We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brackley Beach North Winds
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Loved how close it was to the beach. (Less than 5min to Brackley). We also went to Cavendish (10-15min) and Dalvay (10min) beaches. My preference is Brackley, it had a longer shallow area which I think helped the water seem warmer.
The hotel room was big. We had 2 Queen beds (we also set up an air mattress for one of our kids). The room is much bigger than normal hotel rooms. The people running the hotel were great too, very helpful. We spoke with a few people there who came back to the North Winds year after year. If we go back East I would stay there again too. Breakfast was included and was good (hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, freshly made cinnamon rolls, muffins and scones, orange and apple juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit salad and hot and cold cereals. Other than breakfast there is no restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Manager at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We often have guests comment on the convenience of our location. Hope you do come back again. I am sure with only 4 days, you left some of PEI unseen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    71
    19
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
81
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We came as a family and spent two nights here. Our room was a suite with a living area that had one bed and a pullout couch as well as the full kitchen, a separate bedroom, and of course the bathroom. It was the perfect space for us.

I had two main purposes in going to PEI--Anne and seeing the beaches. This was the perfect place to stay for this kind of trip. We were only about 15 minutes from Cavendish and the Anne sites, which we did during the day, and in the evening we were just minutes from PEI National Park and the beaches so we could walk and enjoy them after all the businesses were closed. It was an ideal location for our purposes. I loved that we weren't in a town but were more remote as it gave me a better feel for the PEI of the Anne books.

We ate at the Lobster Claw restaurant next door and everyone liked their food. Their dinner plates were big and the desserts were amazing.

Off Portage Road (the road connecting our hotel to the main route back to Cavendish) were both a cheese shop where we got great gouda and the Canadian Soap company which the kids loved since the goats they use to get the goat milk for the soap were all on site for petting and feeding.

The hotel's breakfast was great, I thought. Homebaked goods, hot cereals, fruit salad, and more. If you're looking for bacon and eggs it's not here, but what's here is good. The outdoor seating area off the breakfast room was a lovely place to sit.

The pool was too chilly but with the beach available it didn't matter. The walking trail around the property is great. The hotel also has passes for the National Park you can use (first come first served) which is a great perk.

For what we paid, I couldn't believe we had a room with that much space and a full kitchen. It was an amazing deal. I would absolutely recommend staying here for anyone who wants to enjoy this part of PEI and is looking for clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you enjoyed our community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
244 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel was chosen by our tour. It is not far from the beach, but there is little else around, unless you drive to it. Rooms are adequate and breakfast was OK. It was clean and nice, but certainly nothing special. We did enjoy the little red fox who was outside our window each morning. There is no restaurant here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
I am glad by your heading that you were able to have a good night sleep, and that your room was clean.

Our breakfast is a continental breakfast. I am sorry to hear it was not really to your liking.

Our property does include an indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, fitness center, and a walking trail.
There isn't a restaurant on site, however, there is a restaurant right next door to us, as well as a take out a short distance away.

The Dune's Gallery is about a five minute walk away, and is definitely a great place to browse, with lots of unique items. We are in a rural location, and among seasonal businesses. The Dunes does have a restaurant, which may unfortunately have not been open yet. It is recommended that you make reservations with them, as they are very busy.

For people looking at this review, and considering a tour, please know that the tours do take you out and about to give you an opportunity to see some of the island.

We would love to hear from you further, if you could recommend something that would make our rooms more comfortable. Please tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelousas, La
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently had the good fortune to visit Prince Edward Island, Canada. We spent two nights at North Winds, where the rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious.It was the range of amenities that absolutely blew me away. This is a great place for someone who likes to exercise, since there is everything from bike rentals to an exercise trail. There is also an indoor pool, plus the facility is located very close to the beaches of PEI. Lots of grassy areas and a playground for the children make this place appealing for families. A restaurant is located nearby and of course, it is open during the tourist season. North Winds is located within a few minutes of Charlotte Town as well as just a few minutes away from the Anne of Green Gables attraction. While the place is somewhat isolated, this is PEI afterall. It is possible to get to any place on the island in just a few minutes.The staff was very helpful, and actually helped me locate an old friend, who lives on the island. What more could one ask for?.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingteacher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and our beautiful island.

We are located in a rural setting, but within 25 minutes you can be downtown Charlottetown.

Unlike all other provinces, when visiting PEI, you can book your accommodations, and stay there for your entire stay, and still tour the entire island. We do get comments all the time on the convenience of our location.

Hope you will come back again and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Can't figure out for the life of me all the comments about squished bugs, we saw none in the rooms.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and affordable. We had an executive suite with a kitchen that we used everyday to cook the lobsters we purchased fresh in North Rustico. The beds were comfortable and cozy.

The breakfast was great and the service even better. Owners were helpful and accommodating.

The place is isolated and if you want to be "in the action". you are better of staying elsewhere. Internet was almost non existent in the far building but worked fine in the main building at breakfast. If your the type that needs it 24/7, that could be bothersome. A/C window units could not keep up with the temps when we were there. It was however unusually warm for PEI with temps in the mid 30's. Main down side was the water pressure. At times, it was extremely low but that can be attributed to a cistern system. Only a minor annoyance.

Loved the hot tub and the exercise equipment around the grounds.

Good enough that we booked 2 nights, then stayed 3. We loved the remote location and the peace and quiet that came with it. Also loved bringing home live lobsters every day and boiling them up in our kitchen!

The Lobster Pot restaurant beside the hotel served up some yummy dinners!

A good home away from home for you t use as your base while touring PEI. Brackley Beach just up the road has the most spectacular Dunes on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Owner at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for the lovely compliments, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We are in the process of upgrading our air-conditioners, although it may not be available to help with our wonderful hot temperatures we have this summer. However, next year they will be up an running.
Our internet service, we are aware does not work in all our rooms, try as we may. Our service provider has advised us it is the best they can do, as it is serviced by old lines. It is our understanding that with the more up dated technology, if you are too far away from the modem your device does not recognize our service, as it is looking for something more modern.
However, it is available in our office.
Should internet be important to you, let us know when you book, and we will try to get you in a room with a better connection.
Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We spent two nights here as part of an organized motor coach trip and were therefore without a car. The biggest problem was the location -- this hotel is pretty isolated and there isn't much around it except for a restaurant (which was actually very good). The hotel itself is adequate, if a bit dated. Our tour group had very nice breakfasts there. The staff was helpful to our tour group and our stay was fine -- would have been better if we had a car and could go and do things.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbpLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Manager at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for the compliments, and we are glad to hear you were pleased with the service provided by our staff. We are fortunate to have many staff return year after year, and they do take pride in their work. Lucky us.

We are located in rural PEI, but just 25 minutes to downtown Charlottetown. Cab service is available from location when travelling without a vehicle.

Besides the restaurants, there is an art gallery, a very unique gift shop, horseback riding all within walking distance. Also this summer, on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday there is a Ceilidh, an excellent island experience.

I hope you did enjoy the outtings provided by your tour which does allow you to get a taste of PEI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We only stayed for one night, but I wish we had stayed longer. The room was clean and had a nice little kitchen. There is a play area for kids and tons of grassy area to run around on.
The girl at the front desk recommended the Millstream Restaurant around the corner and it was great. We sat on the back porch of the restaurant and it overlooked a stream with a bridge and a farm with horses. We walked over afterwards and my 4 year old had a pony ride for $7. It was a beautiful setting. And the fish and chips at the restaurant were awesome - an not expensive!
We also drove to the beach and it's beautiful. We didn't go swimming in the ocean because of the jellyfish, but that's not unique to this beach.
We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning - it was basic, but there was enough variety to please everyone.
All of the staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceWandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, Manager at Brackley Beach North Winds, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for the compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always great to have access to a kitchen when vacationing with children.

Our 11 acre property does make a great playground for the children.

Thank you for adding the pictures.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brackley Beach
1.3 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
12.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackley Beach North Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackley Beach North Winds

Property: Brackley Beach North Winds
Address: 3828 Portage Road | Rte 6, Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Brackley Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brackley Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Brackley Beach North Winds 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rural property just 2 miles to National Park Beach. Open year round 13 miles to Charlottetown or Cavendish .We are very central with a delux continental breakfast included. Our property has a complete gym,hot tub outside,Sauna,and an indoor pool.We feature 13 kitchenettes with three beds ea,21 two person whirpool tubs units and all our rooms are extra large. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brackley Beach North Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackley Beach North Winds Hotel Brackley Beach
Brackley Beach North Winds Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing