We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chantry Breezes B&B
Ranked #2 of 7 Southampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I visited at the end of June and had a wonderful time. We've been vacationing in this area for decades and wish we'd started staying here years ago.

The rooms are very, very nice and the food is excellent. I also doubt you will find nicer, or more attentive hosts. To top it all off, it's just steps from one of the best beaches on Lake Huron and the sunsets are fantastic.

There is only one issue that keeps me from giving it a full 5 stars and that's the lack of air conditioning. This is a purely personal issues for us to to some respiratory issues that make high heat and humidity unbearable for me but this was not an issue during our stay as the temperatures were very mild. Additionally, we normally travel during the cooler periods at the start and end of summer, for the same reason, and we'll definitely be back again and again, just not during the sweltering (to me) weeks of mid-July to late-August.

The proximity to the beach and shade of the old trees around the Inn would have have definitely mitigated the heat so I really don't see this being an issue for most people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Winds0rDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay at this wonderful Inn! The rooms are all lovely with gorgeous decor and details. Each one offers a beautiful antique bed, and our room was so comfortable and quiet. Location of this victorian beauty can't be beat either. We strolled across the street to the Walker house for dinner, and the quaint uptown stores are right there with the beach also steps away.Dont forget to visit the fantastic bakery too! (Gluten Free options are available). Our hostess, Jenny, was simply delightful, and was very accommodating. I have a Gluten allergy and she was so kind as to bake me fresh Gluten Free muffins for breakfast with a fresh fruit salad.They were delicious!!! Thank you for a great experience and my friend and I are already planning next years winter getaway!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautifully appointed. The upper floor offered wonderful sunlight, and there were cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in Huron Cottage this past Summer. It is such a quaint, romantic spot. The surrounding gardens are lovely and the cottages have their own patio.
Jenny and Don were wonderful, helpful hosts. A fabulous breakfast served on the covered patio is not to be missed. We highly recommend this special spot.

Room Tip: The cottages are a lovely private option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My sister and I have been lucky enough to stay at Chantry Breezes twice! What a wonderful B & B! The location can't be beat, the house is magnificent with so much history and so well restored and maintained, and the hosts, Don & Jenny, are very gracious and welcoming. The rooms are each unique and beautifully decorated. The attention to detail is so noticeable with hair dryers in the rooms, night lights, mints and chocolates, magazines, to mention just a few. The breakfasts are outstanding! There are always a variety of cereals for you to choose from, along with fruit, yogurt, homemade delicious muffins, and then a few choices of hot breakfasts including pancakes, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, depending on the day. If you have a chance to venture north to this beautiful area of Ontario, don't miss out on this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I were in town on business and we stayed at Chantry Breezes for a night. We loved that the house was well preserved and inviting. Jenny and Don were most helpful as we arrived later in the evening and were leaving later the next day. Our room was very comfortable and had its own bath. Even though it was a warm evening, our windows let in a nice breeze, and the ceiling fan also kept the room comfortable. The beach is just a short stroll away, which we both enjoyed.
The breakfast was delicious and we had a sampler of everything on the menu. You'll love the pancakes! The breakfast room sits atop the front porch, giving a lovely view of the surrounding area. There is so much to enjoy here: the verandah with its rocking chairs and wicker furniture, the nicely landscaped backyard, the living room/reading room, all in an area of equally appealing homes. The price is in line with a good B&B and is very good value for the money.
We enjoyed our stay so much that my wife booked us in for two more occasions in the coming months. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We recommend the room with the ensuite bathroom...just a personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our 5 nights at the Chantry Breezes staying in the Smith Suite in the basement which was ideal for our family of four. Just around the corner from the lovely beach it was a great place to chill out after our stay in Toronto. Jenny and Don were very friendly and their breakfasts were superb. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry_French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a one night stay in this delightful B&B. The hosts, Jenny and Don, were friendly and helpful sharing tips on where to eat and what to do. This large Victorian home is lovely, with many amenities to make you comfortable and feel at home. We had a private bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. Sleeping with the windows open allowed the "Chantry breezes" to keep us cool throughout the night. The gourmet breakfast was excellent, although only served between 8:30 - 9:30 a.m. The location is very desirable, close to the beach as well as down-town businesses.

Room Tip: The website describes the various rooms and cottages that you can choose from. We stayed in the Amy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57TravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
3.9 mi away
Windspire Inn
Windspire Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Elgin
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Motel
Manor Motel
#3 of 4 in Southampton
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantry Breezes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantry Breezes B&B

Address: 107 High St | P.o. 1576, Southampton, Ontario N0H 2L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Southampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £65 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gracious Victorian home, with spacious wrap-around porches, offers an exceptional standard of accommodation in a warm and relaxed atmosphere. With patios, flower gardens and mature trees, Chantry Breezes is just one block away from the sand beaches of Lake Huron and is an easy stroll to shops and restaurants. Seven tastefully decorated bedrooms feature antiques, historic charm and en-suite bathrooms. Delicious complimentary breakfasts. Featured in Lonely Planet, Toronto Life, Ulysses B&B and Greenwood Guide. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chantry Breezes B&B Southampton, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing