We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good place to stay...”
Review of Ridgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgetown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was spending a weekend in southwestern Ontario in August 2012 with a couple friends, and we ended up staying at this motel off Highway 401 just outside of Ridgetown. I didn't book the room, so I can't talk about the reservation experience, but I can say that this place was old and in need of major renovations. (It was kinda dumpy.)

When we first pulled in (around 8:30 on a Saturday evening), the parking lot looked pretty empty and you could tell very few people were staying here. When we walked in, the front desk attendant was not at the desk so we had to ring the bell to get him to emerge from his back office area. The check-in process was quick, but there was a misunderstanding about the key. This motel is one of those places where you can park right outside your door, but there's also an interior hallway you can walk through to get to the front desk, pool, breakfast area, and so on. With the front desk attendant's thick accent, I didn't understand him when he'd told us that the key would not work from the outside. So we had to go in the lobby and through the interior hallway to check into the room. Not a huge deal, but still, it would have been better if the key had worked from the outside.

When we walked into the room, we could tell it was old and not that great. There used to be an air conditioning unit on the wall, but they never repainted the wall after they removed the unit to match the rest of the paint. It looked really tacky. The carpet looked old, and the light bulbs on the wall above the nightstand did not work. The toilet and shower are in a separate room from the sink and counter space, but for some reason, the light switch in the toilet/shower room did not work. To turn on the light in there, you had to use the same switch for the outer part of the bathroom (counter/sink).

Another issue with the motel was that the pool and hot tub were closed. I don't know if they were cleaning or making repairs to it, but we could not use them. The free continental breakfast was a joke. All they had was cereal that looked stale, maybe a couple bagels, and juice. Not very appetizing at all. Instead, we ended up eating dinner at the separate restaurant that's attached to the motel.

The only redeeming quality of this motel was that the bed was fairly comfortable even though it was old. I didn't sleep very well, but that's probably just because I had a lot on my mind and didn't have anything to do with the comfort of the bed.

In general, we were not impressed. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank New_friends_GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for your review. We are currently under large renovations which include complete changes in carpet, change of Heating/Cooling units with high efficiency units. Due to the removal of the original AC we have been enclosing the these areas with drywall and hence are in the process of sanding and repainting. The surface of the pool bubbled and caused the liner to balloon, this has been fixed and pool will be restarting by Monday August 27th. There is a new locking system that has been applied to all door locks, we have completed reprogramming for all interior doors and are in the process of reprogramming the exterior doors. This is a lengthy process and we have been required to order parts for certain door lock systems which are delivered in from Texas.

Our cleaning staff is very efficient and there is a structured monitoring process, it is possible that some area may have been overlooked. On behalf of management we do apologize for this inconvenience and the issue has been brought to the attention of those responsible. The renovation process has been a lengthy process but we are nearing our goal. Expect to see lots of improvements in the upcoming weeks and again apologize for this improvement period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 119 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights since there were no B&Bs available. Our group would not stay at this place again.The beds were comfortable but they need to improve their housekeeping. Not only were the carpets badly soiled,but there was dirt and dust on the carpets. One would not want to walk on the carpets with their bare feet. Beds were not made after the first night and nothing was done to the room except emptying the garbage.
Breakfast was to be provided but there was not coffee or hot water for tea and the milk was just sitting on the counter.It was not being kept cool.There was no one keeping an eye on things.Very unappealing to eat there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chirpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter A, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We value the opinions of our guest and take them very seriously. We are new management at this location as of January 25th, 2012. There have been teams running since mid March for 7 days a week to renovate this property, houskeeping and general maintenance. As there has been a history off development and construction in the area and on Hwy 401, we have a high volume of contractors staying at our facility over the years. Although the carpet is not very old, we are aware of a few rooms that have tar stains at the entrance of the outside door. Arrangements to have all carpets changed is already in the works but only 2-4 rooms per week are changed as volume at our location restricts from moving any quicker. Every single room is cleaned based on a checklist that each housekeeping staff must adhere to. The second level of this goes with an inspection from room to room by our assistant manager who thoroughly checks against this list and any other maintenance requirements. Both the senior housekeeper and assistant manager sign off on each room before it is available to the next guest.

I have made a note for your stay over in which case your room was not tended to and have included new requirements on housekeeping to mandate a courtesy call to all our extended stay customers on a daily basis to ensure no rooms are missed especially during busy periods. In this case what might have happened is due to the high volume per day for the past month, housekeeping has been focusing on preparing each room and leaving extended stay rooms for last. We will reverse this order or coordinate an appropriate time to first reach our extended stay customers during housekeeping hours.

When our hotel rooms are nearly full, the breakfast area can get messy and my apologies for someone not tending to the breakfast area as needed. I have made the appropriate notes and action will be taken to improve our guest experience accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

.Stayed one night on business, found room and service to be excellent. Plenty of ample parking allowing for easy access to the room. Would definately recommend it for all business travellers through the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at this property when my daughter had to write an entrance exam for the Ridgetown Campus of the University of Guelph. The hotel is getting old and worn. It's in need of a good renovation. But the beds were comfortable and everything in the room worked. It was very inexpensive so we got what we paid for. The new manager was very polite and accommodating. The staff was pleasant and I could see they were working hard. Nobody was standing around. The breakfast was poor, not much of anything. We went to Tim Hortons. If you need an inexpensive place to sleep and don't need much in the way of amenities, this property will work.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savytraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Chatham
Comfort Inn Chatham
#3 of 10 in Chatham
36 reviews
14.3 mi away
Super 8 Chatham
Super 8 Chatham
#9 of 10 in Chatham
276 reviews
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
17.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham
Travelodge Chatham
#4 of 10 in Chatham
256 reviews
14.2 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetown Inn

Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Ridgetown)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Ridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgetown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ridgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing