you share none of the work! The Bryant family is extremely friendly and welcoming, being directly involved with everything that goes on at the Lodge. They really cater to their guests. The food that the chef prepares is both plentiful and delicious, with good variety. It is our children's favourite destination (and we travel a lot!). The kids have so much to do, they often find it hard to fit everything in in one week. The children's program is also wonderful - the kids are well looked after with fun activities - all right around you. It is a very safe place to take your family, where your children will feel "independent", yet still within your eyesight. Everything about Shamrock Lodge and the Bryant family hospitality is perfect for a truly memorable family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Wow what a review, one of the best we have recieved! Thank you greatly for sharing how much you have enjoyed your experiences here at Shamrock Lodgeover the years. It makes us feel special to know that you compare going to Shamrock Lodge just like going to a friends cottage. That's exactly what Shamrock is all about! It's guests (friends) like you that make all of us (family and staff) feel proud of what we do. We look forward to another fun filled summer and thanks again for your outstanding review.. Sincerely , The Bryant family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My wife booked us into the Shamrock as she wanted us, our family of four includes our two daughters, aged 13 and 11, to have a nice dinner and a night of dancing. Many places don't cater to an all-ages, family occasion like this. But, the fine folks at the Shamrock Lodge do.

From the experience of the booking through to the duration of our stay, we were impressed by the service.

The room was clean, comfortable and roomy. The 2-night package, which included 2 dinners and 2 country breakfasts, was excellent value.

We enjoyed the indoor pool, the hot tub and the sauna. One day, when the New Year's day weather was teaming rain, we took refuge in a family room with a lovely fireplace. Our host, co-owner Tim, set-up a fire without our even asking him to do so, then took a drink order for all of us.

During the New Years DJ dance, he even urged our daughters to make sure they gave their requests to the DJ so they'd hear the tunes that they wanted to dance to.

They have a games room with a ping-pong and billiards table that were a lot of fun.

Fireworks on the dock for New Years Eve. A welcome bonfire (bring yer own marshmallows).

And winter activities at the doorstep, a snowmobile, cross-country skis to explore the neighbouring golf course, and toboggans to do the same.

I can't stress how impressed we were with Tim's (and his staff's) consistently excellent warm service. They made us feel like we were at a home away from home.

Room Tip: I forget the name of the specific building that we were in (there are a few different ones), but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thanks to David and his family for such a nice review. We had a great time over the New Years. The mix between families and couples were perfect. I think when you have a cozy and homey atmosphere everyone gets to know each other. That is one of the nice things about our Lodge, people get acquainted very quickly. Its always nice to be called by your first name and when you come here you will find that out. The bonfires and fireworks are the norm here and that is another great spot to gather and get to know other guests. When you combine activities,dining and good cheer together you create a very nice holiday. Thanks again and we keep trying to make the lodge feel like your home away from home... Sincerely, Tim and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We've been searching for years, for the perfect place for us to go year after year and I'm happy to say that we've finally found it! Shamrock Lodge couldn't be in a more gorgeous location. The view of Rosseau is what Muskoka is all about. The beach is perfect, the accomodations are more than reasonable and the food is spectacular! We were there over Thanksgiving and were treated to an amazing turkey dinner. My husband, who's a pretty good eater, was done his plate when the server came by and asked if he wanted more. He was treated to a second helping, no problem. It's those little touches that turn an average place into a spectacular one. The owners knew our names within a day and everyone was more than accomodating and friendly. You better believe we'll be back and next time, we're bringing our friends! Thanks Shamrock.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thanks for submiting your excellent review. Alot of guests have told us that this is a beautiful spot. We are glad to hear your search is over and you and your family will be returning and become one of the many repeat guests we host each and every year. I must say we had the best weather this past Thanksgiving Weekend. The leaves were perfect and the days seemed like summer. Please pass on our thanks to you and your family for coming and discovering us. We look forward to your next visit, and please feel free to post some more photo's that some of your family took over the holiday weekend. Tim Bryant and family.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
314 reviews
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
217 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.3 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Port Carling, Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing