We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home...”
Review of Silken Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Elgin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silken Retreat
Ranked #1 of 7 Port Elgin B&B and Inns
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from Home...”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Silken Retreat we knew we were going to fall in love with this beautiful historic home that was converted to a B&B. Priscilla & Ken the owners made us feel right at home. Our room was the McClung suite and upon entering it realized that we were going to have an incredible visit. My husband & I quickly sunk into the most comfortable king size mattress and I have to say it was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in!! The room is quaintly furnished and we fell in love with the modern appeal of the granite counter tops in the bathroom...which is incredibly spacious. It is also equipped with a jacuzzi tub which was a nice added bonus and 2 white linen robes are provided as well with ample towels.

For breakfast we were served a full course meal complete with fresh homemade banana bread & fruit smoothies, homemade waffles with fresh fruit & whip cream and the most amazing coffee served in their beautifully appointed dining room. After breakfast it was nice to sit out on the porch & relax in their comfy wicker rocking chairs...and just daydream. The grounds are immaculate and also offer many seating spots to wander or just sit and relax.

There is also a beautiful balcony on the second floor that you can sit out after brewing your coffee in the Keurig that is available upstairs. The B&B is conveniently located so that it is accessible to walk to the beach or walk to the quaint little shops in the downtown area.

This was our second visit to the Silken Retreat & upon arrival for our 27th Anniversary celebration were greeted to a beautiful bottle of wine, wine glasses, long stem rose & a beautiful hand written note from Priscilla & Ken...so incredibly thoughtful and very touching! This is why I would highly recommend this B&B...the hospitality is tremendous and we will continue to visit on a regular basis!

Thank you Priscilla & Ken for making us feel completely at home :)

Room Tip: Stay in the McClung suite...the bed is AMAZING!! And the bathroom is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelynp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
41
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belle River, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This B&B was full of charm and character. There was a Keurig available for coffee and tea anytime. Having the second floor balcony is nice for the warm weather. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I loved the scent of lilac is you walk on to the front porch. Loved the Victorian decor. Bed was comfy. Priscilla make the most amazing breakfast. My favorite part was the chocolate dipping sauce with the fruit (yummy)! We were staying in Port Elgin because of a wedding. Turns out the Bride and Groom were also staying at the Silken Retreat. When we got home, there were rose petals from the top of the stairs and down the hall towards the Bride and Grooms room. Nice Touch. Also was told that there was a heart made of rose petals on their bed and flameless candles for when they got in. Would definitely stay there again if we are going to Port Elgin and would recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnarpDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our room was great, jetted tub, double sinks, everything you could need was there. Breakfast was perfect and the coffee always available. Keurig available on our floor for anytime use. Near to the beach and all the shops and restaurants of Port Elgin. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the renovations to this beautiful home were most tastefully done. Thanks Priscilla for a great experience. Peter and Diane.

Room Tip: We were in the McClung room but viewed the other suites which were equally charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterbregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The house: renovated old charm with new amenities. The bed (we were in the King) was the most comfortable ever! Our hostess, Priscilla; charming, helpful, friendly and a great cook, the location; perfect, near the main street but quiet, close to the beach, breakfast was not only delicious but the presentation (fruit with chocolate sauce for breakfast? Mmm) was 5 star. Would we go again? In a heartbeat. You will love it!

Room Tip: We slept in the big bed but saw the other rooms, they're all gorgeous. You won't be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanna123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Such a stunning building. After 5 years of renovations, they did absolute wonders with this house! Priscilla was telling us all about the various work they did, and how detailed the work was!
But enough about the architecture.
The rooms were amazing, the bed - one of the most comfortable I've slept on, and the bathrooms made me feel like I had my own private spa!
Priscilla made us amazing french toast for breakfast on the first day, with her own home-made raspberry sauce.
I really could gush for another page...but I think you get my drift.

Room Tip: They're all amazing...you won't be let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghanIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were amazed at all the details in the house and it is very charming too. Breakfast was excellent.The hosts were very personable and was able to tell us so much about the house and its history as well as some of the attractions in Port Elgin.
I am sure we will be back again!

Room Tip: all rooms have a buffer between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 69duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We recently stayed at Silken Retreat and enjoyed every minute of it. The property and home have been lovingly restored and decorated. Priscilla and Ken have thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and welcoming. The breakfasts are delicious and well presented in the lovely dining room. Our bed and bath were impeccably clean and bright. The queen size bed was comfortable and the private bath modern and well appointed. We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front corner of the home and it was bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elgin
0.5 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
33 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windspire Inn
Windspire Inn
#3 of 7 in Port Elgin
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Port Elgin
Super 8 Port Elgin
#1 of 6 in Port Elgin
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Port Elgin
Travelodge Port Elgin
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sand Castle Suites Motel
Sand Castle Suites Motel
#5 of 6 in Port Elgin
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Retreat

Property: Silken Retreat
Address: 570 Johnston Ave, Port Elgin, Ontario N0H 2C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Port Elgin
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Port Elgin
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Silken Retreat Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing