We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Element Vaughan Southwest
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Vaughan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very nicely configured rooms and very good 'grounds' I was impressed with this format. I was with my 2 kids so the kitchen came in handy for quick warmups
Coffee and breakfast good options on site.
Parking a bit confusing - lots of signage for various vehicle types that seem to go unheeded.

Clean, well maintained. Location a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdneurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanecoJ0, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for posting a quick review on our Element By Westin hotel. Our entire team at the hotel appreciate reading the feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and many of our complimentary amenities.
We are an ALL suite LEED certified hotel. We have ample parking throughout the entire building, with preferred parking for Green/Hybrid Cars. We also feature 3 Electric Charging stations.
If your future plans bring you back to Vaughan, we hope to be your hotel of choice.
warm regards,
John Caneco-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    44
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
81
57
2
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My son and I stayed here while visiting Canada's Wonderland and though it wasn't quite as close as I thought it would be, it was still easy and convenient to get to. There are ample dining choices just steps from the hotel and the Continental Breakfast was terrific. The kitchenette in the room was ideal for an extended stay business traveller or family and exceptionally well appointed compared to others I have seen. The pantry in the lobby stocks many convenient snacks, fresh foods and sundries for all manner of travellers. All staff, from Front Desk to Housekeeping were cheery, gracious and accommodating, including the Housekeeper who took the time to ask my 13 yr. old son if he was enjoying his stay! He was made to feel important and it really made an impression on him. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and the room - spotless (and I am a very discerning traveller!). I highly recommend this property and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanecoJ0, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello TJW!

We at the Element Vaughan Southwest, truly appreciate the great review you have provided us on your recent stay with us. We at the Element Vaughan Southwest, Canada's first Westin LEED certified Extended Stay property take great pride in ensuring our guests are well looked after.
Glad to read that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities at the hotel.
We too look forward to your next visit.
Until the next time, your friends at the Element Vaughan Southwest!
in hospitality,
John Caneco-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my go-to hotel. I absolutely love it here. Fred and the front desk staff are great. Fred is easily one of my favorite Starwood employees - the guy needs to hold a clinic on professionalism and excellent service. I always enjoy my stay here. It's about a 30 minute drive (with no traffic) from downtown Toronto; so that may be a negative for some. But I don't mind it considering what I believe the value is at this hotel. Another major plus is the ease at which you can get to the airport; another huge bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahama_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanecoJ0, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hello!

Thank you for the great feedback and fantastic endorsement on Fred and our front office team at the Element Vaughan Southwest. I am very pleased to read that you enjoy our hotel and the services we provide at the first element in Canada. Inspired by Westin, our Leed Certified Hotel has a little of everything for everyone who stays at our hotel.
We eagerly await your next visit with us.
until then,
warm regards,
John Caneco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We’ve stayed at this hotel before and we will come here again. We really like the large rooms and full kitchen. One time, we forgot to run the dishwasher before we went out, and the staff did that for us too. The hotel is just over one year old so everything is new.
Each morning there was a delicious hot breakfast with some different selections each time. The weather was good, so we ate breakfast on their beautiful patio most mornings. New this year is a very nice gourmet coffee machine (free to use) that makes various drinks on demand and is available 24/7.
Although this hotel is a little bit more expensive than the average mid-priced hotel, it’s really worth the extra money. You can often get a better overall rate if you stay 3 or 4 nights in a row. At the same time you can save on dining out if you prepare a few meals in your room with fully equipped kitchen (pots and pans included).
With this visit, the hotel made a minor error and overcharged us for our stay, but it was quickly resolved with a phone call and without a fuss.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element H, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Darren,

thank you for coming back to our hotel, the Element by Westin, Vaughan Southwest. Glad to read that this was your second stay with us at the first element in Canada.
Glad to read that you were very pleased with our team and hotel.

We look forward to your return!

in hospitality,
John Caneco-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Back from a wonderful two night stay at the element with our young family. From start to finish on every level this hotel knocked spots off the other chain hotel we d stayed at the previous night in Ottawa recommended for families on TA around the same price mark!

Having been on the road for longer than we may have liked (Toronto!!!), we arrived to an oasis of calm (until we arrived LOL) Check in with Luisito (?) was pleasant, he kindly let us know the 5-7 was still running if we wanted to grab ourselves a quick drink and snack (sodas and a pasta dish-beers and wines were also available for purchase during this period).

Although our room had been booked for 2 adults and 2 children when we got into our room there was no extra bed linen for the sofa bed. A quick call to reception soon addressed this and it had already been delivered by the time we returned to our room. No need to chase-how refreshing!

Our room had an extremely comfortable king size bed (heavenly indeed!) and there was a separate seated area with a second TV which became a second room for our little ones. The sofa bed had a decent mattress and likewise felt comfortable. There was a full kitchen including dishwasher and full size fridge freezer which would be perfect for longer stays especially with a family. There was tea and coffee in the room which we didn t use as you could help yourself to hot drinks in the lobby and take up with you. Monsoon shower was likewise great. Even the toiletries had a pleasant scent! All your home comforts in a welcoming, clean and relaxing environment! Little touches here and there outlined the hotel s commitment to sustainability and the environment for instance the charging pods for cars and bike hire which I d never seen at a hotel before. A lot of thought appears to have gone into what guests expect from their stay without being excessive with some interesting concepts thrown in such as a grill area and a pantry. The hotel lent itself equally to business and leisure guests when more often than not leisure guests can feel they are guests in a business hotel.

There was a good assortment of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurts and juices at breakfast with a breakfast bun of some sort, ciabatta with bacon, egg and cheese for example.
There were a handful of eateries on the doorstep-Swiss Chalet, an Irish pub and the excellent Quesada for a quick, fresh and tasty wrap. Yum!

All the staff we encountered during our short stay were phenomenal, Fred and Salvatore truly exceptional. A little meaningful conversation goes a long way these days and seldom do you actually witness hotel staff engage with younger guests. Salvatore would make recommendations on what to try at breakfast, where to go and what to see in the local area and even offered to put Wii on in the lobby. Fred effortlessly went the extra mile to print out directions for our day out and checked us out the following day all with a warm exchange and smile. It is these seemingly small gestures that make all the difference to a stay. Element at Vaughn have certainly got the balance right and thoroughly deserve the glowing reviews and praise. We would happily stay again if in the area and at another element in the portfolio in future based on this positive experience and will wholeheartedly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemissmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element H, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
On behalf of the entire team at the Element Vaughan Southwest, thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay and more importantly, we are very pleased that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay at our first Element by Westin Hotel in Canada!
We take great pride in being the first Element, inspired by Westin in Canada and are pleased to read that you will be joining us again in the near future.
Until then!
Warm regards,
John Caneco-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We've been SPG Gold Members for a while now and have stayed in several SPG hotels in Toronto, Mississauga, Vancouver, LA, London ON, London UK, Cancun, San Diego, San Francisco... you get the idea. The Element is our new favourite place to stay! We will be seeking out that chain whenever possible.
Check in was a breeze and every staff member we met exceeded our expectations in customer service. The lobby has lots of relaxing sitting area and even has a Wii!
The breakfast was great, the staff picked up dirty plates etc promptly and all the food was restocked quickly. There are Napoleon grills in the patio area, we grilled almost every night and would sit outside chatting till it was time for bed. I understand that on Wednesdays the manager grills up food for the afternoon reception.
We stayed in the largest King room with a full kitchen and a sofa bed. The pictures you see on the Element site are 100% accurate - the room was amazing & had everything you could possibly need to run a kitchen; full fridge, stove top, DISHWASHER, plates, utensil, pots, pans, knives, glasses etc. It was like staying in an apartment, not a hotel room.
The area is being built up and has several restaurants that you can walk to, we did Quesada for lunch and one night hit Fion McCools for drinks. It’s very close to grocery stores and the LCBO, Element even has bikes that you can borrow!! We drive a hybrid and love when hotels and shops have parking just for us, Element has three spots!! Very 'green' hotel, with the option to skip the daily towel & bed changes, but when we needed more towels, dish soap, hand lotion – we had it delivered in minutes.
There are hotels that are closer to the airport for sure, but this location is maybe a 15 minutes drive. I hate to say "for the price, this is an excellent hotel", because even if it was more expensive the Element would still be an amazing deal!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliebulie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element H, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Julie,

Firstly, thank you for being a GOLD SPG member, we appreciate your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and thank you for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback on your most recent stay with us at the Element Vaughan Southwest, Canada's first Element hotel, inspired by Westin. We take great pride in servicing all of our guests at our hotel. We are build green from the ground up and I am glad to read that you were able to take advantage of many of our services and amenities at the hotel. Element Hotels is growing with another few more to be open later this year in Calgary and Vancouver.
On behalf of the team at Element Vaughan Southwest, we hope to see you again!
In hospitality,
John Caneco-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were travelling to the area for a family wedding, and I wanted to try this hotel because I liked it's commitment to sustainability and excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint in any way! The hotel was exceptionally clean and well maintained, from the lobby to the restaurant to our beautifully appointed room.

The room was very comfortable and accomodated our family of 4 very nicely. I loved the layout of the 2 queen bed room! The bathroom was very spacious and the kitchenette was a much appreciated feature. There was no need to bring anything, as all utensils, plates and glasses were there. In true commitment to sustainability, eco-friendly toiletries and kitchen items were provided in the room, requiring no second thoughts on whether or not to let my children slather on the hotel body lotion, as I am very conscious of sketchy ingredients in body care products. We found the beds to be exceptionally comfortable and had a great night's sleep.

The service provided by each hotel staff member we encountered was impeccable. Upon check in, casual pleasant conversation with Archie (front desk) determined that we had travelled a long distance for a wedding, and were thankful to have some time to check in to the hotel in between the service and reception. Inquiring where the reception was, he kindly provided travel time in current traffic to our destination and asked if we needed a printed map. This was very much unexpected and appreciated! The following morning, he remembered us, and politely asked how the wedding was! This kind of interaction was very refreshing, and goes above and beyond the task of processing check ins and check outs.

Breakfast included in our stay was delicious, featuring an assortment of pastries, breads and cereals, waffles, scrambled and hard boiled eggs, bacon and sausage, smooties, potatoes, juice, coffee and tea. The breakfast area was clean and tidy, with Salvatore pleasantly interacting with the hotel guests and cleaning up. There were many guests staying for a hockey tournament, so the breakfast area was filled with pre-teen kids (and their messes!) but Salvatore was on top of everything, cleaning tables quickly and filling the food items. I loved how he, when clearing my daughter's plate, noticed she left the smoothie, and asked if it was a little creamy for her. She agreed, and mentioned how she prefers just fruit in her smoothies, and they had a little conversation about smoothie ingredients! Again, it's the little things, and Salvatore, taking the time to chat with a 12 year old about this when he could have just picked up her plate, made me appreciate the service level of this hotel once again.

Complimentary bicycles, a salt water pool and fitness center are available, however, we did not have time to use these. One additional item worth mentioning is that, upon calling the hotel before our stay, I asked about the breakfast items, as we have 2 gluten free travellers, and I am used to bringing along our meals. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the menu changes daily, and that if there weren't gluten free choices to our liking, the chef would be happy to prepare something else, we just had to let the front desk know the evening before. Again, service above and beyond a typical hotel!

A hotel is only as good as it's employees, and this one provides exceptional service within a beautiful, calming environment. I loved the hotel, it's eco-commitment, and the fact that they clearly follow through with it. The employees should be commended on their friendliness and willingness to help. In my opinion, the Element is everything a hotel should be. I would go out of my way to stay here again and I would definately recommend it to anyone needing a hotel in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv3Girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Element H, General Manager at Element Vaughan Southwest, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Greetings!

On behalf of the entire team at the Element Vaughan Southwest, Canada's first Westin Extended Stay property, Thank you ! for the great feedback on our team and facility. The pleasure was all ours and we hope that if your plans bring you back to Vaughan in the future that you will stay with us again.
until then, warm regards!
John Caneco- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vaughan hotels
5.5 mi away
Aloft Vaughan Mills
Aloft Vaughan Mills
#2 of 14 in Vaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto Vaughan
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Toronto Vaughan Centre
4.2 mi away
Extended Stay Canada - Toronto - Vaughan
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Toronto Vaughan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element Vaughan Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Vaughan Southwest

Property: Element Vaughan Southwest
Address: 6170 Highway 7, Vaughan, Ontario L4H 0R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Vaughan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Vaughan Southwest 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Element Vaughan Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element Vaughan Southwest Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing