We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rose is lovely as is her home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Port Hope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rose is lovely as is her home”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My first experience staying at a b&b, I will be doing this again. First off rose is lovely, the house is beautiful and spotless, my bed was big and comfy. But ohhhh the breakfast was amazing, there is no hotel that I have ever stayed at and I travel a LOT, that comes anywhere close to the cleanliness, service and delicious food.
Thank you Rose, I will be back.

Room Tip: This is a b&b so I'm sure any room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
78
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had stayed with Rose three time prior at the Bethany location and loved it.
Her new property in Port Hope is every bit as nice, and the warm hospitality & tasty meals keep us coming back.
In Port Hope there are many small stores and eateries. We attended an opera HD performance from the Met at the Capital. In the fall, we've been to Port Hope for the All Canadian Jazz Festival.
Destination is a quick get-away from Toronto, and again just a pleasure to share another visit with Rose at Plantation House.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan19B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Plantation house and were very pleasantly surprised. The owner prepared a delicious breakfast each morning, provided a very clean room and bath, and was warm and friendly. Her efforts to create a décor of class and warmth were evidenced by all the small details she carefully laid out. Should we return to Port Hope during warmer months, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Two rooms available: the upstairs room has a convenient en suite bathroom, while the downstairs bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaymanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtice, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Plantation House B&B is a beautiful relaxing place to stay. The house is beautifully decorated. The rooms are elegant and relaxing with luxurious beds. Port Hope is a quaint lovely town with many beautiful old homes and Plantation House is one of them. Tucked away in town surrounded with lovely gardens and peaceful property. It feels very welcoming to arrive there and Rose is a very gracious and genuine host. You immediately feel at ease and when she greets you. She makes your stay truly memorable. The bathrooms are beautiful and luxurious with plush towels and robes for your use. Wonderful bath products available. Having a shower felt like being at a spa. Rose serves amazing meals that are delicious and elegantly displayed. She is truly a gracious and genuine host. Plantation House is a beautiful relaxing retreat that I would recommend to all for their stay in Port Hope.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Port Hope was terrific! But the most memorable part is Rose's bed and breakfast. Breakfast was outstanding ( see photos--------the drink is a carrot smoothie to finish breakfast-----to die for! ).
Each evening was tea and a decadent dessert------Truffle Mousse and Carrot Cake for the two nights we were there. Rooms were good size and bed was excellent. Terrific B and B!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We just returned from a 2 night getaway at this B and B.
We have come to enjoy small hotels and quant inns but have stayed away from B and B's unsure of how we would like the lack of anonymity.
However, Rose put us at ease right away. She really is lovely. She was warm and friendly without making us feel awkward in her home. I wish she lived in my city and was my neighbor!

Both guest rooms face the back of the house. We chose the ground floor room mainly for the walkout to the deck and back garden. The sliding glass door and all the windows seemed to bring the outdoors in...nice!. The poster bed was comfortable. Nice end tables and lamps. There was a ceiling fan that was quiet and worked well. The TV got a variety of channels. The internet worked great. Bring a bedside clock from home if that is important to you.
There were 2 attractive leather wing chairs (personally, I thought having both of them in the room took up too much valuable floor space, but that is just me...). The room was a little smaller than I pictured but certainly cozy.
We had the bathroom off the living room (outside our room). It was private (we were the only users), It looked newly remodeled and spotless. The rain head in the shower was nice and we loved the big mirror. Plush towels!
Initially, I didn't think it would bother me not having an en-suite bath but after the 2 days I found myself "sneaking" to the bathroom so as not to run into Rose or other guests (although it never happened and wouldn't have been a problem if it did). It just felt a little funny for me.
We definitely want to return and will choose the upstairs room with en-suite next time.

The breakfasts were great. I am shocked that there would be any complaints, really. There was lots of food, good food...
Dessert each evening, what a treat! Chocolate mousse cake one night, carrot cake the next. Rose presented all of it graciously with a genuine smile and pleasant conversation.

The home was easy walking distance into town with lots of restaurants and some stores.
We drove the 10 minutes into Cobourg to walk along their nice beach.

It was a great few days, I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a B and B experience.

Room Tip: Both rooms have great beds, linens and furnishings. The ground floor room has more windows and dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamiltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay in Port Hope at Plantation House. The accommodations were superb, great beds, luxurious linens, ultra clean. Only a three hour trip from western New York, everyone in Port Hope was warm and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room upstairs was very comfortable with a gorgeous and spotless bathroom. We found the breakfasts to be delicious and the owner, Rose, did share that the quiche was purchased from a local bakery...no problem. Great desserts when we returned from dinner in the evenings. The owner took time to sit and chat with us. Rose may seem a little "stand off-ish" at first but is a lovely woman who goes out of her way to make sure you have a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would definitely return to Plantation House. (Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries an added plus.) Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Downstairs room does not have attached bathroom, may be undesirable to some, but OK if stairs are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onlythebest_10, Manager at Plantation House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and the follow up mailed Thank you card was the icing on the cake.
It is wonderful that you enjoyed Plantation House and beautiful Port Hope. It was a pleasure sharing our home with you both. Please come again and bring some of your friends from Hamburg USA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hope
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Port Hope
Comfort Inn Port Hope
#2 of 2 in Port Hope
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
Budget Inn
#1 of 2 in Port Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cobourg Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Cobourg
Comfort Inn Cobourg
#3 of 6 in Cobourg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summerhill Manor Bed & Breakfast and Tea Room
0.4 mi away
The Waddell
The Waddell
#5 of 10 in Port Hope
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plantation House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 North St, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 1T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Hope
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plantation House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation House Bed and Breakfast located downtown Port Hope is a sweet excape,offering a combination of luxury and traditional hospitality unique to historical Port Hope. Our guestrooms are inspired by a sense of simple sophistication and sparsely decorated with an eclectic mix of antiques and designer furnishings chosen for their 'Island' flavour. Attention is paid to every detail to ensure the comfort of our guests. A sumptuous plate service breakfast which may consist of variety of individual quiches with field greens, can be enjoyed in the Sunroom, or seasonal, on the Porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Plantation House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing