We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homestars Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Homestars Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Where to begin. Everything about my stay at Shamrock was fantastic! Tim and his staff were such gracious hosts. The food was delicious, the accommodations were very tasteful and clean. The view was breathtaking. Special shout out to Susan who's hard work did not go unnoticed, everything she did for us was done with a smile! I haven t stoped talking about my stay since coming back to the city. I would recommend The Shamrock Lodge to everyone! Believe me you won t be disappointed! I can t wait to visit again!

Shawn

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Shawn. It was great to meet you while you were here at the conference and we're glad you enjoyed it so much. We love having your group back year after year and meeting all of the new faces as well as welcoming back the familiar faces.

Hopefully we'll see again next June or even in the summer with your family!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
20
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just stayed for a weekend with some friends and as usual, the folks at the Shamrock did not disappoint. I was given the task of organizing and after a previous great visit to the Shamrock with my family it was an easy task. From the moment we arrived, we all felt very taken care of, the staff and Bryant family were super hosts, the location and facilities are outstanding, food was delicious, rooms were spotless and comfortable. We are going to make it an annual "boys weekend" at the Shamrock from now on...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for adding your review, Sheldon. We look forward to making your boy's weekend an annual event!!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a great time for the second year in a row at Shamrock Lodge for girls weekend. The accommodations were roomy,comfortable and clean. Tim and Sue were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. The food was amazing and the portions generous. The staff were kind and friendly and any request was greeted with a smile and if staff didn't know the answer, they made sure to find out promptly. We had fun kayaking and enjoyed a boat cruise around the lake. We plan to make our girls weekend a yearly tradition at Shamrock. Thanks to all who made our weekend a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hi Nora. We're so glad you had another great girl's weekend. We always look forward to that weekend as well and to see all of the familiar faces back year after year.

We'll see you in June!
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I loved this place. the Bryant family are excellent hosts and the facility is fantastic.
If you are looking for the Four Seasons, this is not your place. If you are looking for a clean, well maintained, well stocked Lodge with fantastic service and great food, this is your place.

5 of us stayed in both sides of the Driftwood cabin. The screened-in porch is the KEY to this cabin. Its like having a bug free, outdoor living room. The fire-pit is well stocked with wood and kindling and became our evening gathering post. I will say though, if i had to say something bad about this place, the fire poker was inferior, please upgrade to cast iron.

Will be booking again for next year. Keep up the great work at Shamrock

Room Tip: The Drifwood Cabin served us very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thanks for posting your review Howard....we really appreciate it. And we apologize for our delay in responding. The pictures are great and hopefully you'll be back next year to have another great guys weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I recently stayed at Shamrock lodge for an event. The staff was friendly and professional and the location was lovely. I should also mention the food was very tasty. I am hoping to return with my family next time. Thank you for a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scilib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We'd love to have you bring your family here....call us anytime!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The view was amazing from our balcony. The room was rustic but clean and very spacious and I slept well. I made use the hot tub and pool facilities and it too was well maintained and comfortable. It was winter and there was a ton of snow and my colleague took advantage of the snowshoeing and X-country ski trails. The food was far too plentiful and tasty. However the service was bar none the charm of the Shamrock. It is run by the Bryant family and their staff who were so hospitable and helpful that I felt like I belonged within hours. In fact they even boosted my car at the end of my stay as it would not start.

I imagine that the summer would be even more lovely with the water rippling...perhaps another time.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor of the large motel style building with a balcony overlooking the water (i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It's been a while since you wrote this lovely review, but we wanted to make sure we said thank you - even though it's a few months later. Please come back and see us again!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have used the Shamrock for 10+ years for corporate retreats, and just stayed there for a family winter weekend. It was great to be home! Tim and his team always do a fantastic job, and this past weekend was no different.

One of the reasons I like The Shamrock so much is that it is about family hosting family…even when it's a business meeting. It is small and intimate, and the service is personal, warm and fantastic. Our business meetings almost always meant we had the place to ourselves, and so we didn't get lost in a huge facility and we didn't have to share with other groups. Our group was the focus and we had privacy when we needed it, and great service when we needed that. Even when there was another group there, we had everything we needed.

My recent experience with my family was just as special. And it was just the winter wonderland getaway we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Our apologies for taking so long to respond but it's because we've been busy with so many familiar smiling faces, just like yours! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Port Carling, Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing