We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere”
Review of Jacob's Grill

Jacob's Grill
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in St. Jacobs
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roslin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We dined their recently and had a good experience. The food was good and varies with a few vegetarian options. My wife said that their fish and chips were amongst the best she had eaten in Canada, almost as good as the UK. Greater was excellent however our server appeared to be a bit abrupt. The restaurant is connected to the Stone Crock Bakery on one side and the Stone Crock Restaurant on the other side. Of the two restaurants this is the smaller and more upscale dining. Would eat their again if we were in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GEGL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    53
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
330 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Iffy”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Looking for a casual supper for 2 adults and 2 kids, we ended up in the nearly village of St. Jacobs. The restaurant was not busy and would have been much emptier were it not for a large table of tour-bus visitors who were watching a FIFA match on the TV. (First clue: TV in dining room...). This is not an elegant place to eat. Nor was the food that good. Perhaps we should have had the burgers as others have described. What we did have were orders of spring rolls (OK), plate of nachos (generous), quesadilla (on special) and a big caesar salad, with some wine and tea and drinks for the kids. Service was friendly and pretty fast; one very energetic girl was working the whole room. Both the nachos and quesadilla were overcooked, in fact, burnt at the bottom. I am not a complainer (except here!) so I did not send it back. The caesar salad was very tangy, perhaps too tangy. Tasted a bit weird to me. All in all, the food was ok but nothing special. I see no reason to go back (except maybe to try the burgers...). We eaten at the bakery next door too; the experience there was so-so. Coffee was not great and the treats we bought that day not spectacular. I have to say that St. Jacobs has disappointed me in many ways. Last night, after our meal, we went into a gift store across the street to check it out and a messy-looking man barked at us, "We're closed." The kids were really taken aback by both him and his appearance. I have found the merchants in many of the stores there to be not particularly friendly and a lot of their merchandise is really tacky. On top of that, you can stand trying to cross the main street for a long time before anyone will stop for you! I know this is a little off-topic, but, taken all together, I don't know if we will go back to St. Jacobs at all, outside of the market and the big antique store, which is great. Elora and Fergus are much more charming - with better food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small in size, big on taste”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Walked past this place many times, stopped at the attached bakery for treats, but never had the time to sit down for lunch. Now that we've finally had a chance to try it, we'll go out of our way to come back. Enjoyed a great burger and the salad was delicious. Can't wait to go back and try some of the other menu items we saw coming from the kitchen. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KPM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonthill
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved this eatery!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Menu was varied - much to chose from. I loved the brie/flatbread. We have been to this establishment on previous occasions and are always pleased.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorijeanFonthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent option close to Waterloo”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

15 minutes from Waterloo and you are in St Jacobs. Jacob's Grill offers good service and a fantastic burger! If the weather is good ask for a table outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotels_and_flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacob's Grill also viewed

St. Jacobs, Region of Waterloo
St. Jacobs, Region of Waterloo
 
St. Jacobs, Region of Waterloo
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Jacob's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing