We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food spoiled by poor service”

Elk & Finch Coffee Pub
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Fergus Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food spoiled by poor service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

The chefs here work hard and produce some excellent dishes. Our lamb was cooked perfectly and taste great. But our meal was spoiled by ho-hum service that left us questioning why we paid so much four our meals. Our waitress didn't bother introducing herself and never once checked on us as we waiting almost an hour for our food and it wasn't very busy. We had to ask another waitress for a glass of wine who knew nothing about their house red aside from the name.

This place seems to suffer from a bit of an identity crisis; is it fine dinning like the prices suggest or is it bistro pub like the sign out the front proclaims. Fine dinning is fine with me just make the entire experience more enjoyable and I will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    51
    17
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“very lovely setting and food choices”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My daughter and I had lunch here on a recent visit to Southampton - is on the main Hwy21 road that passes through town - and you have the option of first or second floor outdoor patio dining or inside - either is fine! We like the upstairs outside dining area best - it is quiet and relaxing! We had salads - mine was a tomato, basil and boccacina (like mozzarella) and my daughter's was a Greek salad - an interesting version with lots of chopped tomatoes and feta - fmore field greens than the usual iceberg lettuce - and a glass of Italian Pinot Grigio. The service was quick and pleasant and prices not bad. We've been here for delicious baked goods desserts before, but passed this time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haziemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of The Sweet Ones”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Food is incredible. Quality staff and chef, (Bill). You wont be disappointed with his menu. Deserts made by a master in the craft. Marjorie will get your sweet tooth working overtime. She even has a few gluten free items. Tarts, muffins, cakes etc that are high end. The old building and layout of antiques and decorations make you feel quite at home. A morning coffee and muffin out front or a afternoon beverage, or evening dining and drinks before catching the world known best sunset over Lake Huron and Chantry Island in Southampton. Price are very reasonable, quality exceptional. The Elk is a must stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Love this small and cozy restaurant! Truly amazing food and great service though it can get busy in the summer. Be prepared to pay for the great food...lunch can be pricey, but it's a nice treat out and the food is definitely worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughingEyes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awsome”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is a real treat to get out with my wife for a meal. Always great The atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elk & Finch Coffee Pub also viewed

 
Southampton, Bruce County
Port Elgin, Bruce County
 

Been to Elk & Finch Coffee Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing