We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idealic Setting ----- but watch out for BUGS (INSIDE the cottage)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Although our extended family had a wonderful 3-night stay at Shaw's, an earwig infestation in our cottage (#4) certainly took away from it. The large downstairs bedroom was infested (10-20 earwigs found the first night). Pretty sleepless night for two of our family members. Hard to snooze with earwigs dropping from the ceiling! When brought to staff attention, they did spray inside and remove earwig nest infestation from under the cottage. Still, no apologies offered, alternative accommodation or any kind of refund. The earwig invastion continued the next day, until we left for home in Ontario. No follow-up communication from staff. At checkout, I specifically mentioned problem and was competely stonewalled quite curtly by front desk staff. Still, a very charming locale and facilities. Enjoyed strolling around the property, excellent Bracklley Beach access, bicycles and canoes were utilized. The morning breakfasts in main dining room were superb ---- excellent food and very friendly attentive student servers. We went elsewhere for dinners, as cottages don't have kitchen facilities. The evening DR prices were totally prohibitive for us. Obviously, they cater to different crowd for dinners than many that choose Shaw for accommodations. Sam the mascot (older golden retriever) was ever present and added to charm and family atmosphere. It has been a damp wet summer, so bugs are bound to be a problem. Had to run the "mosquito gauntlet" path to reach beach and "Off" repellant required for outside evening lounging. We were in a 4-bedroom 100 year old cottage, so supposed to be rustic. The ready-to-go wood fireplace, microwave, small fridge and TV were more than enough conveniences. The lovely porch with 4 chairs to watch setting/rising sun were fantastic. Just wanted less bugs INSIDE the cottage --- and more attentive follow-up by Shaw Hotel staff. Now back to work and saving for next relaxing vacation somewhere next summer. [PK from Toronto]

Room Tip: If you want kichen facilities, choose newer chalets (although more money than cottages).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had dinner at Shaw's last week. We have been going each summer and have always enjoyed the beautiful setting,the service and the food.
Two of us were pleased with our meals which were tasty, generous and nicely presented. A third person ordered the scallops as her main and when the plate arrived there were 4 scallops and a couple of tiny new potatoes with a little greenery for $30 - the fourth person ordered the lamb which although tasty was a very small amount along with a few vegetables. It was also $30. Too much money was charged for not enough food.
Two of us ordered the brownie. It was good but minute in size ... Lots of sauce artfully arranged on the large plates, which dwarfed the tiny
brownie. The cheesecake was also tiny in size.
We were sad to see a lovely hotel restaurant lower its standards.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeljoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Pros:
- right next door to the beach (provincial park)
- canoes, laundry, many board games, huge land, green areas, beach brollies and chairs for the beach, wifi, etc. for the guests

Cons:
-there are mosquitoes everywhere
- rooms are very modest (no phone, telly, fridge, etc.

Take a room in this hotel, but submerge in the simplicity and enjoy nature & conversation.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alla-Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Recently stayed there for a romantic getaway, stayed in the "suite", so nice. Service and food were amazing. Gorgeous scenery. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I'm a little late in writing this review.. but thought it important to share my positive experience with Shaws for anyone looking for a great place to hang their hats in PEI.

1. The staff were the friendliest I have encountered in a very long time... ~ providing a wealth of information about restaurants, entertainment, not to mention giving directions.

2. The reviews on the restaurant were right on. Absolutely delicous and worth every penny. We frequented several restaurant and Shaws definitely had the best mussels with the most delicious cream sauce ever!!.. we were four girls - one of us a former restauranteur - everyone was fully satisfied with the presentation, food and service.

3. The cottage (#23) was perfect. From what I saw, every cottage had a gorgeous view of the water. Equipped with fridge, stove, microwave and bbq.
Oh yes, beds were comfortable and bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub. What more can you ask for!!!

4. Brackley Beach is lovely - and only a 10 to 15 min walk to the beach. If you're into lighthouses, there is one 5 mins away (by car).

5. Both Cavendish and Charlottetown are approx 15 mins away.

My only two negatives are: The restaurant did not serve a regular breakfast (ie. bacon and eggs) - rather they offered cottage guests two options - a continental type breakfast for approx. $10 or a buffet style with one or two hot items for approx. $15. Fortunately we didn't really need it as we enjoyed our own breakfast out on the deck :)

The second negative - we arrived when the jelly fish were in peak season! lol They were a little too plentiful for swimming. However, according to the locals - this year was not the norm. They suggest August is a better time for the beach.. warmer water and less jellyfish..

Last but not least, there's very nice gift store a minute away by car called "The Dunes"... definitely worth visiting. Gardens are amazing :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marytsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I don't understand the previous reviews. We stayed in mid July for a family reunion. Our 2 bedroom cabin was immaculate and practically brand new, had hardwood floors, gorgeous wood burning fireplace, great view of the water, fantastic location on PEI. Vermont Castings bbq, new furniture inside, new lawn chairs, good linens and towels, and a well equipped kitchen. (Not an ant in sight).The staff really could not have been any nicer, or more accommodating. The food was excellent, the Sunday buffet not to be missed. The family pride of ownership is so evident in the upkeep of the freshly painted buildings and manicured gardens. We were very impressed - this is a special place and we will return. There is a review with photos in the July Canadian Living magazine where the reviewer seems to have had a similar experience to ours if you need more info.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerBC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked the Shaw Hotel (begrudgingly accepting the strict cancellation policy) as part of a family gathering but had to cancel three weeks before arrival due to a serious medical issue. Hotel staff advised that their $70 administration fee would apply for cancelling each of the three family reservations. So the hotel made $210 without lifting a finger. The hotel's fees are excessive. Most hotels we have ever stayed at have a policy of 72 or 48 hours notice prior to arrival to cancel without penalty. The Shaw Hotel charges a $70 cancellation fee and you forfeit the entire amount if you cancel inside 14 days. So buyer beware, unless you are absolutely 150% sure that you will use the reservation, look elsewhere for accommodations.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank yell0wkayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley Beach
1.3 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
189 reviews
11.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
13.2 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
13.4 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
271 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw's Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw's Hotel and Cottages

Address: 99 Apple Tree Rd, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 0Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range: £99 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shaw's Hotel and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaw's Hotel is a charming historic inn and cottages property with a large property and great location. It's adjacent to Brackley Beach --- one of PEI's best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shaw's Hotel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaws Hotel Charlottetown
Shaw's Hotel And Cottages Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing