We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place in the middle of nowhere”

The Dunes Studio Gallery & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
halifax,nova scotia canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magical Place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I go to The dunes every summer and have for many years. I have recommened it to numerous people and all love going as well. The place consists of a small cafe with exceptional food but beware there always seems to be line up to get in. The other part consists of a gift shop with local pottery jewellery wooden goods etc. Then there is the paintings and furniture most comes from Bali I am told.AMAZING! there is a shop next with clothes shoes jewellery as well. outside is stone Buddhas many different types of stone statues, garden with the most amazing flowers, ponds. I could go on and on. The guys tha won this pace have really done themselves proud. they also I am told do most of the unique pottery pieces in the shop. Treat yourself to a n Ikenbana dish. So in the restaurant and have their seafood soup!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachloverhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent a hour viewing the water garden, the outdoor gardens and all the interesting items in the store. I wished we could have stayed for lunch but that will have to be for another time. The store with all the local pottery and art work besides the items from around the world was most entertaining whether you bought anything or not. I will return on my next vista to PEI for lunch for if it matches the caliber of the store it will be wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJH1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch - brilliant”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A lovely spot for lunch. An enjoyable shopping experience in beautiful surroundings. Best fruit bread and butter pudding I have ever had. Met one of the owners who was very friendly. A perfect place to spend a few leisurely hours.

Brilliant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
200 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful building filled with beautiful things”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you like browsing art galleries... if you like shopping... if you like wandering through botanical gardens... if you like watching artists at work... if you are looking for the perfect gift for someone... if you are looking for a momento of PEI for yourself... don't miss The Dunes! A beautiful building filled with a range of beautiful things, something for all tastes and all budgets. Worth seeking out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Dunes is a spectacular mix of pottery, jewellery and art, art, art. Some of the paintings and prints by some of the Island artists have captured the Island to perfection. It is worth a trip to The Dunes for the art alone. But it is so much more. The food in the restuarant is to die for. And the gardens in back are so captivating it will take you half an hour just to wander through them.

Be prepared to be amazed. This is a "must go" destination.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasonedTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dunes Studio Gallery & Cafe also viewed

Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island
Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Dunes Studio Gallery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing