We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and relaxing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We rented cottage #1 for five nights and enjoyed it very much. Our cottage was plain with a bedroom, sitting room with coffee maker & micro frig and bath; perfect for our needs. We also got a pair of comfortable wooden chairs just outside and enjoyed relaxing outside with our books. Our cottage was rustic but very comfortable. We had no trouble with bugs inside but the mosquitoes are very plentiful and vicious especially around dusk. There were cans of insect repellant at the front desk for guests' use but I recommend taking your own. The property is right on an inlet off the bay so I guess the mosquitoes come with the pleasant view. We enjoyed the kayaks that were available. The staff was also friendly and accommodating. In contrast to the cottages, the restaurant is quite upscale.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We rented Cottage #8 over the Canada Day Long weekend. Cabin #8 is located closest to the Brackley Marsh / Inlet. Our cottage was a simple 2 double bed cottage with a fridge, a coffee maker, and a TV. The cottages all have Adorandack Chairs and decks. It was perfect for what we needed it for this weekend. They had complimentary canoe / kayak rentals where you could explore the Marsh / Inlet by boat. There is a beautiful red sand island in the middle that you can paddle to that is both remote and gorgeous. It has the true Red PEI sand that stains everything!! We climbed up the side of the cliff to get a better view of the Brackley area it is remarkable. The property is immaculate, great for kids. It has a playground on site. You can also rent a mountain bike by the hour, for guests it was 6.50 per hour, or 21.00 for the day. You can borrow board games to play at night. They also have wi-fi available for guests. They also had onsite laundry facilities for guests who had extended stays and needed to do laundry. If you didn't bring your own beach chairs they do have some that you can borrow / sign out. Brackley Beach itself is a short five minute walk that takes you into the provincial park, and out directly in front of the stairs to take you over the dunes to the beautiful beach area. We were quite shocked that there was practically no one on the beach when we were there. It was so hot out!! There were a few jellyfish, which may have kept people away. From what we could tell the "red" jellyfish don't sting or if they do it is not noticable. The drive to Downtown Charlottetown from this property is about 25 mins at most. You can walk to Crowbush Cove, or bike along the confederation trail takes about 20 minutes to bike. Or you can walk along beach to the Cove and that takes about an hour or so. Breakfast is included with you rental of a cottage. Brekafast includes fruit, cereal, pasteries, yogurt, juice, tea and coffee. They also provide you with two breakfast plate options, that are included for free. The one morning they had Eggs Benedict or Pancakes, and the next they had a smoked chicken fritata, or blueberries and french toast. The servings were quite modest however you have to take into mind that you have your free reign at the continental buffet plus a plate of hot food for free. We didn't have any bugs in our cabin, there were plenty of mosquitos. But that is to be expected as the property borders a beautiful Marsh, and its right beside the ocean. We brought Off Area spray, and the Off Coils and lit them on our deck at night and that seemed to keep the mosquitos away, and made it comforable for us to sit outside at night. If you are less of a do'er and more of a dreamer the main hotel area has beautiful wooden chairs set up outside so you can watch all the activity, and they have an outside patio that faces the Marsh / Inlet. As well as chairs and swings on the lawn. Cutest little add-on to this facility is their pup Sam. Old and sleepy but ultra friendly. He would always come and say hi if you were walking by him. Also the front desk staff can arrange practically everything for you from theatre tickets, to trail riding bookings to even babysitting. PEI is so small that on Canada Day from our very own deck we got to see three sets of fireworks from locations around us, it was so nice not to have to travel anywhere to have to see the fire works. If you ever have the opportunity to stay at the Shaw's Hotel and cottages I strongly suggest that you should!

Room Tip: Get a Cottage! All the cottages face the Marsh / Inlet, except for #7 that one is in the middle of e...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Although our extended family had a wonderful 3-night stay at Shaw's, an earwig infestation in our cottage (#4) certainly took away from it. The large downstairs bedroom was infested (10-20 earwigs found the first night). Pretty sleepless night for two of our family members. Hard to snooze with earwigs dropping from the ceiling! When brought to staff attention, they did spray inside and remove earwig nest infestation from under the cottage. Still, no apologies offered, alternative accommodation or any kind of refund. The earwig invastion continued the next day, until we left for home in Ontario. No follow-up communication from staff. At checkout, I specifically mentioned problem and was competely stonewalled quite curtly by front desk staff. Still, a very charming locale and facilities. Enjoyed strolling around the property, excellent Bracklley Beach access, bicycles and canoes were utilized. The morning breakfasts in main dining room were superb ---- excellent food and very friendly attentive student servers. We went elsewhere for dinners, as cottages don't have kitchen facilities. The evening DR prices were totally prohibitive for us. Obviously, they cater to different crowd for dinners than many that choose Shaw for accommodations. Sam the mascot (older golden retriever) was ever present and added to charm and family atmosphere. It has been a damp wet summer, so bugs are bound to be a problem. Had to run the "mosquito gauntlet" path to reach beach and "Off" repellant required for outside evening lounging. We were in a 4-bedroom 100 year old cottage, so supposed to be rustic. The ready-to-go wood fireplace, microwave, small fridge and TV were more than enough conveniences. The lovely porch with 4 chairs to watch setting/rising sun were fantastic. Just wanted less bugs INSIDE the cottage --- and more attentive follow-up by Shaw Hotel staff. Now back to work and saving for next relaxing vacation somewhere next summer. [PK from Toronto]

Room Tip: If you want kichen facilities, choose newer chalets (although more money than cottages).
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had dinner at Shaw's last week. We have been going each summer and have always enjoyed the beautiful setting,the service and the food.
Two of us were pleased with our meals which were tasty, generous and nicely presented. A third person ordered the scallops as her main and when the plate arrived there were 4 scallops and a couple of tiny new potatoes with a little greenery for $30 - the fourth person ordered the lamb which although tasty was a very small amount along with a few vegetables. It was also $30. Too much money was charged for not enough food.
Two of us ordered the brownie. It was good but minute in size ... Lots of sauce artfully arranged on the large plates, which dwarfed the tiny
brownie. The cheesecake was also tiny in size.
We were sad to see a lovely hotel restaurant lower its standards.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heeljoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Pros:
- right next door to the beach (provincial park)
- canoes, laundry, many board games, huge land, green areas, beach brollies and chairs for the beach, wifi, etc. for the guests

Cons:
-there are mosquitoes everywhere
- rooms are very modest (no phone, telly, fridge, etc.

Take a room in this hotel, but submerge in the simplicity and enjoy nature & conversation.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alla-Rustica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Recently stayed there for a romantic getaway, stayed in the "suite", so nice. Service and food were amazing. Gorgeous scenery. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I'm a little late in writing this review.. but thought it important to share my positive experience with Shaws for anyone looking for a great place to hang their hats in PEI.

1. The staff were the friendliest I have encountered in a very long time... ~ providing a wealth of information about restaurants, entertainment, not to mention giving directions.

2. The reviews on the restaurant were right on. Absolutely delicous and worth every penny. We frequented several restaurant and Shaws definitely had the best mussels with the most delicious cream sauce ever!!.. we were four girls - one of us a former restauranteur - everyone was fully satisfied with the presentation, food and service.

3. The cottage (#23) was perfect. From what I saw, every cottage had a gorgeous view of the water. Equipped with fridge, stove, microwave and bbq.
Oh yes, beds were comfortable and bathroom had a huge jacuzzi tub. What more can you ask for!!!

4. Brackley Beach is lovely - and only a 10 to 15 min walk to the beach. If you're into lighthouses, there is one 5 mins away (by car).

5. Both Cavendish and Charlottetown are approx 15 mins away.

My only two negatives are: The restaurant did not serve a regular breakfast (ie. bacon and eggs) - rather they offered cottage guests two options - a continental type breakfast for approx. $10 or a buffet style with one or two hot items for approx. $15. Fortunately we didn't really need it as we enjoyed our own breakfast out on the deck :)

The second negative - we arrived when the jelly fish were in peak season! lol They were a little too plentiful for swimming. However, according to the locals - this year was not the norm. They suggest August is a better time for the beach.. warmer water and less jellyfish..

Last but not least, there's very nice gift store a minute away by car called "The Dunes"... definitely worth visiting. Gardens are amazing :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marytsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley Beach
1.3 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
184 reviews
19.4 mi away
Rodd Crowbush Golf & Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
10.1 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
13.4 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw's Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw's Hotel and Cottages

Address: 99 Apple Tree Rd, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 0Z4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range: £91 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaw's Hotel and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaw's Hotel is a charming historic inn and cottages property with a large property and great location. It's adjacent to Brackley Beach --- one of PEI's best beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shaw's Hotel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaws Hotel Charlottetown
Shaw's Hotel And Cottages Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing