We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but strange washrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Westport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ok, but strange washrooms”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We recently stayed at The Cove for one night. We were at the house across the street from the main Inn,I found the room very dated, needed some repairs and the door lock fixed.
The washroom in the room has no separation from the bedroom .... Even the toilette has no door just half behind a small wall.....no privacy at all.
As many other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast is late(9 a.m.). Parking can be a challenge as it is on the street, and if there is anything going on in the area.... well be prepared to walk with your luggage.. not for the mobility challenged. The check-in was a little strange, sort of a stand up waiters podium in the middle of the dinning area.
There needs to be some upgrades for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms in the house across from the Inn have river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Thankyou for your thoughts . We will address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    43
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

just spent 2 nights at the cove with a friend and had the 2 night package, at first sight seemed a little expensive, but it included 2 nights accommadation for 2 breakfast both mornings and one diinner and lunch per person, and included taxes and tips so actually was good value, we had a room in the fredenburgh house across the road from the inn itself, had an amazing view of the lake, the inn is old and this is reflected in the decor etc , but is full of charachter,.Our one difficult moment was when we locked our door and the found ourself locked in and unable to get out, we were able to call across the road and the cavalry came and let us out,all in all we had a great weekend.
However i would suggest that it would be nice if there was a coffee making machine in the room as breakfast doesnt start till9 and us early birds needed coffee.
the main course steak was a little disapointing but other than that the food was good but could use less batter and breadcrums etc , I will certainly recomend the cove to my friends and hope to return again one day, staff were wonderful, efficient and friendly, and i think quite amused at us being locked in the room.

Room Tip: if you stay in room 5 dont lock the door, wifi is better down stairs in fredenburgh house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheba L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
So glad you enjoyed your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and i spent two nights and 3 days in Westport, and we stayed at the Cove both nights, and ate breakfast and dinner there.

It's a nice old inn; the beds were comfortable, the rooms are clean and furnished with antiques and old stuff; the bathrooms are clean and functional. Floor boards squeak and people in the hallways can be a little noisy, but we heard no noise between rooms. Lots of interesting places to sit and enjoy the atmosphere.

Breakfast is simple and wholesome for meat lovers, and runs from 9-10 each morning, which seems a little late. But we enjoyed the patio right up until 10 each morning. Coffee was ready by 7.

Saturday night dinner on the patio with live music was great! Food was delicious and we didn't notice any delays either night. the musicians were excellent and did a great job creating a party atmosphere among the mostly older (30-60yrs) crowd. The place was packed.

Staff and owners were friendly and helpful. In short, a pretty good place to spend a few days.

Take advantage of the canoe at the Inn for a quiet early morning paddle; the views of the village from the lake are very pretty, and you will likely encounter herons, kingfishers, and osprey.

Westport is a small, sleepy lakeside village with a quiet history.

The beach at nearby Sand Lake is small but comfortable. You can hike along the ridge at Foley Mountain, which starts just up the hill from the lodge, and there's a small beach at the end of the trail. Swimming in the Upper Rideau is never great. Stores in Westport sell a lot of stuff that nobody really needs. However, there are a couple of nice art shops, and a rock shop. You can but food, beer, and basic supplies for camping and boating. Almost everyone buys an ice cream or two. It's very walk able so just park on the street somewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, so it doesn't really matter which one you choose. It's pretty sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidCanoeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
So glad you appreciate the ambience of a century inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited Westport with friends and had lunch at the Cove's restaurant. It was busy with tourists and locals alike, lots of happy people with beautiful sunshine and a nice outdoor patio. The service was attentive and friendly, and even though it did take a while to get our meals, it was certainly worth the wait. My husband said his roast beef dip was the best he ever had, and I can second that after tasting it too. My Cove signature salad with salmon and their dressing was very good, our friends had the fish and chips and quesadillas. They too really enjoyed their food.

We will definitely return to try their poutine which looked so good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Thankyou for your enthusiastic response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Westport is a lovely little village and Cove Inn seems to be the heart of the village.
You can't beat the atmosphere of an old and romantic building like this one - especially if you have the great staff that Cove Inn has!
We stayed here with a little baby and the whole staff really made us feel extra welcome.
They were very accomodating to our special needs and even came up with a solution for a bed for her, even though there were no actual cots available.
Thank you everybody at Cove Inn, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 October 2014
We appreciate your lovely comments and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The Cove Inn is a jewel in the beautiful village of Westport not far from Kingston or Ottawa and well worth the drive. Great getaway spot for an overnight or a weekend. Food is always great and service excellent. Recently stopped for dinner on a Friday night en route to a kayak course and it was a 5 Star visit as usual. We sat on the patio and enjoyed live music and the beautiful scenery. The owner even stopped by our table to check in to ensure all was good. You don't see that many places. We have stayed at The Cove several times in their differently appointed rooms and will definitely keep going back. It's a favorite for sure because everything about The Cove is 5 star.... every time so far. We never eat anywhere else in Westport because we've always enjoyed the food, service and friendly welcoming atmosphere The Cove offers.
Sharron M
Ottawa

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Thankyou for giving us such a glowing report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

No visit to Westport is complete without a visit here. We have yet to spend a night in the Inn but just had a very nice lunch on a beautiful summer day on their beautiful patio. Service was good as was the food. And you can't beat the view. An authentic experience with some great folks. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentlyNeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, Owner at Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2016
Thankyou so much for your response,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westport
13.5 mi away
Hotel Kenney
Hotel Kenney
#1 of 1 in Elgin
54 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
23.4 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Colonial House Motor Inn
23.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Station Motel
Westport Station Motel
#1 of 1 in Westport
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa

Property: Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 2 Bedford-on-the-Water, Westport, Ontario K0G 1X0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Country Inn Resort & Spa Westport, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing