We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Castle Suites Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and great value”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

If you can get past the 70's decor and "classic" appliances, you'll enjoy a very clean room with a great functional kitchen. This motel is very well run and you can tell there is a pride of ownership. BBQs are available outside and the location is perfect as a base to Port Elgin's southern beach (Hwy 25). Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveller_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
4
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with the living room and full kitchen on the 2nd floor. It was a very good value for a suite that had everything we needed and was clean. Beds were new and very comfortable pillow tops. Kitchen came fully equipped and the living room was comfortable as well. Staff were friendly and very hospitable. I would stay here again while in Port Elgin. Good spot for the the family to use as a base to visit area beaches and attractions. Could use some improvements to the bathroom fans and AC units but all in all a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed overnight for a family function, and needed space for 4 adults and 1 baby. We had originally booked the 2 bedroom suite, but when we arrived, the manager was very kind and showed us several suite options. We ended up booking the 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and sitting area. One of the bedrooms had a queen bed, and the other had 2 double beds. The kitchen was fully stocked with a full oven, full fridge, dishes, microwave, kettle, and full sink. This worked great for our short stay, and there was plenty of room. The shower/bath looked like it had been recently upgraded and the water pressure and heat was fantastic. The rest of the room decor was dated, but if you're just looking for a clean, safe place to stay, I would recommend this motel. Don't go expecting the Hilton, but for the space that you get it's a great deal.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with several people, ask for the 2 bedroom suite with full kitchen and sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinydawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice Weekend coming up? then decide at the last minute to call up Sand Castle for a weekend stay. Will enjoy the having a hotel room that has two separate rooms with the beds in and still a little cozy couch, coffee table, end table and TV section to watch the news while others are sleeping. Make a cup of tea in the kitchenette. Rooms are like a little bachelor apartment and a must for a family. The backyard was also available for the kids to walk around while you drink your coffee at the picnic table. Hosts are wonderful people and the building is accommodating for a homey comfortable stay to enjoy the town and beach. If you are used to being catered, pampered and Ritz'd then need to stay there not here. This is for those people who are thankful for a nice cozy place to put their feet up and sleep in a comfortable bed..

Room Tip: I was in the basement near the backyard and found it convenient and away from other guests who didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macphersie3424186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We decided to book at Sand Castle Motel because of the the apartment style suites. Upon entering the place, there was a funky moldy-like odour mixed with plug-in deodorizer smell. Most of all, we couldn't help seeing how dated the motel was. The hallways had minimal lighting with the bad odour lingering there.

We had the 1 Bedroom Deluxe suite which included a full kitchen (full refrigerator, 70s style stove, utensils, dishes, glassware, a few cookware) with a Queen bed. The bed was the bonus because it was very very comfortable. The bedroom included a noisy air conditioner box and a tiny CRT tv in the corner.

In the living room, there was a 70s style couch with a CRT tv in a huge cabinet. There was a non-working thermostat. Thus, the A/C or heating didn't travel to the living room.

The bathroom had the most annoying and very noisy fan we had ever heard! The water pressure was so-so with a very dated shower faucet.

Despite the old school facilities, the room was clean and the Wi-Fi worked well.

We didn't like the blatant note above the kitchen sink that if we didn't clean the dishes and put them away, we would be charged $12 extra on our credit card. If we didn't feel like cleaning the kitchen, management advised us to leave a $10 bill for the housekeeping.

Mainly, we stayed here as an overnight stopover. If you can get over the funky odour and dated decor, the place is ideal if you just want the basics plus a little homey comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cashmere773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Elgin hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Bob showed us several suites available. We chose the one that suited our family needs. The apartment style suite was perfect. The beds were comfortable. Very clean and affordable. The kitchen and living room were nicely decorated and fulfilled our needs. Nice to have a full size fridge with two teenage boys. Each room had its own tv. The back yard was huge with a nice gazebo lotts of bbq's for guests. Horseshoe pits, badminton, picnic tables. All shopping within walking distance. We will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCookOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Sand Castle. The facility is older but the owners have been doing work to update. The important thing to us was that it was clean since we were only there to sleep. The balance of our time was on the beach and touring around. You could spend more at surrounding establishments, but not really get more. We would return.

Room Tip: If you be having people visit, consider the two bedroom suite with the seperate living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDD0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
35 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sauble Beach Lodge
Sauble Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Sauble Beach
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
523 reviews
20.2 mi away
Sutton Park Inn
Sutton Park Inn
#5 of 7 in Kincardine
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Port Elgin
Travelodge Port Elgin
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Suites Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Suites Motel

Property: Sand Castle Suites Motel
Address: 217 Goderich St, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Port Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Suites Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the golf courses and the beautiful sunsets!The Sand Castle Motel offers 1 and 2 bedroom apartment style Suites Each Suite is furnished with fully equipped kitchens, separate bedrooms, 4 piece. baths and large living rooms. Most of the units have recently been renovated. Yes, we do have cable colour TV in all the units. The Sand Castle Motel is located within easy distance to all your favourite activities, such as the shopping across the street or to the shops located downtown. Many of the local restaurants will deliver food to the motel or you just may want to take a stroll and dine out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sand Castle Suites Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Suites Motel Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing