We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade 'everything'”

Carol & Earl's Restaurant
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barrie
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Homemade 'everything'”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ample portions, reasonable prices and homemade fruit and cream pies! Definitely worth a stop if you are in this area

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderersbarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    34
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super soup, a full meal in a bowl..”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Non-pretentious little place, excellent prices, and the cook knows her/his stuff when it comes to soup, and a smashing Western sandwich Not fancy, just really , really tasty. Ah yes, the butter tarts, should have gotten 8 instead of just 4

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AceOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You definitely get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The prices were quite reasonable for the amount of food you get on your plate. It was definitely a great place for my family to go and enjoy the homemade comfort food they serve. The kids also loved their homemade pies and cookies!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average diner maybe a litle better than what else is available on the island”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

It was close to the motel. Since it was raining and we were riding motorcycles this was a big plus. Portions are generoujs, service cheerful and the food somewhat typical of 60s style hot turkey, hamburger with fries. Hard to rave about as we were tiring of this food which is so abundantly offered on the road.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No no no”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Some restaurants show off their creativity and talent by making everything on the plate stand out, but the food-passion is lacking at Carol & Earl's. I ordered the turkey dinner: turkey was dry and lacked flavor. Mixed vegetables were overcooked. I thought comfort food tended to be easy to prepare successfully but this wasn't good at all. We both came in hungry but left food on our plates, and not because the portion was too big. The coffee was old (the waitress called it "strong"); the customer should not have to perform quality control I don't believe. I can't imagine eating there again. The vintage jukebox was a nice touch, however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFrownfelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carol & Earl's Restaurant also viewed

Tehkummah, Manitoulin Island
South Baymouth, Manitoulin Island
 
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
South Baymouth, Manitoulin Island
 
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
South Baymouth, Manitoulin Island
 

Been to Carol & Earl's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing