We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location for staff Christmas Party - Amazing Food”
Review of The Mill Tales Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill Tales Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillsonburg B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Awesome location for staff Christmas Party - Amazing Food”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have been to the Mill Tales Inn twice for our staff Christmas Party. They give you the basement room for free if you have a number of people attending - we had 40 people. The food is amazing. We had prime rib of beef, ham, chicken, and of course the pickerel. There were potatoes and vegetables too of course. Guests went up more than once, and it was usually for the pickerel and the beef! The costs are very reasonable for the amount and quality of the food. There was a huge line up of 'regular' customers so the place is well known for it's food. The atmosphere in the basement is plain and simple, but since you have it to yourself, you can create your own fun Christmas party. The food sells this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    7
    10
    16
See reviews for
41
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi suites anticipating a relaxing soak at the end of the day. When we started to fill the tub, we discovered a scummy bathtub ring. It clearly had not been cleaned after the last user. There was a crusty stain on the bottom sheet on the bed, don't know what it was but it was right at the top end beside the pillow. ewwh! There was only one wash cloth, even though we had reserved the room for a couple. Also only one coffee cup and no regular coffee for the in room coffee brewer, only decaf or tea. We asked for a second wash cloth and for the coffee situation to be rectified before going out for the evening, expecting it to be rectified by the time we returned later in the evening. It was not. Our suspicion is that the room had not been cleaned and prepped after the last customer. Very substandard. Saving grace was breakfast (not included in room price) was good and restaurant service friendly and prompt. There was no-one at the desk nor easily summoned when we were leaving in the morning. In an industry where customer service is so important, this inn failed miserably. We were given the excuse by the dining room staff that the innkeeper was ill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tillsonburg hotels

Leamington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A longer review would just reiterate what other large groups have encountered!! When you have to clear your own dishes after waiting 1.5 hours when there is only 2 dishes on the special menu - w only 2 plates coming at a time my family left to go to another family due before in laws got their meal. Meal was awful. You might as well bring your own drinks as some never received and I guess water in the table is too much to ask for. Only good thing about this restaurant is the location and a for sale sign which would hopefully result in new mgmt and staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank East-Lynedoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marleec742, Owner at The Mill Tales Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello my name is Lauralee Craig ..my husband and I are the owners of the Mill.He built this mill to provide a nice atmosphere and venue for ppl to enjoy..Along with having a wedding last wk.and 2 events coupled with hiring 5 new ppl to keep up to an ever growing business. We have had a grueling wk ..Of course that is not the concern of our customers but what I dont understand is why no one came to myself or my husband to deal with ALL or any of your concerns.
We both would have addressed the problems and made sure you ALL left satisfied..
We take great pride in the building ...food ...accommodation and service at the mill and it truly was a 9 yr labour of love for the community to enjoy .We live here as well and its sad to think that you would want us to move out to make this a better place?..I would like if you would allow us to give you a gift card to show you we are NOT always running in the fashion you experienced on a date? Unknown ..
I would appreciate in all fairness if you gave our staff and our venue a change to show you that EVERYONE can have an "off" day .We have provided 35 jobs for the area and just hired 5 ..It takes time patience and work to get everyone up to the standard of which we are happy to provide our long standing loyal clientele.So in light of it all please consider contacting me so I may be given a chance to rectify the problem .Thank you for your time Lauralee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My husband and I went on Friday evening for a 6pm reservation and were sat immediately. Staff are very friendly. Drinks were ordered but the waitress forgot to bring my water and I had to ask her 3X over the coarse of dinner before I got it. We had chicken wings, salad and the beef ribs. Dinner was very good and too much for me to eat so packed up leftovers. Service by our waitress was ok. but she needed to give more attention to our order and asking if things were ok. Everything seemed to come out at once. A good dining experience though and good view with the trees and nature out the big windows. We will go back again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6roses18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Last night I had dinner at Mill Tales. Dinner was good---not great--atmosphere was the issue. Owners were discussing year end business right behind us as we waited for our food and then ate. This came close to me walking out as a result. I understand discussions need to happen but please do not hold these discussions in front or near customers--it is very un professional. Sadly this is not the first time I have experienced this, but last night was the straw that broke the camels back--Use the office to discuss office matters, staff scheduling issues, staff hiring matters etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ACM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Went in a Sunday for the Brunch,arrived about noonish and place was packed,most likely the Church goers etc... Had to wait about 15 mins as there was a good sized line up but they have a nice display if old nicnaks to look at,server took us to our Tavel which was in there patio over looking the river/creek...I thought that was a lottery win as the view was awesome,you can watch the ducks and see the odd fish in the river right from your Dining seat,waitress came up to us right Way and told us if we would like coffee to turn our cups upright,and to help ourselves to the Buffett....well off we went to a delious looking assortment if country style brunch items such as Fresh local DELICIOUS pickeral and perch and House style Fried Chicken and a yummy macaroni casserole of some kind,also there was nice fresh salads to choose from and all your breakfast stuff,scrambled eggs,bacon French toast,pancakes,yummy home fries and brown beans...then the DESSERT was very yummy also...homemade cheesecake and ruce pudding and lots if fresh fruit with a chocolate fountain to dress your dessert....We had all that and Orange juice and coffee is part of the deal for taxes and all under $30 dollars....Don't know why the negative reviews but there is always whiners that expect to be treated like royalty,just like going on all inclusive Vacations there are crybabies no matter where ever you go....I will be back and I will share this secret place with good friends that are looking for a great place to kill a couple of hours and enjoy good ole country cooking....mmmmmm mmmm...see ya soon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robbobbillybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

The Mill Tales Inn put on a wonderful Buffet meal for 35 of my friends last week for a wonderful celebration! We had our own private banquet room down stairs. Everyone raved about the food which was a salad served to our table, Rotisserie Chicken, Pickeral, Roasted Red potatoes, broccoli and cauliflower and carrots in a cheese sauce and Cherry Cheesecake for dessert and coffee and tea~! Well done Chef Danielle! She is a delightful lady who was present for our serving and made sure we were all looked after. Server Jennifer did a great job managing the coffee/tea to our tables as well as the standing bar! She was attentive and very personable. These folks work hard on their communication with customers when event planning and it paid off!

Thank you for your contribution to making this birthday the best ever.
Shelly

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillsonburg
13.7 mi away
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
#1 of 3 in Ingersoll
447 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
92 reviews
21.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
20.6 mi away
Travelodge Simcoe
Travelodge Simcoe
#3 of 3 in Simcoe
329 reviews
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Tales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Tales Inn

Property: The Mill Tales Inn
Address: 20 John Pound Rd, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 0B9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Tillsonburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillsonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Tales Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Tales Inn is over 138 years of Tillsonburg's history restored from an old Pea & Barley Mill. Renovations all done by the owner have transformed this historical landmark into a gorgeous restaurant & lodge. Enjoy casual dining along the Little Otter River. You can host an event or conference with 2 rooms one seats 35 the other 80.Customers can also choose to stay as a guest in one of the 10 cozy rooms each finished in a different theme of wood.6 regular rooms and 4 Jacuzzi rooms. Mill Tales Inn is convenient to reserve for weddings & business gatherings if you're looking for something attractive and efficient. Enjoy delicious dinners with " fish" as our specialty, and juicy Prime Rib or Broasted Chicken! Friendly staff to serve you & owners for YOU to enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Mill Tales Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Tales Hotel Tillsonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing