We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Visit”
Review of Shamrock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Carling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shamrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family Visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An excellent resort for kids, grandkids and grandparent kids. The owners and staff are great at entertaining "kids" of all ages and clearly show that they enjoy doing so. This was a repeat family visit in July, 2014, and was enjoyed by all. The resort is relatively small, charmingly rustic and very friendly with excellent evening entertainment for all ages. There's lots to do in the area.

Granddad said "Little Harry do you like Shamrock Lodge?", "Yes granddad."
"Is Shamrock your favourite place?", "Oh, yes Granddad."

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clyde90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It's those "kids" of all ages that keep us loving what we do. We'll look forward to another family visit in July 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    31
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
20
1
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family gets together every year to celebrate a special occasion and this past week was the best as everyone had a great time at Shamrock Lodge. There's a lot of things to do for everyone and our children and grandchildren had a ball. Susan, Tim and staff made sure some of the small issues were resolved. If there's a couple of things I can complain about is the condition of the tennis court and sometimes the service in the dining room was not very good but on the whole we had a great time. What we really liked about the place was that our grandchildren were free to go anywhere and do whatever they liked. They really enjoyed tubing, boating and the other non-motorized sports. Breakfast and dinner were always very good but the lunch was just adequate. Regardless of the "coolish" weather we managed to enjoy the week as the kids spent it swimming in the indoor pool and playing table tennis, billiard etc. They also loved being in the "Kids Club". This was just our first year and we made friends with some people who have been coming for years. I think we definitely have found an ideal place for our annual summer family reunion. A special shout out to Susan for such an excellent customer service. Hope that by next year all the small issues will have been resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disgruntled62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We appreciate each and every review and value the honesty of our guests when it comes to helping us resolve issues. Thank you for bringing them to our attention during your stay so we were able to rectify some of the problems while you were here.

I'm so glad your family had such a fun stay and we look forward to seeing you next year and hopefully many more years to come!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our team came from across Canada and wanted to experience 'Ontario Cottage Country'. Boy, were they not disappointed! The view and the ambiance are quintessential Muskoka. Tim and Susan set us up with a fantastic place to host our all day meetings (even starting the wood burning stove when it was freezing in June!) and everyone raved about all the food. Snack breaks, breakfast, lunch and dinner were exceptional. They even had a pot of coffee ready every morning for our early risers. The Bryant family were outstanding hosts and the facility was literally perfect for our retreat. The rooms were very clean and had a fridge and everyone felt that they had their own space while still being close together. We loved the games room as it gave us a place to convene each day before and after dinner. Everyone was so accommodating we really felt welcomed! You can be sure that we will be back the next time our meeting comes back to 'Toronto' :) And many of our colleagues said they would love to vacation here with their families. Seems like it would be an amazing place for kids! Thank you for such a great experience.

Room Tip: The cottages with the screen in porches would be ideal during summer time. Your kids can sleep in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Hi Michelle. Thanks so much for the fantastic review. We loved having your group here and loved getting to know all of you. We'll certainly look forward to that phone call when your meeting returns to 'Toronto'!!

Susan and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The staff at this resort are fantastic, the food is delicious and the water sports are amazing. The fact that this resort isn't huge makes a big difference when travelling with kids. Our kids are 8 and 10 and we could let them have free reign of the place without worrying about them. They loved the freedom and we loved the relaxation. Anywhere they go is pretty well in sight without moving from a lounge chair. One of the owners Tim is beyond wonderful with kids, from ice cream boat rides to teaching them how to water ski. My son is incredibly proud of his certificate for "first time waterskier"!! Our kids called it the best trip ever. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks so much for writing your review and we're glad you had such a great stay! It doesn't get much better than hearing your kids say it was their best trip ever!!

We'll look forward to seeing you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I do not have one bad thing to say about this resort. The staff is AMAZING and our group of 14 never once heard the word, "no" from any of the staff. The food was fantastic, the entertainment was varied and really, really good and there was something for everyone to do which is good as we had a group that varied in ages 4-74! This is a great place for families and trust me, if you're bored here it is your fault. The trampoline out in the water provided many hours of fun for everyone and the water skiing and tubing were so much fun. Tried paddle boarding for the first time and loved it. All in all, we couldn't have gone to a better place and hope you guys are around for a long time. I dare you to find better service and staff in Muskoka!
Kari

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kari1267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi Kari. Thank you so much for that wonderful review. We loved meeting all of your family and being able to help celebrate such a great anniversary. (The t-shirts were a highlight for me!) Hopefully we'll have the pleasure of having you all back again next year.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Many years ago we toke our kids to various family oriented family run lodges for summer vacations. The kids loved the water and outdoor activities and we enjoyed not having to cook and look after them continuously. Today there are very few such places for busy moms and dads. Shamrock is one of the exceptions. And they do an exemplary job in excelling at keeping the kids involved, entertained and well fed during the entire time, even on wet days. Shamrock is a "lodge" and as such one cannot expect a level of luxury that is associated with luxury brand name resorts in the Muskokas. Their web site (it does not do justice to what is offered) and the pricing associated with the rooms appear to be "high" but not when consideration is given to the amount of personalized service, customized activities for kids, facilities made available, and high quality of food offered to all guests. As many other reviewers have noted, the rooms are simple yet practical and always clean. If you're looking for a place that treats you and your kids like a family member and makes your stay a warm and fulfilling experience this is it.

Room Tip: Pinewood's upper floors have great views but one needs to climb stairs which should be considere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Owner at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We're so glad you were able to enjoy the service we provide at Shamrock Lodge. We really do hope that our guests feel like an extended part of our family. This (we hope) is what keeps so many families coming back year after year. And the best part is, we do all the cooking and cleaning!

Hopefully we will see you again next summer. Tim Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We just returned from a week at the Shamrock Lodge with the kids (8,10,12). We have been to several family resorts and the Bryant Family (owners) do a wonderful job to make the vacation great especially for the kids. The owners Tim and Gary were great, running the water sports and teaching the kids water-skiing with great patience. The server and staff were great with the kids and special mention to our server Patrick who went out of her way to accommodate every request. The cabins were clean but rather small so it was a bit cramped for 5 people. The property is right on the bay, beside a golf course, includes all water sports and special guests to entertain us and the kids. A vacation here for kids 3-15 years old is worth the trip to Port Carling, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shammylodge, Manager at Shamrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. I had a good laugh when I saw you included "Patrick" in your fond memories of Shamrock. Hopefully we can get you into larger accommodation for next year!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Carling
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
2.3 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
23.3 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Lodge

Property: Shamrock Lodge
Address: 1090 Shamrock Road, Port Carling, Ontario P0B 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Carling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Carling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a weekend retreat, a family vacation, corporate meeting spot, Shamrock Lodge has it all year round. 400 ft natural sandy beach awaits you on beautiful Lake Rosseau Muskoka. Enjoy the friendly personal the Bryant family have shared with their guests for the past 30 years. Come and experience our unique charm at a traditional Muskoka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shamrock Lodge Port Carling, Ontario - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing