We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recomend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked into the Carlyle for the weekend for our anniversary. From first contact on the phone I knew this would be a great stay. Dave and his staff were wonderful hosts. Room was fabulous. Very clean and the whole building meticulously maintained. Quaint little bar formal dining room and the vault is great for a romantic dinner for two as my wife and I found out. Though we didn't visit the patio it seemed to be quite a popular place for the locals to dine. Highly recommend a stay at the Carlyle.

Room Tip: Check out the web page. All rooms available to view. Suite one has a big jet tub for two.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLQuinn390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

My son attends boarding school in Port Hope so my wife and I typically end up staying the night at least 4 or 5 times a year.

We used to stay at the Hill & Dale (which was operated by the same couple that now run the Carlyle but when they closed the Hill & Dale we started staying at the Carlyle). The rooms are great, the place is convenient to downtown Port Hope and it's only a few minutes drive to TCS. Add gracious hosts together with a pleasant restaurant with a decent wine list and what more could you want?

There's no fitness center or swimming pool but that's to be expected in a small place like this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Back in 1997 my wife and I happened upon the Carlyle Inn while driving from Detroit to Montreal. What a delightful and quaint little place. Our traditionally decorated room was quite large as was the bathroom. On our way out we picked up a ceramic coffee mug to have as a memento and I have used the mug regularly for the past 17 years. Last month the mug broke. I wrote to the Carlyle to check if it was possible to obtain another one but since there are no more they sent me a medallion of the building. Thanks, Dave, for keeping our beautiful memories alive!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdenttSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Closes hopelessly early. Must get there for full menu by 7:45. Other better locations in Port Hope. Nice open conservatory type of dining area in the summer. There is a grand style dining room which is unique or bar dining with half a dozen tables. Good choices if you are staying in the guest bedrooms. Classic building in a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We last stayed at this Inn when it was operating under a different name - Dr. Corbett's Inn. We were somewhat apprehensive...why had it changed it's name? Was it still as good as before? All questions began to be answered as we signed in. The gentleman who warmly welcomed us offered to help with the luggage and even returned with me to my car to help bring in the two cases of wine we had bought in the Niagara wine area. He showed us how everything in the room worked and left us to enjoy a few minutes before we went to the dining room. (See our separate review of that.) One can always tell more about a place when there is a problem. On flushing the toilette, water sprayed all over and then stopped, leaving a small pool on the floor. My wife went downstairs to inform the same man who came upstairs and immediately moved us to another room - with many apologies as we went a long. We later learned that it was a minor issue - one that was easily repaired - a clip came loose inside the tank. The repair was done before we have eaten our appetizer. So even if there had not been another room available, we would have been just fine. Oh yes, the kind gentleman who helped carry our luggage and dealt with the problems? He is the owner. And on checking out he helped take our luggage to the car and also helped us avoid the icy patches in the parking lot. We enjoyed our stay. The beds were comfortable, the decorating interesting, and everything was clean and modern.

Room Tip: There are stairs to climb. The food is highly recommended. The down-town area of Port Hope is not fa...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We found this gem while wandering through Port Hope. Although we were the only patrons, our hostess/server/tour guide, Alyssa was charming, sweet and attentive. The food was delicious and in fact the burger was the best that we'd had in a very long time. The wine list was varied and affordable and since we felt so welcome we stayed on into the afternoon longer than we had originally planned.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had such a lovely stay here for two nights. Dave, Jeannie and Allysa are wonderful hosts. Had a chance to look in all 10 of the rooms, they are spacious and uniquely appointed. Ensuites are basic but roomy and clean. I loved the architectural details of the building. There is bar and dining room on site, both were cosy and inviting. The food was so good we never felt any need to eat elsewhere. We enjoyed our chats with Allysa and Dave at the bar…Great Martinis Dave :) There are very nice wine selections and scotches too.
The location is fabulous, walking distance from the cute shops of downtown, liquor store, walking trails and the lake. We stayed in Room 6 which had 3 huge floor to ceiling windows, electric fireplace and comfy queen bed. Breakfast is included in your stay, it was lovely.
We came for a quick romantic getaway and enjoyed a very relaxing time. In fact we have a room booked here for the house tour next fall. I wouldn't hesitate to make a return visit before then either!

Thanks so much Dave and Allysa!

Vicki & Brian

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs and no elevator so if mobility is an issue, request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjmToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hope
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
149 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
108 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Waddell
The Waddell
#5 of 10 in Port Hope
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant

Address: 86 John St, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 2Z2, Canada (Formerly Carlyle Inn & Bistro)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hope
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant is a boutique hotel, with 10 spacious rooms, a fully licensed restaurant, lounge and seasonal patio. We are a minutes walking distance to the Capitol Theatre, Antique shops, Lake Ontario beach and specialty stores. Come and enjoy our friendly atmosphere, a stroll along the Waterfront Trail, shopping and antiquing, golf, great local yearly events and much much more. Located in the heart of historic downtown Port Hope, Hotel Carlyle has a rich history and a story for everyone. Originally built in 1857 as a branch of The Bank of Upper Canada, the building was purchased in 1882 by Dr. Robert A. Corbett who then converted it into his home and medical practice. In 1921, the Lingards established the Port Hope City Dairy on the premises and though the property passed through several other owners, the dairy remained until the late 1970's. Then, David and Jeanne Henderson then purchased the property in 1986, and later opened it as The Carlyle Restaurant, which grew to include a 10-room inn and an outdoor patio. The Carlyle continues to evolve and today it is being renewed and refreshed under new ownership as Hotel Carlyle & Restaurant. Come see for yourself what it means to honour the past and continue the tradition at Hotel Carlyle in Port Hope. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing