We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Great Location, Friendly Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Huron Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Huron Haven Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton
Saugeen Shores
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Location, Friendly Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have stayed here a few times when visiting friends at local cottages or attending events. The location is great at the foot of main street and very close to the beach. It's a 2 minute walk down to the beach, less than 5 up to the stores and restaurants.
It's a small town, so you won't find the 5* Hilton style hotels, but this one is nice, basic and clean and has small kitchens in some of the rooms if you want to cook. I enjoyed mingling and barbequing with the other guests and the owner. And would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

There are many many many things wrong with Huron Haven. This motel has been in Southampton since the 60s and sadly not one update has been done on this dump. That includes the original furniture that still remains there. The shower was built for midgets so my 5'5" sister had to kneel just to wash her hair.

The owners are a whole different story. These are new owners from what i understand. Extremely rude. After checking in we immediately regretted it. We decided to stay one night and move to a place where we felt comfortable touching the furniture. They made us pay for all 3 nights in advance which concerned us but we thought we could let them know we planned on leaving the following morning and see if it would be a problem. We found the male owner that night and said we would be checking out the next day. He says no problem...

..next day we go to check out. He says he cannot give us our money back. Now why wouldnt he tell us this the night before? This guy is sneaky. He proceeded to speak very condescendingly to us, patronize us and just act completely unprofessionally

The rooms all smell like smoke from tje ppl who sit outside your room 24/7 and chain smoke. The owners wreak of cigarettes and when they come in to do anything in ur room they trail a very strong cig odor w them, leaving ur room smelling like an ash tray

Want some advice? Go stay somewhere else. I would never ever recommend this dump

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brooklynrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a family vacation at Huron Haven. Great suites for family vacations, close to the beaches, dining and golf. The hotel had a fun atmosphere with super friendly staff. We cooked most of our meals in our housekeeping unit and often bbq'd outside the unit. The room was very well equipped and very clean. When we did feel like dining out there were lots of options within a short walk for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a lot to do in the area, the beaches are outstanding. We will stay at the Huron Haven on our next visit to the area. Thanks for the great times and the memories of our week..............

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Horrible décor and dated, I swear the place hasn't been updated since the 70's the paint is peeling off the walls in the bathroom, the shower has mold and the handles are rusty. Worst place I have ever stayed at?

Room Tip: Stay at the super 8 in port elgin. The motel is a dive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Tuesday night Sept 11/12 and loved the location, steps away from Southampton's lovely wide main street and a few more steps right to the benches of the lookout over Lake Huron and the wide sandy beach and waves.

The new owners have worked hard to freshen up Huron Haven, our room was comfortable, clean, cheerful and quiet, and the fridge helped. Some rooms have kitchenettes and there are even two bedroom suites with a full kitchen! Very reasonable rates, too. The owners are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and we will definitely come again. PS We had a great breakfast at the Highview Restaurant, a block away on High Street. Barb C.

Room Tip: We liked being on the second floor, end room #10
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

1 street off a beautiful beach, close to the centre of town but quiet. The owners are really helpful. The rooms are dated but comfortable and well appointed. You have everything you need and if you need anything else Joan will get it for you. The BBQ facilities are also good. i would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to BBQ get a room in the corner of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a week this summer. Usually we stay at a friend's cottage, but thought we'd try something different. Our stay was even better than expected! The room was very clean and fully stocked; the kitchenette had everything we needed for the week's stay. The location was great, too - seconds away from the shops and the beach. The owners were helpful with giving us directions, and the staff were very friendly. And even though the parking lot was full, the place was surprisingly quiet. We could even hear the waves crashing on the beach at night! We really enjoyed our vacation here and plan to come back next spring.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maplewood Motel
Maplewood Motel
#3 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
21.4 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Manor Motel
Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
4.9 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Elgin
Super 8 Port Elgin
#1 of 6 in Port Elgin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huron Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huron Haven Motel

Property: Huron Haven Motel
Address: 21 Huron St S | Ontario, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Southampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southampton
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place to stay in Southampton… by the beach and downtown,open all year. 15 bright comfortable fully equipped housekeeping suites and motel units. Large rooms with queen and double beds, all rooms air conditioned,all rooms have TV, fridge, private bath, microwave, coffee maker, all rooms have high speed internet,courtyard, BBQ’s, patio tables, ice. 2 minute walk to the beach, shopping, and restaurants, sports tournament friendly.Close to… golf, tennis, market, restaurants, pubs,bakery, butcher shop, art school, museum,Thursday night jazz,Fairy Lake, bike trails,Thursday night car show,and Scottish piper on the beach for world famous sunsets,Port Elgin, Kincardine, Owen Sound, Bruce Power, Sauble Beach, Saugeen Shores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Huron Haven Motel Southampton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing