We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy and discusting”
Review of Seaway Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seaway Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Colborne
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Filthy and discusting”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Worst $50.00 I ever spent. The walls and doors were filthy, the so called kitchen had a old filthy frig and stove top. The mircowave oven was filthy inside and out, had never been cleaned. Then there was the bathroom with 2 paper thin towels one which was soiled. the floor had dried blood on it the walls , the walls were dirty. This place makes the BATES MOTEL look good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked our room in advance prior to our long weekend getaway. The room was disappointing from the moment we opened the door and were greeted with the overwhelming stench of mold/mildew mixed with urine.

I did not mind that it was dated and shabby, it is a cheap motel after all. But, my concerns were the following:
- dead insects on the floors
- curly black hairs on the bathroom floor
- blood stains and holes in linens
- odors in the room
- very poor sound-proofing (neighbour's cigarette smoke got into our room even with the windows closed)
- pool rundown and closed

Though we had booked in advance for the weekend, we checked out after one night. We told the lady at the front desk our concerns and were tersely told "this is not our best room". No apologies, etc. Why did we book in advance to be given "not the best room"?

What did we like about the motel:
- it was affordable
- it had a working fridge
- it was close to some nearby shops e.g. McDonald's

Needless to say, for an extra couple dollars a night, we checked into Canada's Best Value Inn motel down the street and were pleased to step into one of the cleanest motels I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask "is this your best room"?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessvictim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Colborne hotels

Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We were given what the owner advised was "not our best room" since we had our dog with us. Yep, they were right. Definitely worn and dated, mirror over bathroom sink was missing. But all in all it seemed clean enough - not spotless but for one night it was ok. Price was right anyway!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

$50 bucks a night, but you get what you pay for. Everything was completely out dated, towels were paper thin and the sheets had stains on them! Thankfully I brought my own sheets! It reminded me of a motel from a horror movie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonGirl5819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We just happened to drive by and the Seaway Motel looked like a decent motel, compared to the two around it. We were pleasantly surprised, as the price was reasonable and the room was one of the cleanest motel rooms we have stayed at.

Often motels have a 20-years past their prime feeling, but this one seemed better to us, and some elements in the bathroom had obviously been modernized.

I recommend this for anyone staying in the area.

  • Liked — Reasonable price
  • Disliked — Could still use more modernization
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank newfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

Our family stayed here in the summer of 2004. It was the last night of a two week trip and by far the worst hotel of the trip. The "suite" was not too sweet. The room had 2 beds and both were terrible. Each matress was thin (springs below were easily felt) and the slanted towards the middle of the bed. (You had to hang on to the edge to avoid ending up in the middle.) The house immediately behind the hotel room was hosting an active pool party which lasted until the early morning hours. We spent the night waiting for the sun to rise so we could leave.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank jam2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Colborne hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Night Motel
Good Night Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Colborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canalside Restaurant, Inn & Kitchen Store
0.1 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#3 of 4 in Port Colborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Talwood Manor B&B
Talwood Manor B&B
#1 of 4 in Port Colborne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sherkston Inn
Sherkston Inn
#2 of 2 in Sherkston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sherkston Shores
Sherkston Shores
#1 of 2 in Sherkston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Motel

Property: Seaway Motel
Address: 3-650 Main St W RR 2, Port Colborne, Ontario L3K 5V4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Colborne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port Colborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaway Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seaway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaway Motel Port Colborne, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing