We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelodge Port Elgin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maplewood Motel(Port Elgin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Seasons Motel(Port Elgin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Court Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Manor Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
Huron Haven Motel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Southampton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
22
37
16
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
37
16
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantique shopattached restauranthot tubthe salt water poolroom was cleanfast servicereception areanice weekendlate checkfront desk staffwi fiwould stay againcolonialmotelmicrowavepillowselgin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was ok ,the rooms are clean, loved the closeness to the beach, did not like the salt water pool, the breakfast menu is good and the staff are nice, all in all it was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed at the Colonial because we needed to do some demolition to our cottage in Sauble Beach. We booked 3 rooms in the newer section and found them to be very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful as well. We took advantage of the pool and were the only ones taking advantage of it. Overall - it was a good place to stay in the middle of winter and looked after our needs at the time.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the newly renovated rooms that were accessible only from the interior as opposed to the older rooms which were accessed directly from the parking lot.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This is a clean, safe, standard motel with no frills. Price range was moderate to high for a motel (approx $150/night with 2 double beds). However, you're paying for high season in Port Elgin (beaches are beautiful) and great customer service. Overall, I felt it was worth the peace of mind. Although not really a "frill", don't forget that there is great coffee at the breakfast cafe in the morning, which was included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB_7783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great place to stay. Our family booked 4 rooms and all of enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful when we got there (but rude and confusing though when we inquired by email about room availability. If you can, better to just call and save the aggravation.) The bathrooms are newly renovated and really nice. The rooms are quiet and clean. Carpet is a bit out dated, but seemed clean. All of our rooms had a little bar fridge which was perfect for storing our sons formula, but only some of the rooms had a microwave. The pool was a bit cool, The pool and pool area could use a good cleaning, but other wise not too bad. Breakfast was delicious, hot and quick with excellent prices. Most items, including combos were under $10.00. Only issue at breakfast, was the high-chairs are sticky and need a good cleaning, Overall great location and easy to get to stores or restaurants (many within walking distance) I look forward to staying next year when we take our family trip again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I had never stayed in Port Elgin so we chose the Colonial because of past good reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the room very clean and the bed comfortable. We had a nice refreshing dip in the pool after a warm day of travelling. Staff gave us a lots of towels for the pool. The best part was we found the room very quiet even though the motel was full of guests. The restaurant attached, the Sunrise Cafe was super busy the next morning but our server was very friendly and our meal was presented quickly and our coffee cups were always full. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews