We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and selection!”
Review of Armens Cafe

Armens Cafe
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Southampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and selection!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love when Armens Cafe is an option because it's the first place I pick when I'm looking for a good lunch made from scratch with real and fresh food. The restaurant is eclectic, the staff are friendly and you can watch Armen work his magic right in front of you. The rooftop patio is a great place to eat on hot and sunny days.
I absolutely love their salad plate with the three types of salads, the guacamole dip, the hummus and salsa. The soup is also wonderful with different kinds everyday.
My only complaint is the restaurant isn't open year-round but if being open year-round means Armen doesn't get to rest and refresh himself for busy summers, then I won't complain!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    18
    1
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best food in town”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fresh home made, wholesome, meals, with wonderful flavour. Service is pleasant and cheerful, with a side of dry humour. Very generous portions at a reasonable cost. This quant little old building has a lot of character and charm and the roof top patio is delightful.
Not your typical burger joint a definite must try if you are in Southampton>

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always excellent! !”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We are regulars at Armen's and enjoy the meals there every time. The facility is not fancy but definitely eclectic. Due to the small staff there is a limited set menu, but it is all excellent! We have typically found the people who think the staff are rude come in at busy times then push for special orders that are not on the menu. If you want fancy service - wrong place. If you want great food at a good price, with a fun show - this the best place in town! Looking forward to the next visit. Thanks to Armen and the staff!

Helpful?
2 Thank L-A_Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can’t quite put it in words…”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Best Restaurant in Southampton!

As the name suggests, it’s a café, so don’t come expecting a 5 star dining experience. What makes the place unique is the healthy and delicious menu choices, quirky building and decoration, and the restaurant staff.

You should avoid this place if you:
1- Don’t have the patience to wait in a line up for few minutes
2- Can’t stand dry humor
3- Have food allergies
4- Expect to get a personal massage with a $10 meal purchase
5- Believe you are a direct descendant of one of the great prophets, and therefore deserve special treatment.

Otherwise, this is a great place to enjoy awesome food, and relax in the lifestyle of small town Ontario.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rudest restaurant experience ever...not once twice...the food might be good so I have heard but who needs the owners attitude. Funny when I tell people who set local they all agree and laugh like this is normal......no need ....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan103162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armens Cafe also viewed

 
Southampton, Bruce County
 

Been to Armens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing