We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and accessible”
Review of Ridgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ridgetown Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely little motel/hotel just off 401 near Ridgetown, Ontario. Rooms are comfortable and quiet, all amenities fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron/ironing board....beds are great and A/C works really well. Pool very handy because everything is on the main floor, and breakfast is included with your stay...new restaurant just opened food was very good.

Room Tip: there areinside/ outside access rooms along the front so you can unload your car right at your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... R, General Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your recognition and support for the hard work our team puts into our location on a daily basis. Reviews are printed and posted for our team to review, positive reviews such as yours inspire our staff to work that much harder and gives them the motivation from being recognized for their efforts. We thank you for your support and look forward to having you back the next time your in the Chatham Kent area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I realize that this is an OLDER venue in a value chain. The building and trappings are old and tired. The rooms are reasonably kept and the bathroom was spotless. The continental breakfast was better then many value level properties that I have stayed at. On my 2nd morning, I awoke to no hot water. Their maintenance contractor worked throughout the night but was unable to solve the issue by morning. Due to a family emergency and work issues, I could not stay long enough to shower when the problem got fixed. The manager was kind enough to provide me with a partial refund.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we apologize for the inconvenience but the matter was out of our hands. We did our best to call our HVAC repairman who got our boilers up and running during late hours the previous day, in the morning our staff discovered that the problem had not gone away. We did our best to get someone in immediately in the morning but it did take time for the technician to make the repair a permanent fix. These are new boilers that have worked flawlessly.

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Generally, a pleasant experience overall. The desk staff person was pleasant, efficient and knowledgeable. The housekeeping and facilities maintenance could stand a bit of an upgrade, though. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your review. If there were any issues regarding maintenance or housekeeping with your room, please contact me so I can address this issue with our inspectors. Please feel free to call or email me so we can look into this issue further.

Email: info@hojoridgetown.com
tel: 519-674-5454

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Serge G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed hear after visit to Rondeau Provincial Park. Good location near Highway 401 and two miles from Ridgetown. Property very clean and well maintained. Had a very good retro feeling with older but well cared for furniture and a clean, comfy bed. Tuscany restaraunt is attached and serves the included breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your support. We appreciate greatly your positive review. It is the appreciation of our guests which continues to give us the strength to bring back history with a fresh and modern look. Our house keeping team is very dedicated to providing the quality each stay deserves and we intend to continue this level. On behalf of our Howard Johnson Ridgetown team we thank you for taking the time to write this review and look forward to your future stays at our facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel has changed hands over the years but during the past 2-3 years, many upgrades to the rooms have been made. Years ago, I called it a dive, but now I would say it it a very nice hotel along the 401 that any traveler should be comfortable with. I have stayed at this hotel over the years because it is closest to cometary where my parents are buried. This hotel has had several managers, and this one seems to be a winner, as evidenced by the room standards and the hot breakfast that comes included with the meal

Room Tip: Best wi-fi connection is closer to office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... R, Manager at Ridgetown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that our ongoing customers are seeing all the changes our team at Howard Johnson Ridgetown have made. We continue to work hard by offering quality rooms and take pride in what we can offer to our guests. Thank you for this recognition.

Peter
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgetown
14.9 mi away
Retro Suites Hotel
Retro Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Chatham
452 reviews
16.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chatham South
14.2 mi away
Saxony Motel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgetown Inn

Address: 21198 Victoria Rd, Ridgetown, Chatham-Kent, Ontario N0P 2C0, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Ridgetown)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Chatham-Kent > Ridgetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ridgetown
Price Range: £48 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ridgetown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ridgetown Inn Features:- Located just off the 401 just outside of a small agricultural town (Ridgetown) Ridgetown Inn is a simple Country Inn. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is inclued, high speed internet, heated indoor pool, indoor racquetball court, and more is on site. Close to Rondeau Provincial Park, OLG Slots and Erieau Beach- Microwave and Fridge in all rooms- Free Local and Long Distance Calls- Conveniently located off Hwy 401, Exit 109. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Ridgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ridgetown Hotel Ridgetown
Econo Lodge Ridgetown
Ridgetown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing