We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, not so friendly wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cavendish Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family and I travelled to PEI and stayed in one of the cottages for over a week. The safe was very friendly, and always had good suggestions on places to eat and the things to see around Cavendish. It was also a very kid friendly environment with parks close to every cottage, two pools, and a ton of toys and sports equipment for them to play with. The cottages were FULL of dishes, and everyday essentials. They were spacious and really clean. The only problem our group of people had was most of the cottages we were renting could not get WiFi or service on the house phones they provide which was very irritating as they advertise "Free WiFi" and there were some people travelling with us who needed it for things such as work. The staff kept trying to reset it, but it didn't seem to help, so they offered to let some of us sit in the office by the front desk. All in all, it is a free family friendly place and I recommend it, as long as you;re not depending on WiFi. I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front office get better cottage phone service and better "free wifi"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyNanamo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are here early, prior to tourist season staying in 1 bedroom cottage. Very nice, cosy, spotless. Excellent comfortable bed. Cottage has all the things you could ask for.. Full size stove, fridge with freezer, dishwasher, coffee maker toaster etc.
Staff very friendly. They even welcomed our little dog.
will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaihtJohnliftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins and my first thought was cozy and Quiet. The cabin was clean,albeit a bit dated. But that would all depend on a persons taste. In the cabins you are responsible for cleaning your own dishes and just about every dish we used had to be washed properly before we used it. I'm not sure who this should come back on but I do feel the dishes should be checked prior to new people checking in.(dirty dishes could happen anywhere) We were booked in the inn for three nights but due to our dog being hurt the day before, he had to go with us. I called and explained
Our situation and they put us up in a cabin for two nights instead. They were very good about our situation and did not charge us for canceling our third night,when many places would have. Overall we enjoyed it there and would return

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had a long Labour Day weekend vacation with 3 other couples. We stayed in a four bedroom cottage. It had 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms as well as a bbq and fully equipped kitchen. The top floor had views of the ocean which was kind of neat too.

We didn't spend a great deal of time at the cottage as we were golfing most of the time at local golf courses (of which there are many!).

The good:
- variety and quantity of dishes
- dishwasher (complete with dishwashing tabs)
- fridge/freezer: was relatively clean and came with an ice-cube tray. Ice was available at the front desk for $2 a bag which is quite reasonable.
- BBQ
- cottage bedrooms were surprisingly sound proof; I am a light sleeper and was disturbed infrequently by others
- closets in each bedroom with ~7 hangers
- fireplace was nice to take the chill off on both mornings as outside temp got to around 10C.
- price: with 4 couples and 2 nights, we ended up paying around $115./couple.
- location: seems to be within minutes of everything

The not so good:
- decor is outdated
- they are very, very stingy with their towels. They gave us 8 small towels and 8 wash cloths. Bring a beach towel with you for the pool and hot tub.
- bed: ours was a queen sized bed that sagged badly in the middle. When I mentioned this to my cottage-mates, no one had any complaints though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenarbourgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were not impressed with our accomodations..we stayed in the Inn suite #6
Very dated, No continental beakfast the first morning until 10:00am. They lock the office at 10:00pm until 10:00am, so no way of asking for anything, TV was not available the first night. there was some sort of problem we were told. Looked like it was a decent place for families but certainly not for couples.....The room got very warm towards the morning, it seemed as if they shut off the central air sometime during the night. Our room got the morning sun and it was very warm, the bedroon is very small and if you put your suitcases on the suitcase holder you could not get into bed from that side which made it difficult to get to the washroom during the night.
I didn't find the front desk staff very friendly when I inquired about the air conditioning...
Would not stay there again....We were disappointed...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tissie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

These cottages are in a great location near cavendish and rustico. They are so clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. There are so many open spaces for the kids and the dog to run and you can see the ocean in the distance. My sister and I walked to the beach everyday and it took about 15 minutes. And there are 2 pools!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights here from June 26 -June 29, 2012. The cottage was nicer than we expected. There was a dishwasher, microwave, fridge and stove as well as a dining table and chairs. The furniture was all rustic looking made of solid wood (except the dining table). It was really quite nice. Everything was perfect for us. Obviously it's not a 5 star resort but anybody who expects that shouldn't be staying anywhere in Cavendish. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive to every need one might have. There are laundry facilities, dvds to borrow (for free), multiple playgrounds and pools and many other wonderful amenities to enjoy. All of the tourist attractions are a hop, skip and a jump away. Overall, the value is exceptional and even better if you can snag a deal. I would highly recommend this place to anybody. Thanks Cavendish Country Inn and Cottages for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
0.6 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
0.8 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#5 of 8 in Cavendish
84 reviews
1.6 mi away
Silverwood Motel
Silverwood Motel
#2 of 8 in Cavendish
116 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bay Vista Motel
Bay Vista Motel
#3 of 8 in Cavendish
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Country Inn

Address: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Cavendish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Cavendish
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cavendish Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing