We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for the buck.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Port Elgin
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

This is one of the older motels on the strip. It's well kept and clean but, being an ex-smoker, I could faintly detect the odor of 'old smoke' in the room/hallway. However, it's not a deal breaker when you consider the price is about 75% less than what the newer chains are charging.

Staff is friendly, service excellent. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

Great for family stay with indoor pool & hot tub for those rainy days.
Clean rooms.....the courtyard (south parking) rooms are smaller than the North ones/ garden side. They have antique shop in the lobby stuffed with variety of items & tastes.
The onsite restaurant offers good breakfast for reasonable price.

across the street from Gian Tiger store & LCBO. Walk to McDonald, Subway, KFC, Wal-Mart & Canadian Tire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llove2Travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We love staying at the Colonial,the staff and the owners are all very nice people and they treat you like family.The rooms and the grounds are keep very clean and it shows.We love the indoor salt water pool and hot tub.They have two barbecues for the guest we take advantage of that.They have WiFi in all the rooms that works very good.The restaurant is a great way to start your day very good food at good prices,the staff are all very nice people.We like the location close to the mall,restaurants,and best of all the Beach.When in Port Elgin this is the place too stay we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Well located, close to restaurants, shops and beaches. Nice pool and hot tub. Refrigerator, microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealLoulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Staff and management was more than accommodating. I would recommend them whole heartedly. Clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jojo2011499289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a family owned hotel and is very very clean. This motel is in an excellent location.
Lots of restaurants within a really short walking distance. The beautiful beach is about a mile - 2miles away. Two doors down is a new restaurant called Union Burger... excellent homemade burgers and homemade fries as well as other entrees. Crabby Joes is right next door to the Union burger. There is a subway next door on the other side, New Orleans Pizza as well as McDonalds across the street as well as a really nice Giant Tiger, LCBO and Canadian Tire. At the motel there is a salt water indoor swimmming pool as well as a hot tub. A BBQ and pinic table is provided
for guest use. We have stayed at this motel over the years numerous times. The owners are very nice and accomodating. There is a restaurant right at the hotel for breakfast and lunch which is also very handy. In Port Elgin you can take a taxi anywhere for a flat rate of ten dollars each way. We called Wolfies taxi ... give them a howl hahaha
Lord Elgin fish and chips ( also within walking distance is the best ... a must to try.
We ordered the halibut and the fries are fresh cut. On Wednesday there is a flea market held on the Port Elgin main beach.

In closing, I really recommend the Colonial motel. You will have no regrets whatsoever.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank schken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

staff very cold and un-accomadating, rooms are like something out of the 80's, very old not cozy at all, they have diplorable housekeeping, bedding was a dirty grey in color and extremely wrinkled sheets, bathroom was old, chipped tiles on floor and black mould growing in the bath tub grouting. The indoor pool was horrific, the spa water was green and the liner of the pool was edged with black dirt, no satelliete tv, no internet connection and very expensive for what you get, and oh yes, the lamps in the rooms were all rusty and some didnt even work...this place needs a complete make over to bring it up to par with the 20th century

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommyboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
36 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Walkerton Hotel & Conference Centre
20.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
20.2 mi away
Sutton Park Inn
Sutton Park Inn
#6 of 7 in Kincardine
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Port Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Port Elgin

Address: 235 Goderich St, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Port Elgin 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Port Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Port Elgin Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing