We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get up at 2.30 a.m. in order to fit all activities into the schedule” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tornado's Canadian Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tornado's Canadian Resorts
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get up at 2.30 a.m. in order to fit all activities into the schedule”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is not hard for me to think of reasons to return to Tornado’s Motel and Cottages, and as much as I am an old pro for doing down time in cottage country:
1. The welcoming collection of pine trees that is a few stories tall at the entrance,
2. The driveway that takes us a few minutes to get through cleansing us instantly from what we want to leave behind (at least while we are on vacation),
3. The warm reception from the always cheerful Lidina (and her crew), who shared a jovial and yet philosophical statement that nobody at the cottage should be busy except the staff,
4. The delicious meal prepared by their handsome chef who looks like our adorable Josh Groban,
5. The country style setting both indoors and outdoors, bringing us city people right back to the embrace of nature,
6. The super clean room saved me from having to use my own sanitizers which I often do otherwise,
7. The relatively scenic, quiet and spacious family of lakes that are easily accessible by water,
8. The key-free rooms reinforcing the sense of safety,
9. The range of activities and prices accommodating visitors of diverse budgets and interests,
10. Within driving distance from fascinating landmarks, like North Bay’s park by Lake Nipissing, Killbear Provincial Park,
11. Waking up at 2.30 in the morning to finish the books that I signed out from Tornado’s small but yet very interesting collection and as I winded down from my busy schedule of outdoor functions at and close to Tornado’s.

If I have any suggestions, these would be: Staff gives a gentle reminder to visitors who get carried after midnight to enjoy themselves without compromising certain fellow visitors' comfort level; complete plan for providing daily room service to the motel without being prompted. However, the rooms for improvement are not criticisms. They are meant to be words of encouragement for the dedicated and hospitable staff to sustain their commendable service.

Room Tip: If you stay in the motel: Ask to stay in room 1 as it is one of the few rooms with windows on three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Settlers Lodge. Wonderful accomodation with comfortable bed, large room, and 4 piece bath. There is a lounge area with nice fireplace and kitchen and dining room. Want to return with lots of friends and book all the rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Recently stayed at Tornado's for the first time while on a snowmobile trip through the area. Although we arrived much later than originally planned we we received a warm welcome. We chose a meal plan that included dinner that night and breakfast the next morning before we left. Both were good we certainly didn't leave hungry. We were able to sit and relax by the fire before heading off to bed. Our room was comfortable and quiet even with others in the building. Bottom line is that I would stay again when in the area.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I've been traveling to Smoky Lake via Tornado's Resorts for over twenty years. Martin and his family do all they can to make sure their guests are happy and are enjoying their time, and the staff is a joy to be around.

Smoky Lake and the surrounding areas offer fantastic fishing, as well as stunning beauty. The accommodations on Smoky Island range from rustic-style cabins to the luxurious log home. One of my favorite ways to spend a day involves fishing in the surrounding lakes, with a break for a shore lunch. It is also possible to reach more remote lakes by a short portage. There is the opportunity to enjoy hiking, but even just quiet walk around the island early in the morning allows the opportunity to see the abundant wildlife in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepItSimple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent a week here fishing and visiting with friends. The property is very nice and well kept. Areas to sit and read, places to fish from, and even a small beach. The kids had a blast.
The fishing was not quite legendary BUT I will claim operator error, not the fault of the lodge.
The cottages were okay, nothing stylish but certainly usable...remember this is an outdoor adventure!
Staff was very nice and friendly too.

Room Tip: Really the cabins are all different so it depends on the number of people you have. They all seem re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Loring
16.7 mi away
Wolseley Lodge
Wolseley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Noelville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tornado's Canadian Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tornado's Canadian Resorts

Property: Tornado's Canadian Resorts
Address: 14243 Highway 522, Port Loring, Ontario P0H 1Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Port Loring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Port Loring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tornado's Canadian Resorts is a vacation & fishing resort on the Pickerel River system just 3.5 h north of Toronto. There are two, three and five bedroom housekeeping waterfront cottages available. Nicely refurbished motel rooms on site. Fly-in full service meal plan or housekeeping outposts. Licensed restaurant & lounge. Winter packages with sauna & hot tub. Easily accessible via Highway 522 or snowmobile trail AR501. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tornado's Canadian Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing