We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Budget Inn(Port Hope)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Motel(Cobourg)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Liberty Inn(Bowmanville)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
98
36
10
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
36
10
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomthe ownerbank vaultcasablanca themecrab cakesmy dadthe main streetyorkshire puddinggreat getawaycouples packagetroutpatecheese omeletshort walkcapitol theatrecharming hotelnice atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Back in 1997 my wife and I happened upon the Carlyle Inn while driving from Detroit to Montreal. What a delightful and quaint little place. Our traditionally decorated room was quite large as was the bathroom. On our way out we picked up a ceramic coffee mug to have as a memento and I have used the mug regularly for the past 17 years. Last month the mug broke. I wrote to the Carlyle to check if it was possible to obtain another one but since there are no more they sent me a medallion of the building. Thanks, Dave, for keeping our beautiful memories alive!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdenttSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Closes hopelessly early. Must get there for full menu by 7:45. Other better locations in Port Hope. Nice open conservatory type of dining area in the summer. There is a grand style dining room which is unique or bar dining with half a dozen tables. Good choices if you are staying in the guest bedrooms. Classic building in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We last stayed at this Inn when it was operating under a different name - Dr. Corbett's Inn. We were somewhat apprehensive...why had it changed it's name? Was it still as good as before? All questions began to be answered as we signed in. The gentleman who warmly welcomed us offered to help with the luggage and even returned with me to my car to help bring in the two cases of wine we had bought in the Niagara wine area. He showed us how everything in the room worked and left us to enjoy a few minutes before we went to the dining room. (See our separate review of that.) One can always tell more about a place when there is a problem. On flushing the toilette, water sprayed all over and then stopped, leaving a small pool on the floor. My wife went downstairs to inform the same man who came upstairs and immediately moved us to another room - with many apologies as we went a long. We later learned that it was a minor issue - one that was easily repaired - a clip came loose inside the tank. The repair was done before we have eaten our appetizer. So even if there had not been another room available, we would have been just fine. Oh yes, the kind gentleman who helped carry our luggage and dealt with the problems? He is the owner. And on checking out he helped take our luggage to the car and also helped us avoid the icy patches in the parking lot. We enjoyed our stay. The beds were comfortable, the decorating interesting, and everything was clean and modern.

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb. The food is highly recommended. The down-town area of Port Hope is not far away and offers a very good picture of early Ontario small-town architecture.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We found this gem while wandering through Port Hope. Although we were the only patrons, our hostess/server/tour guide, Alyssa was charming, sweet and attentive. The food was delicious and in fact the burger was the best that we'd had in a very long time. The wine list was varied and affordable and since we felt so welcome we stayed on into the afternoon longer than we had originally planned.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had such a lovely stay here for two nights. Dave, Jeannie and Allysa are wonderful hosts. Had a chance to look in all 10 of the rooms, they are spacious and uniquely appointed. Ensuites are basic but roomy and clean. I loved the architectural details of the building. There is bar and dining room on site, both were cosy and inviting. The food was so good we never felt any need to eat elsewhere. We enjoyed our chats with Allysa and Dave at the bar…Great Martinis Dave :) There are very nice wine selections and scotches too.
The location is fabulous, walking distance from the cute shops of downtown, liquor store, walking trails and the lake. We stayed in Room 6 which had 3 huge floor to ceiling windows, electric fireplace and comfy queen bed. Breakfast is included in your stay, it was lovely.
We came for a quick romantic getaway and enjoyed a very relaxing time. In fact we have a room booked here for the house tour next fall. I wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit before then either!

Thanks so much Dave and Allysa!

Vicki & Brian

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs and no elevator so if mobility is an issue, request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjmToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews