We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manse - CLOSED

Manse
Price range: US$24 - US$97
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Waitstaff
Tillsonburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Food was excellent, Service was not professional for a restaurant like this. Had to ask for water with the meal as well as a spoon for the coffee. had to ask about desert .
Would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect place for any special meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have very limited "nice" restaurants in Tillsonburg but this one should be the GO-TO place for any special occasion! Food is very good, fresh and made to order. Portions are perfect (may seem small to those used to big name "fast food" type restaurants) and pricing is high. Definitely a great place to try! Its a hidden gem in town for sure!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AMomInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“People pleaser”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Can't say enough about the owner/ chef who makes every experience at the Manse like a night in NYC. Great ambiance, food made to order, and a wonderful place to be quiet and enjoy a nice dinner for two.....no place in this area in Ontario has compared yet for fine dining.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always 1st Class!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My wife and I usually have dinner at The Manse at least 3 times a year on our birthdays and anniversary and sometimes we go around Christmas. This year due to circumstances we have not been there until a week ago. We have been going to The Manse since it opened (2004) and have always been treated excellently by Vasco (owner/chef) and his servers. We are not rushed to place our order. The food is always hot and just the right serving size. Prices are in line with what you order. The ambience is superb and Vasco spent a long time refurbishing the place while maintaining its' olden features. If you want a quiet dinner for 2 I would suggest mid-week to avoid the weekend crowds and noise. Tillsonburg needed a restaurant like The Manse and we are glad that it has been a success for Vasco.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great potential, but a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Attended with a very small group. Members of our party were served 5 minutes apart. Requested wine list but came only after asking a second time. Ran out of our wine selection.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffreybrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manse also viewed

Tillsonburg, Ontario
Tillsonburg, Ontario
 
Tillsonburg, Ontario
 
Tillsonburg, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing