We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Village Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Village Comfort Inn is the place for us. Warm, friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spotless, nicely done and the beds are oh so comfortable!!!! The lawn going down to the water is beautifully kept and the water on the rocky shore is hypnotizing. My husband, our dog K and I will be reserving early for our 3rd year in this most enchanting spot.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is my wife and I along with another couple's fourth year back to the Village Comfort Inn in Prince Edward County. We keep coming back to this inn because since the new owners have taken over, the place has steadily improved into quite a nice spot. We love the location as we enjoy it's proximity to the wineries and the beaches. The large property is gorgeous and well maintained with barbecue pits and picnic tables as well as some seating down by the waterfront. All of which we used (Thanks!!). The rooms have all been updated and are impeccably clean. Most of the rooms have new washrooms and I've been told the remaining few will be done this winter. The owners allow the use of a beautiful screened in Gazeebo on the property to hang in when it's raining or the mosquitoes are bad.
The owners are very nice people and very helpful and I look forward to seeing them upon our next visit next year!
It is an older motel so don't expect the Hilton but it's very reasonable priced/clean and you can't beat the property and it's location.

Room Tip: Why hang out in the rooms, grab a glass of wine and head down to the waterfront!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really lucked out with this place! Upon spending the day at Sandbanks, we decided to spend a couple days in the quaint town of Wellington. We were able to grab the last room available and the owners were very helpful at recommending local restaurants and said we could always pick up some food at the local grocer and BBQ our dinner (what other motel offers you this!). The weather was great and we were able to cook our dinner and eat in what looked like a brand new screened in gazebo overlooking Lake Ontario! Soon after the owners Kelly and Cheryl started a nice bonfire for all too enjoy. Very comfortable gem - we have already booked for the fall!

Room Tip: The end unit is a little larger with its own porch that overlooks Lake Ontario - book ahead, you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Negatives:

The insulation. We could hear everything in the rooms on either side of us. The two well behaved children next door sounded like monkeys in a zoo only because the walls are so poorly insulated.

The plumbing: The water in the shower periodically runs scalding hot, for a few seconds to a few minutes.

The mattresses: The hide-a-bed mattress is full of springs and soft. The double bed is firm underneath the squishy mattress covering.

About the cleanliness, everything was impeccable except for the fixtures in the shower and the tub.

Compared to staying at a bed and breakfast, the Village Comfort Inn is not good value. At a B&B for ten dollars more a night, two people can have breakfast included in the cost of their stay.

The positives:

The managers are pleasant, welcoming and helpful.

The decor is fresh and new.

The access to the lake, picnic tables, gazebo and barbecues is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank morewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

From the road, the Village Comfort Inn looks like an unprepossessing motel. Soon as you drive in, get out and walk around (especially the one-minute stroll down to Lake Ontario), meet its owners (Kelly and Cheryl) and check out the simple-but-lovely rooms, you'll likely realize that the place is a gem.

Thanks to Kelly and Cheryl for their warmth and hospitality.

W Grant Fleming

Room Tip: See if the units closest to the lake are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It’s hard to beat the Village Comfort Inn for a quick ‘get away’ in the County. Close to North Beach and many of the most popular vineyards the Inn is situated right on lake Ontario. The rooms are large, clean and a great value... more than adequate for a beach holiday. Also, the hospitality of the owners Kelly and Cheryl can’t be beat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I've stayed here many times over the past decade, and am always amazed at the setting - right on the shores of Lake Ontario, and at the same time in the centre of the charming village of Wellington. Within easy reach of all the major wineries, great restaurants, and town of Picton, this is an excellent choice for anyone planning a visit to "The County" (as Prince Edward County in Ontario is known.)

The Village Comfort Inn's new owners have been very busy upgrading the property. Very friendly and accommodating, non-locals will appreciate the owners' advice and hospitality.

The motel is well-priced, clean, and well-run.

Room Tip: Plan on a picnic or cocktail down at the waterfront. Request room closest to lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide32424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
9.3 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
440 reviews
11.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#2 of 13 in Wellington
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newsroom Suites
Newsroom Suites
#4 of 13 in Wellington
59 reviews
4.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Village Inn

Address: 349 Main Street, Wellington, Ontario, Canada (Formerly Village Comfort Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Wellington
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, updated inn on the shores of Lake Ontario in the heart of wine country. Fireplaces, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, BBQs, gazebo, play area, fire pit, tree-lined waterfront lawn overlooking Sandbanks Provincial Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeside Village Inn Wellington, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing