We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Port Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2 day stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I had a 2 day stay at the Plantation House at the beginning of July and didn't want to leave. The B & B is beautiful, the décor couldn't be more tasteful, and the property feels like a nature reserve. My room was on the main floor looking out onto the garden. The four poster bed totally comfy and the bathroom felt more like a spa. Nothing but peace and quiet and delicious breakfasts and evening dessert with tea. Rose, the owner was a most beautiful person and attentive to her guests every request. Love, love, love The Plantation House B & B!

Room Tip: Port Hope has many wonderful little shops and a fantastic 3 story antique mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindavpastandpresent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
76
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed there for her birthday. Rose is a "hostest with the mostest". She should right a book on how to properly operate a B&B. The nightly desert will be the most decident desert you will ever eat. Chocolate Truffle Cake and Earl Grey tea. The room is beautifully decorated and emaculate.Wait till you get into bed, you will not want to leave. The house is eligant in every way and breakfast was scrumsious. Thankyou Rose, see you soon.

Don and Jan

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor was fantastic with a walk out to the covered veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Oh yes we love to pamper our guests!
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you departed with positive memories and we look forward to your return. With our sincere appreciation of your business.

Regards, Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a delightful place. The grounds are lush and the accomodations just right. Our hostess was so very accomodating. We arrived early and were permitted to leave our car so that we could bicycle in the area. Breakfast was wonderful, and the dessert the night before? Amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daleb0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you departed with positive memories and we look forward to your return. With our sincere appreciation of your business.

Regards, Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stopped at the Plantation House B & B on our way back from Quebec City and what a treat it was. Even though we were a day early(our mistake), Rose was so gracious and welcomed us to her beautiful home. The decor was elegant, our room was comfortable; and everything was absolutely immaculate. We were treated to a terrific breakfast in the morning room together with all the personal touches and cheerful conversation. But the most memorable part of our visit was meeting Rose Meghie. She is wonderful lady and we only wish we had more time with her.

Tom and Kay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvishnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Owner at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you departed with positive memories and we look forward to your return. With our sincere appreciation of your business.

Regards, Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My partner and I just returned from an overnight to escape the GTA concrete jungle and loved every minute of it. We visited a lot of B&Bs in the three years that we have been together and this is definitely high up on the list!!! We were served homemade carrot cake and delightful cranberry cream tea. I am NOT a tea lover but this is herbal and I loved it so much that I also bought some to bring back as a treat for my mother. Rose's taste for fine things shows in all sorts of details such as Crabtree and Evelyn products in the bathrooms, honey pearls (crystalized honey) to sprinkle over greek yogourt and blueberry preserve, not to mention the unbelievable microfiber sheets of the king size sleigh bell.

From the slippers at the door to the waffled cotton bathrobes, there must be a lot of demand because to my delight, all those delightful products are available for sale.

In addition, breakfast was just perfect - I love when I feel satisfied but not like I cannot move anymore, and it happens often that owners are lovely and cook the best for you but it is often a little overboard.... Rose's fritatta was just the perfect size, the coffee was good and strong, and the preserves made locally.

As everyone else said, the grounds are also pristine. There are two very small trails around the house (go see the beaver dam!) and we were also close enough to Emily to take a one hour walk in Emily Tract, consisting in two one-kilometer trails that take you over a little creek, but also in the middle of a lovely forest full of cedar and red pine.

We would recommend this B&B to anyone and certainly would understand why someone wanting to have a chich, elegant but intimate wedding would choose this place to host it.

Room Tip: Back room has a king size sleigh bell, and make sure to ask Rose for her magic microfibre sheets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRNCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This B&B is a hidden treasure, the photos don't do it justice. The garden setting is magical and you're truly away from the outside world. The house is elegantly decorated and our room is spacious. There are three guests rooms in the house and two very nice bathrooms. Every guest has slippers and bathrobes to wear. The linens are luxurious! It's easy to sleep here to the sounds of rustling leaves and crickets.

The best part for us was Rose's gourmet breakfast. Wow! Three stunning courses and great coffee. The breakfast room was airy with beautiful views. The table setting made us feel like royalty. Just being here took all the stress away.

Above all, Rose is a great hostess and we loved our time with her. We hope to come back here soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our kids gave us a night at the Plantation house for our birthdays.This review has taken a wee while to submit as we have been very busy but here it is at last.
First of all, this is a great place and the owner,Rose, is an absolute gem. Right from the start when we put on our slippers at the door and to the next day when we left, she couldn't have been more helpful. The food is delicious. For breakfast we had salmon, fresh OJ and Greek yoghurt with honey and granola.

We will be back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellaleitch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hope
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Waddell
The Waddell
#6 of 10 in Port Hope
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Manor Bed & Breakfast and Tea Room
6.5 mi away
The Woodlawn Inn
The Woodlawn Inn
#1 of 7 in Cobourg
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 North St., Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plantation House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast located downtown Port Hope is a sweet excape,offering a combination of luxury and traditional hospitality unique to historical Port Hope. Our guestrooms are inspired by a sense of simple sophistication and sparsely decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques and designer furnishings chosen for their 'Island' flavour. Attention is paid to every detail to ensure the comfort of our guests. A sumptuous plate service breakfast which may consist of variety of individual quiches with field greens, can be enjoyed in the Sunroom, or seasonal, on the Porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Plantation House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing