We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~Awesome food & great staff/owner~”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake's Place Restaurant
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“~Awesome food & great staff/owner~”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I got a note last night from my husband who is snowmobiling around Algonquin park with his dad, brother and friend that he would like me to write a review on this place. The reason is the owner, was so unbelievably helpful and very kind and on top of all of that the food at his restaurant was amazing! One of the best restaurants they have had dinner at in a long time!
His brother's snowmobile broke down and the owner of Jake's took 3 hours out of his day to help them get it fixed! They want to send a big thank-you!
Also they all really enjoyed their meals, awesome food is the note i got from them!

Thank-you!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Roast Beef”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stopped in for dinner. Service was great and so was the food. We had one of their home made pies- Raspberry- Apple Bid slice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kturnerandassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had the opportunity to visit Port Loring recently and to compliment the scenic fall drive on Hwy 522 through the region I had a great meal at Jake' Place Restaurant. What made the meal great, pickerel dinner, a "Delicious Comfort" was that it was cooked perfect - it was a fillet with a lightly coated, crisp, coating rather than a hunk of beer batter over a minnow size fillet - yes we have all had that dirty fish and chip experience. So what drove home the comfort not only did I get coleslaw (freshly made) but a side of broccoli and cauliflower with cheese sauce - reminded me of being a kid and mom fighting with me to eat my veg - finally giving in and putting sauce on it. Another pleasant surprise the restaurant had plenty of booths - I love the comfort and privacy of eating meals in a booth especially when I am scarfing down broccoli and cheese sauce!

Overall a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesmurphy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Loring, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fave Place to Eat”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This is my go to place to eat in Port Loring. Friendly service, great food, and funny jokes on the menu. No visit to Port Loring is complete without a meal at Jakes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tastes like home.”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Breakfast at Jake's has become a tradition following a night of over-indulging at the lake and never disappoints. Between Lynn's perfect eggs, constantly flowing, fresh coffee, Jake's booming laugh & Cindy knowing what we want before we do, Jake's is a stop we never fail to make when in Port Loring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meanhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jake's Place Restaurant also viewed

Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
 
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
Port Loring, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Jake's Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing