We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inn, a few small changes needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent one night at this inn on a busy weekend mid-August. Check in was terrible, you have to check in at the restaurant cash. There were two long line ups (one for those paying their restaurant bill, the other for those checking in and looking for a table) all to be served by one very stressed-out cashier.

We had two rooms, both were quite nice, except they don't provide a hair dryer (even in communist Cuba you get a hair dryer!) or a full length mirror. By the time we got into the room, we only had 1/2 an hour to dress for a wedding and found it really pain to share one tiny mirror (maybe 12" wide) over the sink. Just try sharing a mirror to do your makeup while your hubby tries to shave and tie his tie! I sent my hubby to the front desk/restaurant cash to see if they had a hair dryer, but the line up was still so long he returned empty handed.

Breakfast was fine, the restaurant has a nice view of the water, but the flies were really bad if you are outdoors. Lunch wasn't very good, overcrowded, frozen french fries, I guess it depends what you order.

No parking on site except for the street, so we had to park several blocks away. Locks on the doors need replacing, it was quite an effort to unlock them. The people across the hall had the same problem and woke us up in the middle of the night with all their rattling.

This could have a been a nice place to stay if they could just improve the staffing problem at the cash and provide a decent mirror and hair dryer. Sometimes the little things really add up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleirises1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thankyou for your response and we have addressed these issues, hopefully to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Rooms quite spacious, but no wardrobes! Small decanter of red wine left in room, nice touch, good food and friendly service, live music, but not too loud and finished quite early. Really enjoyed this one stay on a trip around Ontario.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanssindri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Spent a night at The Cove with a bunch of lady friends. The building is pretty old, but it is well maintained and they have managed to save the feel of the day. Given that there are very few choices in that area, this is likely the best you can find. The town of Westport is lovely for shopping, beautifully kept and quiet - they role up the sidewalks at night, even Saturday!
While it is not the Ritz, it is very acceptable. The owners and staff are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast could certainly be improved - no eggs, no bacon, but there is still a choice of juice, yogourt, cereals, french toast and sausages. Bring a bathing suit to enjoy the hot tub, and be certain to enjoy the lovely covered porch and view of the lakes. We did not use the spa.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a family, consider paying a bit more for the room with a kitchen attached...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSweetPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

As the other reviews state: warm welcoming owners & staff. Guess my husband & I were expecting too much. Very hot and no air conditioning. Thin walls and noisey. Very dated. Comfortable beds yes. No smoke detectors??? A group was staying at the hotel and used the patio/dining area directly under our room for their private get together. At 11:30pm my husband asked them to please take it inside. Only stay at the separate, lake facing building. Not in the main house. There is a bar/groups playing in the evenings under the rooms. Guess it depends if you want to sleep.
Food was very good, nice menu and quality. Continental breakfast not served till after 8ish am. No coffee maker, hair dryer, shampoo, soap (except liquid) in bath tub or sink. Could be much better with some guidance and renos. Safety issues should be a concern.

Room Tip: only reserve in separate building across the street facing the lake. Ask if there's any function...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thankyou so much for taking the time to evaluate our century inn. We have made many improvements which we hope will make your next stay more comfortable. We have had air conditioning however for 15 years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I'm tempted not to share because I'd like to keep this our little secret. We have always been warmly welcomed by the folks at the Cove. They treat us like family even 'tho we can't get there every year. The welcome is warm and inviting; the service is just right. It's a B&B, not a hotel, and the fact that there are no phones or television in the rooms is standard for this type of accommodation and certainly is a welcome part of the quiet that we go there for. Everything is geared to our having a relaxing, romantic weekend and it never disappoints.
We always go with the package that includes the breakfasts, one lunch and one dinner. As Westport is small and wandering the boutiques is a wonderful way to spend the day, knowing that we can stop for lunch and then head back out again is perfect. We had the special dinner on Friday night and the wine parings went well with the delicious food.
Thank you Mary, Terry, Seamus, Jeff and Maureen for making our stay just right, as always.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 155004Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked the two room suite. It wasn't expensive and had plenty of room for my husband and I and our teenaged grandaughter. We could see Rideau Lake from the window of the sitting area.
I was very pleased with our breakfast in the sun room. A lovely view of the lake and the morning mist. Our breakfast was well prepared and plentiful. I'd go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curvyclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Looking for some peace and quiet on our honeymoon and time to recharge our batteries, my wife and I couldn't have found a better spot!! Bearing in mind we were in the low season, it was the perfect remedy for complete exhaustion. The Cove is owned by the Cowan family, they were great hosts as well as the staff. Although the main inn is well worn, the family take pride in making special renovations every year. Our room was clean, cozy and comfortable and the jacuzzi bathtub was the showstopper. Breakfast was complimentary, both very enjoyable and filling! We stayed in the main inn and enjoyed the heart, soul and personality of its old walls. The furnishings are somewhat eclectic and there are many lovely paintings to look at from local artists. It doesn't take long to see that the Cowan family are very much a part of Westport, and the Cove is very much a part of the local warp and woof of the community.
Lots of great local shopping and local restaurants to choose from. From being in Westport in the summer we know it is busy little spot, but for what we were looking for in our 'mini' honeymoon, The Cove was the perfect place to hideout!!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of Westport pond, or of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piperwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
13.5 mi away
Hotel Kenney
Hotel Kenney
#1 of 1 in Elgin
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Station Motel
Westport Station Motel
#1 of 1 in Westport
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lockhouse B&B
The Lockhouse B&B
#3 of 6 in Westport
12 reviews
17 mi away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Bedford-on-the-Water, Westport, Ontario K0G 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa Westport, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing