We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food and service”
Review of The Mill Tales Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mill Tales Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Tillsonburg B&B and Inns
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super food and service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We went on a very busy night. My husband is in a wheel chair and there is easy access to restaurant and tables.The menu has changed and the quality of food is much better than the last time we visited.More refined on high end items. The whole experience of wine and dine was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alrae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    7
    10
    16
See reviews for
42
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and the range of selection. Our parents rave about this place and wanted to take us here...we weren't too sold on the idea but in the end we were really glad we took the time to try it.

The Sunday brunch offered a range of breakfast foods, salads, fruits and lunch foods. However, this was hands down the best pickerel we have ever had at a restaurant. It was wonderful to sit in the sun room and watch the ducks float down the stream as we ate.

When the bill came we were shocked at the value. It was $90.00 including the tip for six adults. We definitely ate our fill and then some, so the was so reasonable.

The only draw back was the line. We arrived for brunch at around 10:30, so we escaped it. However, by 11:00 the line was out the door. I guess this speaks about the quality of the food more than anything else. We asked the waitress about reservations, she said that they do take them. I would highly recommend this option if you don't want to wait.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marleec742, Owner at The Mill Tales Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Hello, I am Lauralee Craig, my husband Gordon & I are the owners of Mill Tales Inn .
We are so happy you took the trip form Caledon to see what your parents are talking about & thrilled that you had a great experience.
I would like to explain why we cannot take reservations on a Sunday. First off EVERYONE wants to sit where the ducks & the water are and even though the food tastes the same in any spot in the Mill I TOTALLY understand enjoying the view.
However, what happens when we take reservations, people don't show up OR we are completely booked with reservations leaving no room for others who walk in like yourself
We have to turn them away and do not want to do that
Also when you are waiting in line 15-20min. while a seat waits open for someone who may or may not show up is not fair to customers patiently waiting. Therefore from past experience although yes it gets very busy it seems to be the best for all of our faithful customers as well as newcomers like yourself :)
The regulars have learned that if they want a seat by the window they come before 11am.
Once church gets out we feed the 5000 ( just kidding)
We are grateful for the patronage and happy to be here to provide a nice venue for people like yourselves to enjoy!
Glad you took your parents advice and hope you return again soon!
P.S. Bring your friends :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

each Sunday they offer a nice brunch including a full breakfast fare also perch and lasagna, nice choice of desert incuding a chocolate fountain, very good value for your dollar and nice views from the back dining area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

 

This was our very first visit to MillTales…we immediately felt the warmth of the Inn when we arrived. The atmosphere is welcoming and the décor is so unique with all of the natural wood themes and antiques. It almost feels as if you’re back in time, yet with all the benefits of modern technology – best of both worlds kinda thing.

Our food was delicious; we ordered shrimp and wrap appetizers, prime rib and salmon. Everything was cooked to perfection and our server, Lindsay, was exceptional and super friendly. Craiger’s fresh fish was outstanding and we enjoyed our brunch the next day, too.

The owners were totally hospitable and showed much interest and care in their guests’ experience. We found them to be very gracious and openhearted.

Our stay was magical. The rooms were clean and inviting. We went for walks by the creek on the trails and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We loved it! We will be back…

 

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank burge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have been to the Mill Tales Inn twice for our staff Christmas Party. They give you the basement room for free if you have a number of people attending - we had 40 people. The food is amazing. We had prime rib of beef, ham, chicken, and of course the pickerel. There were potatoes and vegetables too of course. Guests went up more than once, and it was usually for the pickerel and the beef! The costs are very reasonable for the amount and quality of the food. There was a huge line up of 'regular' customers so the place is well known for it's food. The atmosphere in the basement is plain and simple, but since you have it to yourself, you can create your own fun Christmas party. The food sells this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi suites anticipating a relaxing soak at the end of the day. When we started to fill the tub, we discovered a scummy bathtub ring. It clearly had not been cleaned after the last user. There was a crusty stain on the bottom sheet on the bed, don't know what it was but it was right at the top end beside the pillow. ewwh! There was only one wash cloth, even though we had reserved the room for a couple. Also only one coffee cup and no regular coffee for the in room coffee brewer, only decaf or tea. We asked for a second wash cloth and for the coffee situation to be rectified before going out for the evening, expecting it to be rectified by the time we returned later in the evening. It was not. Our suspicion is that the room had not been cleaned and prepped after the last customer. Very substandard. Saving grace was breakfast (not included in room price) was good and restaurant service friendly and prompt. There was no-one at the desk nor easily summoned when we were leaving in the morning. In an industry where customer service is so important, this inn failed miserably. We were given the excuse by the dining room staff that the innkeeper was ill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tillsonburg hotels

Leamington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A longer review would just reiterate what other large groups have encountered!! When you have to clear your own dishes after waiting 1.5 hours when there is only 2 dishes on the special menu - w only 2 plates coming at a time my family left to go to another family due before in laws got their meal. Meal was awful. You might as well bring your own drinks as some never received and I guess water in the table is too much to ask for. Only good thing about this restaurant is the location and a for sale sign which would hopefully result in new mgmt and staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank East-Lynedoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marleec742, Owner at The Mill Tales Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello my name is Lauralee Craig ..my husband and I are the owners of the Mill.He built this mill to provide a nice atmosphere and venue for ppl to enjoy..Along with having a wedding last wk.and 2 events coupled with hiring 5 new ppl to keep up to an ever growing business. We have had a grueling wk ..Of course that is not the concern of our customers but what I dont understand is why no one came to myself or my husband to deal with ALL or any of your concerns.
We both would have addressed the problems and made sure you ALL left satisfied..
We take great pride in the building ...food ...accommodation and service at the mill and it truly was a 9 yr labour of love for the community to enjoy .We live here as well and its sad to think that you would want us to move out to make this a better place?..I would like if you would allow us to give you a gift card to show you we are NOT always running in the fashion you experienced on a date? Unknown ..
I would appreciate in all fairness if you gave our staff and our venue a change to show you that EVERYONE can have an "off" day .We have provided 35 jobs for the area and just hired 5 ..It takes time patience and work to get everyone up to the standard of which we are happy to provide our long standing loyal clientele.So in light of it all please consider contacting me so I may be given a chance to rectify the problem .Thank you for your time Lauralee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tillsonburg
13.7 mi away
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
#1 of 3 in Ingersoll
453 reviews
21.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Simcoe
Comfort Inn Simcoe
#2 of 3 in Simcoe
88 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Best Western Little River Inn
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
Howard Johnson Tillsonburg
#1 of 1 in Tillsonburg
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farm
The Farm
#1 of 1 in Tillsonburg
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Tales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Tales Inn

Property: The Mill Tales Inn
Address: 20 John Pound Rd, Tillsonburg, Ontario N4G 0B9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Tillsonburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tillsonburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Tales Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill Tales Inn is over 138 years of Tillsonburg's history restored from an old Pea & Barley Mill. Renovations all done by the owner have transformed this historical landmark into a gorgeous restaurant & lodge. Enjoy casual dining along the Little Otter River. You can host an event or conference with 2 rooms one seats 35 the other 80.Customers can also choose to stay as a guest in one of the 10 cozy rooms each finished in a different theme of wood.6 regular rooms and 4 Jacuzzi rooms. Mill Tales Inn is convenient to reserve for weddings & business gatherings if you're looking for something attractive and efficient. Enjoy delicious dinners with " fish" as our specialty, and juicy Prime Rib or Broasted Chicken! Friendly staff to serve you & owners for YOU to enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Mill Tales Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mill Tales Hotel Tillsonburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing