We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you have kids that love water and the outdoors this place is a must !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shamrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you have kids that love water and the outdoors this place is a must !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Many years ago we toke our kids to various family oriented family run lodges for summer vacations. The kids loved the water and outdoor activities and we enjoyed not having to cook and look after them continuously. Today there are very few such places for busy moms and dads. Shamrock is one of the exceptions. And they do an exemplary job in excelling at keeping the kids involved, entertained and well fed during the entire time, even on wet days. Shamrock is a "lodge" and as such one cannot expect a level of luxury that is associated with luxury brand name resorts in the Muskokas. Their web site (it does not do justice to what is offered) and the pricing associated with the rooms appear to be "high" but not when consideration is given to the amount of personalized service, customized activities for kids, facilities made available, and high quality of food offered to all guests. As many other reviewers have noted, the rooms are simple yet practical and always clean. If you're looking for a place that treats you and your kids like a family member and makes your stay a warm and fulfilling experience this is it.

Room Tip: Pinewood's upper floors have great views but one needs to climb stairs which should be considere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We're so glad you were able to enjoy the service we provide at Shamrock Lodge. We really do hope that our guests feel like an extended part of our family. This (we hope) is what keeps so many families coming back year after year. And the best part is, we do all the cooking and cleaning!

Hopefully we will see you again next summer. Tim Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
20
1
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just returned from a week at the Shamrock Lodge with the kids (8,10,12). We have been to several family resorts and the Bryant Family (owners) do a wonderful job to make the vacation great especially for the kids. The owners Tim and Gary were great, running the water sports and teaching the kids water-skiing with great patience. The server and staff were great with the kids and special mention to our server Patrick who went out of her way to accommodate every request. The cabins were clean but rather small so it was a bit cramped for 5 people. The property is right on the bay, beside a golf course, includes all water sports and special guests to entertain us and the kids. A vacation here for kids 3-15 years old is worth the trip to Port Carling, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. I had a good laugh when I saw you included "Patrick" in your fond memories of Shamrock. Hopefully we can get you into larger accommodation for next year!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family of four had an awesome time at Shamrock Lodge this week. Our almost 4-year old and 9 month-old enjoyed the pool, beach, boat rides. The resort facilities, rooms and equipment are clean, comfortable, well maintained and safe for our little ones. We especially enjoyed the water trampoline, tubing, water skiing. We love that the boating activities are included in our rate and did this every day. Having lunch included is very Important with young kids, and we know not all Muskoka resorts offer three daily meals, like Shamrock does. We feel we got great value for our money and will certainly return with our boys in the future. Thanks to the Bryants and their staff for being friendly and welcoming.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Spinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Jennifer. Thanks so much for taking time to post this review. We're glad you had a good summer and we'll look forward to seeing you back again (hopefully next summer!!)

Susan, The Bryant Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

SUPERB!!!
We were a group of 6 from Chicago and Shanghai ages 7-70.
What a simply wonderful experience.
As many others have said there is something for all ages.

The setting ... the sloping lawn to the crystal clear lake with sandy bottom, shallow at first, then deep: the shore holding canoes and kayaks is marvelous.
Accommodation is simple but great quality: great beds, pillows, showers
Meals are wonderful with variety, and great options.
But none of the above could happen without the service one receives from all. Nothing seems an imposition or too much trouble. They are so cheerful, optimistic and positive. This quality of service is from ALL staff: it is simply amazing. I think this can only happen when this approach is carried out from the top. We watched the Bryant family teach some staff in various tasks e.g. cleaning kayaks or filling gas tanks of boats and always clear instructions were given with positive comments and verification of task performed without micromanagement.
Susan in the office has a handle on the bookings and is always helpful even in smallest matters.
We are so happy to have experienced this lodge and hospitality and want to return again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms good but Driftwood offers screened porch for a rainy day. Some units bigger but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm glad our love for what we do shows through in our customer service. We're looking forward to having you back next summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Really fabulous family resort, run by the Bryant family, who couldn't have been better hosts. Delicious food, great activities, able to waterski every day, kids club, lovely setting with beautiful gardens and gently shelving beach which our 2 yr old loved playing on. So much to do, but equally easy just to relax in the shade, or the sun, on a sun lounger or a muskoka chair.... so many choices!!!! Would highly recommend especially for families. Wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you Shamrock Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Vacations always seem to go by so quickly! We'd love to have you back if you have the time later this summer. If not, same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had an incredible time. Three families stayed in different cabins. The main lodge room was clean and fairly spacious. It felt like a cottage but wasn't run down. Another family stayed in the Kelly House which was loft style and had a small gathering area where we could hang out (smaller than I expected). The all inclusive included three meals and I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious everything was. Even breakfast was generous with a continental meal as well as made to order meals - you could have both! The equipment provided was so convenient - paddle boats, canoes, kayaks, paddleboards. A generous lake area with a water trampoline. The best part was the activities for the kids. Bird show, magic show, talent show, fireworks. The staff was incredibly accommodating and very organized. My one complaint was the lack of a nearby hiking trail - it was a 1 hour drive away. Overall the best cottage experience I've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redrozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We're glad your families enjoyed all Shamrock has to offer. The lodge is a great spot to be able to spend some quality time with family members and there is always something for everyone. Hopefully we'll see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Beautiful location, excellent service, stellar menu/food, warm cozy accommodation and keen attention to detail by a family dedicated to making each and every guests stay special. Couldn't have asked for nicer weather, a better view or lovelier sand/water. Thanks to the Bryant family for an unparalleled company retreat experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We loved having your group here again and look forward to you coming back again next year!! Hopefully we can provide the same great weather. Tim Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.8 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.1 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Port Carling, Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing